Scientifically Ergonomic Dark-Background Skins.

Can any expert here recommend from personal experience an ergonomic dark-background skin for WindowBlinds?

I am looking for a color scheme that has been scientifically designed with consideration for color theory and the visual mechanism (e.g. visual purple physiology).

Such a skin should be clear and restful, with highly legible text, and usable over long periods without tiring the eyes.

As a developer I spend extended periods in front of the monitor reading text. Of course, one can adjust at least the color scheme of individual programs - for example by using billw in Xemacs - but this does not address the overall ergonomics of the whole 'desktop'. Many programs default to a blinding white background which I find intolerable.

I think that the black-on-white schemes have more to do with fashion and a misguided search for 'modernity' than with ergonomics.

I suspect that a good color theme would be based upon a black background with muted green text - like the old vdus . (Since buying WindowBlinds a few days ago I've been using its Noire skin.)

Edited by _pF_

For starters, my suggestion would be to open the Windowblinds Configuration menu, pick a graphically pleasing skin, and then click on the "Change skin color" in the skin's view (in the example of a skin's window). The menu that comes up should give you enough color/grayscale/gamma alternatives with which to experiment. If this doesn't work out, your next move would probably be to get a copy of SkinStudio which would permit you to be a little more specific in your changes.

Good luck,

Art

Can any expert here recommend from personal experience an ergonomic dark-background skin for WindowBlinds?

I am looking for a color scheme that has been scientifically designed with consideration for color theory and the visual mechanism

As a devoper I spend extended periods in front of the monitor reading text.