Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Popup prompting for password
Neowin Forums > Neowin Related Discussion > Site & Forum Issues
cswadner
Every time i try to access any page on neowin using firefox or IE, it comes up with a box asking for a username and a password to what appears to be a adserver. here are some screenies below. Getting semi annoying now, and i'm wondering if anybody is having the same problem. Again... only happening on Neowin.. Any ideas? does the site adforce.adtech.de have any association with neowin?
hadiz
Doesn't happen here..
cswadner
How odd..... well i'm running some system cleaner utilities right now, clear cache, cookies etc.... reboot, just to see if the issue persists. quite strange.....


EDIT>>>>> Cleaned everything, rebooted.... same issue still... any ideas
chAos972
Is it while you're viewing a specific thread? Might be someone's avatar. Otherwise, try using adblock to block the domain.
JK1150
check your hosts file
ripgut
get RID of the SPYWARE, and dont go to them pron sites anymore ok? and do an adaware scan, or spybot, hell do both!
cswadner
Nope, this is occuring on every single page within the neowin domain, both the forums and the main news site. Ran virus scan.... system is clean. This is very very odd. AARRGGGHH mad.gif lol and i did run a spyware scan using both utilities.... with nothing coming up.
memNOC
give HijackThis a whirl.

works every time. thumbs_up.gif
cswadner
Ok well after further research, I remembered that i have downloaded an edited hosts file, that blocks ad sites and other spyware/adware providers. It just so happens that the aforementioned site is included in that list, thus causing the prompt above.. So what i'm thinking i will do is either remove the entry, or disable it and see what happens. Thanks for all the suggestions, and apologize for my damn stupidity. I've been getting under 2hrs sleep for the past few nights and so mentally i'm not all here. Peace!~
memNOC
QUOTE(cswadner @ Dec 8 2004, 20:01)
Ok well after further research, I remembered that i have downloaded an edited hosts file, that blocks ad sites and other spyware/adware providers.  It just so happens that the aforementioned site is included in that list, thus causing the prompt above..  So what i'm thinking i will do is either remove the entry, or disable it and see what happens.  Thanks for all the suggestions, and apologize for my damn stupidity.  I've been getting under 2hrs sleep for the past few nights and so mentally i'm not all here.  Peace!~
[right][snapback]585068302[/snapback][/right]

thank you.

i was losing sleep over this.
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
Invision Power Board © 2001-2009 Invision Power Services, Inc.