WARNING: IF YOU SET UP YOUR SURF JUNKY ACCOUNT TO USE YOUR PAYPAL NAME, AND THE PASSWORD YOU USED FOR SURF JUNKY IS THE SAME AS THE ONE YOU USED FOR PAYPAL, CHANGE IT NOW WHILE YOUR ACCOUNT'S STILL ACTIVE, BEFORE THEY SUCK ALL YOUR MONEY STRAIGHT OUT OF YOUR ACCOUNT!Last night, on their website, I read that they were getting ready to do payouts. Minutes later, my account was banned at about $13.00 for "using auto-refreshing programs" (I wasn't).
I thought it sounded a little fishy, and my suspicions rose even further today when I created a second account and it was banned again for "using auto-refreshing programs" (I wasn't, again) at about $2.00.
Then I read this little article from a friend of mine:
http://merkey.net/surfjunky/ All the people that worked so hard to beat the system have been scammed (myself included

).
Anyway, just thought I'd share this, so everyone stops giving them free revenue.
Pass this along people, please. Thanks.
Mods, please don't delete this - this is a warning to everyone using it, nothing more.
EDIT: Just read this as well - they're a scam. Chances are, you put in a PayPal name to make the money easier to send to right? If your Surf Junky password is the same as your PayPal password, CHANGE IT NOW!
Thought so, that's why I dropped it after they banned my account the first time
stanneh
Mar 5 2005, 04:54
u need to put this over on /.
Dark Reaper
Mar 5 2005, 04:56
I use to use those things. Never received any checks. Good thing I only clicked on $1 worth of ads.
speddy187
Mar 5 2005, 05:01
We never know i am at 15$ got to wait to the 15.
Narutorocker
Mar 5 2005, 05:05
Same Thing happen to me, I raised up to 26 USD $ And it said It was banned for auto re-freshing....Retarded scam...
no-sweat
Mar 5 2005, 07:03
is it possible to sue them?
ZZOOzzoo
Mar 5 2005, 08:04
What a surprise!!!!
Glad I stopped after my account got banned @$18 and never gave them my paypal account info.
mohan_168
Mar 5 2005, 09:31
Thanks for alerting fellow neowenians
The Decline
Mar 5 2005, 10:17
damn, thanks for reminding me. need to close account.
icetohot
Mar 5 2005, 11:25
I saw this a while ago on an aim forum and lots of ppl talkd about it @ pay2surf forums
Anthony T.
Mar 5 2005, 18:53
I had a feeling when I say this the first time.
Colin-uk
Mar 5 2005, 19:13
i was thinking about starting to use this program, maybe not now
QUOTE(no-sweat @ Mar 5 2005, 07:03)
is it possible to sue them?
[right][snapback]585571262[/snapback][/right]
your not american by any chance are you?
I'm surprised noone saw this coming
Fedorpheux
Mar 5 2005, 19:33
what if you don't have the passwords the same? do they just never pay you or what?
i'm up to $16.54 and they havent banned me yet. i'm not using any auto-refreshing stuff or anything
no-sweat
Mar 5 2005, 20:00
QUOTE(Colin-uk @ Mar 5 2005, 14:13)
i was thinking about starting to use this program, maybe not now
your not american by any chance are you?

[right][snapback]585573339[/snapback][/right]
they deserve to be sued. i wasted valuable time with them giving them money by viewing ads. and i got nothing in return. quick, someone file a class action lawsuit
QUOTE(Narutorocker @ Mar 5 2005, 05:05)
Same Thing happen to me, I raised up to 26 USD $ And it said It was banned for auto re-freshing....Retarded scam...
[right][snapback]585571002[/snapback][/right]
that's exactly what happened to me 2 days ago....stupid retards...
and if you read their info, the guy registered the domain with GoDaddy and their contact number is (555) 555-5555....anyone want to call them....?...
oh yeah...and no it is not possible to sue surf junky because it says pretty clearly that they can ban/suspend your account anytime they want with no furture explination....they did say they will pay everyone...however...if they just ban everyone before pay day...who's going to know?....
no-sweat
Mar 5 2005, 20:43
QUOTE(dark kyuubi @ Mar 5 2005, 15:04)
oh yeah...and no it is not possible to sue surf junky because it says pretty clearly that they can ban/suspend your account anytime they want with no furture explination....they did say they will pay everyone...however...if they just ban everyone before pay day...who's going to know?....

[right][snapback]585573527[/snapback][/right]
how about we get a lynch mob together and go to his house?
paintballboi07
Mar 8 2005, 20:50
These are some interesting lines directly from their TOS.
QUOTE
Should any instances of fraud, system abuse, or any type of activity deemed to be inappropriate or illegal by Surf Junky be detected it may result in member termination and possible legal action.
SurfJunky chooses what is considered illegal, and you can't do anything about it. They could ban you for basically anything.
QUOTE
Surf Junky may disclose any personally identifiable registration information or other collected information to third parties as covered in our privacy policy.
Not only are they going to scam you into looking into advertisements, they are going to sell your personal info to third parties to make even more money.
QUOTE
Payments may be withheld by Surf Junky for any given reason for any period of time.
They never have to pay you if they don't want to.
All I can say is ...
SCAM
no-sweat
Mar 8 2005, 21:40
this ****es me off. someone hack the site.
Oggy_666
Mar 9 2005, 16:35
thnx mi m8 jus deleted his account
DannyGlass
Mar 10 2005, 22:03
I already made 5 bucks! It's pretty cool and I'm pretty sure it's legit. Just go on the site, it'll explain everything, then sign up, click earn money, click surf junky browser or whatever and the window will open up and change the site every 25 seconds or so...just let it run and you make money.
My friend already got a payment into paypal.
-DannyGlass
tkyoshi
Mar 10 2005, 22:06
Well i don't know, i saw a discussion going on over at Red Flag Deals and it seems that they always find a way to close down your account so they don't have to pay you.
But keep us posted as to whether you get paid.
DannyGlass
Mar 10 2005, 22:07
My friend got payed $30 into his paypal account and this is about the first real paying web surfing site ive come across that actually pays up.
-DannyGlass
Dennis
Mar 10 2005, 22:10
I'm been using it but there's discussion going on about it being a scam so I stopped using it until something's confirmed about them being legit.
DannyGlass
Mar 10 2005, 22:11
When i speak to my friend i will get him to take a screenshot of his payment and i will post it here to prove its legit.
-DannyGlass
Nice that you edited out the referral link
Still dont know if this is allowed as it is after all promoting SurfJunky.
robpears
Mar 10 2005, 22:13
is this legal?
DannyGlass
Mar 10 2005, 22:13
Sorry didnt know that wasnt aloud, i will edit it now.
-DannyGlass
Jack Pearce
Mar 10 2005, 22:15
So he actually got paid? Wow I always thought this was defanitely a scam. Please get him to post a screenie of the transaction in his paypal account

.
russ0943
Mar 10 2005, 22:19
It is legit if you use it properly. They won't pay u if you use the autorefresh thing for firefox and have 'irregular' surfing habits.
However, using it properly is very annoying.
DannyGlass
Mar 10 2005, 22:28
Yes i did notice it didnt work with FF so i just logged in with IE and it worked fine and all i did was install googlebar and IE was as good as FF for the popup side of things.
-DannyGlass
:: Lyon ::
Mar 10 2005, 22:31
Used to have AllAdvantage (before they closed down) for 3 months, and I got paid like USD $30-40 per month!
dreamz
Mar 10 2005, 22:33
Narutorocker
Mar 10 2005, 22:33
Theres Already Like 8 Threads On this...Which is a Scam
russ0943
Mar 10 2005, 22:33
^me too....that was a LONG time ago though
well my account is at 24.40 right now, cant wait to see if i'll get paid
Fred Derf
Mar 10 2005, 23:54
[Threads Merged]
tiagosilva29
Mar 10 2005, 23:58
QUOTE(Storm™ @ Mar 10 2005, 23:32)
Its a scam!
aishiteru
Mar 12 2005, 19:52
http://www.surfjunky.comSome service that pays you $0.75 an hour for surfing the web.
How does it work? All it's doing for me is constantly refreshing this one browser window

how do they pay you too? They don't even tell you to provide your paypal info...
CoLdFuSi0n
Mar 12 2005, 19:54
huh?
Shycho
Mar 12 2005, 19:59
Its a scam, click the search button and search neowin for surfjunky, they claim they pay you for signing up to these sites, but when you get near your payout limit $25 they ban you, PS the paypal bit is actually on the options page but they won't pay you anyway
They do, but it is not in the initial personal entry form they ask you to fill out. Once you become registered, login with your username and password. Then, on the lefthand side, click "Options" (it has account settings written underneith). Once there, you have the options of customizing what ads you receive and then right under that is "payment options" you can't miss it.
Also, you can get paid by other methods too...there is paypal which I will use, but they can also send you a cheuqe, or use "StormPay" or "e-gold" <--I don't know what those last two are.
Right now my account is at $17.50...they pay you at $25 bucks. I will let everyone know if they make right on their word...I just thought i've got nothing to lose really.
and uh.. *scratches back of neck* if you were planning on signing up...would mind using my user name as a referal?
it's <URL Removed>
hope this info helped!
Rob
Filicide
Mar 12 2005, 20:36
SCAM SCAM SCAM
Thread Closed
i am still waiting for a check for 30 dollors
Chris Allen
Mar 12 2005, 20:49
My buddy claims he made just over $50 in less than 2 weeks. I'm working on some more proof from him to test this out.
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please
click here.