Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Windows Live Messenger is censoring a few domains...
Neowin Forums > Windows Support > Windows Live Software & Services
rm20010
I noticed that recently sending a few links of files stored on my Mediafire account to some of my WLM buddies aren't going through. Just typing 'www.mediafire.com' returns a "This message could not be delivered to all receipiants:"... but separating the domain and typing www dot mediafire dot com works...

WTF is up with this? It's not like I'm sending viruses to anyone. Is there a way to get rid of this internal blacklist?
RebelSean
I've had a few troubles with the same URL. There's no way of getting around this besides using different styles of typing the URL in the conversation.
lardiop
Had that exact problem with MSN the other night. The MediaFire link wouldnt work.

Just put it through something like TinyURL thumbs_up.gif
rm20010
Thanks for your replies.

I guess this site blacklist is managed on the network level? Bummer.
MaJoR
I had something censored to. It wasn't mediafire however. It has been a while unfortunately, so I don't remember what it blocked.
Borbus
Does this censoring take place in the client or on the msn network? Maybe they have some kind of lame family filter on the other end...
AionXn_
I had something like this a few hours ago. The link contained the words "download.php" and MSN blocked it. I googled this censorship and came to a site that had a list of different keywords, like the download.php that was being blocked server side.
redeemed
Quote - (lardiop @ Apr 7 2008, 15:10) *
Had that exact problem with MSN the other night. The MediaFire link wouldnt work.

Just put it through something like TinyURL
thumbs_up.gif

I was just going to suggest that pinch.gif
RebelSean
Quote - (rm20010 @ Apr 7 2008, 01:10) *
Thanks for your replies.

I guess this site blacklist is managed on the network level? Bummer.


Indeed. When your message is sent to the servers and a link is in the message, it is filtered through a blacklist of sites that arn't permitted to be transmitted. It's effective sometimes, but for instances such as this there's a downside.

As suggested, I'd use tinyurl smile.gif.
xpgeek
I had this happen to me last week or so too. I don't remember what url it was exactly, don't think it was anything mediafire, do remember it was a link to some site to look at something or other, totally legal n legit n everything, got back 'this message could not be delivered', figured that jus happens sometimes so jus sent it again, hmm, again, n again n again, tried it ten times, failed to deliver everytime, hello? i say to my conctact, yea? well normal messages going through, tried link again, nope, jus not going through, well what the hell. Really ****ed me off.
Nashy
Had this happen also, not that link though.
Unimatrix Xero
for me its filtering uploads.neowin
redeemed
^ blink.gif Someone over @ Microsoft has something against Neowin... shifty.gif
biggrin.gif
:: Lyon ::
It's been a while since I've heard of WLM beta...
rm20010
Is there a Live network contact we can yell at to get some domains taken out of the blacklist? I'd be damned to think it's a bot managing the list. I could continue using tinyurl, maybe until they blacklist that one as well.

About blocking uploads.neowin.net: I think someone must've uploaded some 'good stuff' into a now-deleted NSFW thread. devil.gif
Shaymaa
me too blink.gif i checked now
csfeist
well you can now add Youtube and DeviantArt links to the list of blocked domains in WLM.. within the last 24 hours they both have been blocked. At least with Youtube not sure if DA links is that new or not.

*sigh*

Elven
WTF is going on is Microsoft after everyone uninstalling messenger?
cJr.
They're blocking YouTube links!?!? ohmy.gif

That's beyond ridiculous if it's true!
csfeist
Quote - (cJr. @ May 10 2008, 15:54) *
They're blocking YouTube links!?!? ohmy.gif

That's beyond ridiculous if it's true!



well either it was a "mistake"...
a trial run to see how ppl would react..
or they just got too many hate filled feedback.. it seems to be working again sending youtube and deviantart links.. but we'll see if it lasts..
-Vivicidal-
Micro$oft sux.
Azmodan
http://www.pidgin.im/
Elven
Quote - (Azmodan @ May 10 2008, 23:01) *


I may be wrong here, but 3rd party Im clients will have to use the MSN network in order to communicate to users on the msn system.

Hence any filtering on the network will still be in effect.
csfeist
Quote - (Elven @ May 10 2008, 17:16) *
I may be wrong here, but 3rd party Im clients will have to use the MSN network in order to communicate to users on the msn system.

Hence any filtering on the network will still be in effect.



correct.. you still get any filtering a network that you are on has setup regardless of the client you use to connect to that network.
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.
Invision Power Board © 2001-2008 Invision Power Services, Inc.