Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Hum

You have deactivated your Facebook account ...

9 posts in this topic

Hi Huma, :huh:

You have deactivated your Facebook account. You can reactivate your account at any time by logging into Facebook using your old login email and password. You will be able to use the site like you used to.

Thanks,

The Facebook Team

Amazing e-mail ..... I have never had a Facebook account. :laugh:

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Yeah I get tons of spam on all my emails about Facebook and I am a user of FB, but I do not use any of those emails which is the funny thing.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Try logging in and see what happens.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

^ You can't log in without the password.

There are actually 3 e-mails.

One is welcome to Facebook, another to 'click to confirm', and this last, about deactivating.

This was all done within 2 minutes.

I guess someone mistyped, using my Yahoo e-mail.

Good luck to 'Huma' :laugh:

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I was going to say that was a very smart move (deactivating account) but if you never had one, that is even smarter!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Hi Huma, :huh:

You have deactivated your Facebook account. You can reactivate your account at any time by logging into Facebook using your old login email and password. You will be able to use the site like you used to.

Thanks,

The Facebook Team

If simply logging in restores the site to EXACTLY as it was before, they've kept all the data and keep receiving messages and updates for you, how is it deactivated exactly?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

If simply logging in restores the site to EXACTLY as it was before, they've kept all the data and keep receiving messages and updates for you, how is it deactivated exactly?

Back in December I made a Facebook account so that I could send a message to an old friend that I wanted to get back into contact with. For giggles I filled in the interests, favorite authors, movies, athletes, people that influence you, etc sections, just to get an idea of how everything worked. Didn't enter any real information, not even my real name, turned all the security features to the most secure settings, etc. When I was done playing around and after I had gotten a response from my old friend with updated normal contact information I selected to deactivate the facebook account. For months afterwards I got spam from Facebook about how I should come back, blah blah blah. I wanted to see how the reactivation process worked and I was REALLY surprised when I just logged in and everything was how I left it, no actual reactivation process or anything and everything was still there. :| So I guess when someone deactivates a real facebook account they need to go through and manually delete everything they've ever put on Facebook. What a pita.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Actually, you can permanently delete your FB account (as opposed to simply de-activating it), but they make it rather difficult for you to do it (understandably, possibly)

THIS SITE explains the whole procedure far better than I can.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Back in December I made a Facebook account so that I could send a message to an old friend that I wanted to get back into contact with. For giggles I filled in the interests, favorite authors, movies, athletes, people that influence you, etc sections, just to get an idea of how everything worked. Didn't enter any real information, not even my real name, turned all the security features to the most secure settings, etc. When I was done playing around and after I had gotten a response from my old friend with updated normal contact information I selected to deactivate the facebook account. For months afterwards I got spam from Facebook about how I should come back, blah blah blah. I wanted to see how the reactivation process worked and I was REALLY surprised when I just logged in and everything was how I left it, no actual reactivation process or anything and everything was still there. :| So I guess when someone deactivates a real facebook account they need to go through and manually delete everything they've ever put on Facebook. What a pita.

The accounts do get deactivated. Yes your info is still there but no one can see it till you reactivate it by logging back in. No need to manually delete everything you if wanted to get rid of everything why not just delete the account?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    No registered users viewing this page.