Jump to content



Photo

How can I find out what is using all of my upload bandwidth?


  • Please log in to reply
19 replies to this topic

#1 Elliot B.

Elliot B.

    Over 13 years on Neowin

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 16-August 01
  • Location: West Midlands, UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S5

Posted 24 July 2011 - 13:10

Something is randomly using all of my upload bandwidth, which makes my connection crawl.

I do not have spyware, adware or a virus.

How can I find out what process is doing this?

EDIT: This only started happening after I installed NetBalancer. However, it was uninstalled hours ago and I have rebooted, so I'm unsure how it can even be related.

Windows 7 x64 SP1.

EDIT: I rang Sky Broadband, they said it was an issue at the local hub and that it will be fixed within 30 minutes. I read a book for an hour, came back and the connection is now all good. Sorry, guys! Just seemed a massive co-incidence.


#2 Hum

Hum

    totally wAcKed

  • Tech Issues Solved: 10
  • Joined: 05-October 03
  • Location: Odder Space
  • OS: Windows XP, 7

Posted 24 July 2011 - 13:14

Look at the Task manager -- ctrl-alt-delete.

What processes are running ?

Also it may be a rootkit, and something has made your PC a zombie.

Do a rootkit scan.

http://www.sophos.co...ti-rootkit.aspx

#3 OP Elliot B.

Elliot B.

    Over 13 years on Neowin

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 16-August 01
  • Location: West Midlands, UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S5

Posted 24 July 2011 - 13:21

Look at the Task manager -- ctrl-alt-delete.

What processes are running ?

Also it may be a rootkit, and something has made your PC a zombie.

Do a rootkit scan.

http://www.sophos.co...ti-rootkit.aspx

I have no rootkits. Only novices get rootkits, spyware, adware or virus'.

This only started happening after I installed NetBalancer. However, it was uninstalled hours ago and I have rebooted, so I'm unsure how it can even be related.

Maybe I should call Sky Broadband, it could be an issue on their end (i.e. a co-incidence).

#4 +Nik L

Nik L

    Where's my pants?

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 14-January 03

Posted 24 July 2011 - 13:24

I have no rootkits. Only novices get rootkits, spyware, adware or virus'.


Well, you claim not to be a novice but can't even track your usage?

Check for rootkits and drop the superiority complex. If you can't rule it out (and opinion rules nothing out) then it still exists.

#5 Hum

Hum

    totally wAcKed

  • Tech Issues Solved: 10
  • Joined: 05-October 03
  • Location: Odder Space
  • OS: Windows XP, 7

Posted 24 July 2011 - 13:26

Perhaps try System Restore, if you have it running.

Go back to before you Installed that program.

#6 OP Elliot B.

Elliot B.

    Over 13 years on Neowin

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 16-August 01
  • Location: West Midlands, UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S5

Posted 24 July 2011 - 13:28

Well, you claim not to be a novice but can't even track your usage?

Check for rootkits and drop the attitude.

There is no attitude. It's very true. Just because I find it very easy to avoid getting rootkits, spyware, adware or viruses, it doesn't mean I know what software you guys recommend to discover what processes are using my bandwidth. I know that NetLimter can tell me what processes are using my bandwidth but in case that program is calling this issue, I am of course reluctant to re-install it.

The reason I know it's not a rootkit is because I doubt very much it's a co-incidence that NetLimiter was installed/uninstalled an hour before this issue occurred.

For ****s and giggles, I'll run Sophos Anti-Rootkit.

#7 Detection

Detection

    Detecting stuff...

  • Joined: 30-October 10
  • Location: UK
  • OS: 7 SP1 x64

Posted 24 July 2011 - 13:29

I think the clue is in the name "NetLimter "


Sounds like it has left something behind after the uninstall

#8 OP Elliot B.

Elliot B.

    Over 13 years on Neowin

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 16-August 01
  • Location: West Midlands, UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S5

Posted 24 July 2011 - 13:31

I think the clue is in the name "NetLimter "


Sounds like it has left something behind after the uninstall

That is not logical. The program was used to stop Firefox using all of my 130 KB/s upload bandwidth. I used it to limit Firefox to using a maximum of 95 KB/s in upload bandwidth. I then uninstalled it as, even though it worked, I decided just to go ahead and let Firefox do what it wishes.

So why would that program, installed or not, be doing this to my connection...?

EDIT: Sophos Anti-Rootkit found nothing suspicious. As expected.

#9 Detection

Detection

    Detecting stuff...

  • Joined: 30-October 10
  • Location: UK
  • OS: 7 SP1 x64

Posted 24 July 2011 - 13:36

As it is designed to limit bandwidth, your issue is bandwidth related, and it started around the time you installed and uninstalled this program I would say its more likely to be that than a coincidence.

I vaguely remember installing something similar if not the same program a while ago and completely losing my connection, programs like this install drivers I think, check hidden items in the device manager / services running in services.msc etc

If it all fails, as posted above, system restore to before the issue

#10 Mark

Mark

    (: ollǝɥ

  • Joined: 22-October 04
  • Location: Derbyshire, UK

Posted 24 July 2011 - 13:36

Do you get the same issue with other browsers?

#11 Detection

Detection

    Detecting stuff...

  • Joined: 30-October 10
  • Location: UK
  • OS: 7 SP1 x64

Posted 24 July 2011 - 13:38

You can look at what is connected to where and at which speed with this



TCPView v3.04
http://technet.micro...ernals/bb897437

#12 OP Elliot B.

Elliot B.

    Over 13 years on Neowin

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 16-August 01
  • Location: West Midlands, UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S5

Posted 24 July 2011 - 13:38

As it is designed to limit bandwidth, your issue is bandwidth related, and it started around the time you installed and uninstalled this program I would say its more likely to be that than a coincidence.

I vaguely remember installing something similar if not the same program a while ago and completely losing my connection, programs like this install drivers I think, check hidden items in the device manager / services running in services.msc etc

If it all fails, as posted above, system restore to before the issue

It does install a service but from what I can tell, there appears to be no related services on my computer :/

Do you get the same issue with other browsers?

This is happening system-wide. For example, I can be playing a game fine then a few seconds later, I get 900 ping before getting kicked. It's then that I realize something was uploading using all of my 130 KB/s upload speed. I am using Rainmeter to find my current system down/up speeds.

#13 +BudMan

BudMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 92
  • Joined: 04-July 02
  • Location: Schaumburg, IL
  • OS: Win7, Vista, 2k3, 2k8, XP, Linux, FreeBSD, OSX, etc. etc.

Posted 24 July 2011 - 13:38

If your looking to track what process is using upload, you could run tcpview http://technet.micro...ernals/bb897437

You could run wireshark as well - great FREE protocol analyzer http://www.wireshark.org/ to see what is actually being put on the wire, etc. but what show you what process did it, just what is being done.

Or you could put netlimiter back on ;) It shows you what is using bandwidth heeheheh

#14 OP Elliot B.

Elliot B.

    Over 13 years on Neowin

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 16-August 01
  • Location: West Midlands, UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S5

Posted 24 July 2011 - 13:42

I rang Sky Broadband, they said it was an issue at the local hub and that it will be fixed within 30 minutes. I read a book for an hour, came back and the connection is now all good. Sorry, guys! Just seemed a massive co-incidence.

I wasn't trying to be douchey earlier when I said it's not difficult to avoid getting rootkits, spyware, adware or viruses, it just really is easy to avoid them in my opinion :s Stick to legitimate websites, check comments when downloading torrents, keep your Windows and MSE up-to-date, don't start using dodgy Facebook apps etc. and you will be fine!

#15 +BudMan

BudMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 92
  • Joined: 04-July 02
  • Location: Schaumburg, IL
  • OS: Win7, Vista, 2k3, 2k8, XP, Linux, FreeBSD, OSX, etc. etc.

Posted 24 July 2011 - 13:45

"all of my 130 KB/s upload speed. I am using Rainmeter to find my current system down/up speeds. "

Um how is your box uploading an issue at the local hub?