Jump to content



Photo

I hate Backup Exec


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
38 replies to this topic

#16 remixedcat

remixedcat

    meow!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 28-December 10
  • Location: Vmware ESXi and Hyper-V happy clouds
  • OS: Windows Server 2012 R2
  • Phone: I use telepathy and cat meows to communicate

Posted 12 August 2011 - 01:48

what are the specs? I'd like one if the specs are right for the money. I want a cheap laptop for trips and stuff. PM me. Also PM me the experts-exchange link I know 2 experts there that are awesome with symantec products!


#17 vanx

vanx

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 23-April 09

Posted 12 August 2011 - 11:54

Thanks again vanx - you're exactly right -almost all of our backups take up multiple tapes. According to what you said, I will Inventory and catalog everything before attempting a restore job. Thanks for that !

Our reader has a dirty read/write head so until our cleaning tapes come in - I am not doing anything with Backup Exec.

You are welcome. It would be nice to be able to restore data from just one tape in a set if you don't have others, but that's just not the way the backup process works.

Let me know how you get on after you clean things up.

#18 OP TEX4S

TEX4S

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 06-October 04
  • Location: DFW

Posted 16 August 2011 - 02:48

Thanks vanx -

My boneheaded intern managed to wipe out a 2TB drive which was to be put on tape backup on our new system - when I get back to the office and pull my foot out of his a** I'll give you some updates - you have been great man - I feel like I need to pay you for your time :blush:

remixed - I'd love to help but I dont want to sell these piece by piece - Im looking for a company to buy all of them at once - sorry

#19 sw1tch..

sw1tch..

    Internet Haet Machine

  • Joined: 06-November 08
  • Location: Скадовск

Posted 16 August 2011 - 03:07

Arcserve = spawn of the devil
Symantec = spawn of Diablo

not sure which is better.


ARCServe is the worst backup software I have ever dealt with. Period. Today it burnt about 4 hours of my time. I seriously hate it. Wow ARCServe! :s

#20 OP TEX4S

TEX4S

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 06-October 04
  • Location: DFW

Posted 16 August 2011 - 03:12

ARCServe is the worst backup software I have ever dealt with. Period. Today it burnt about 4 hours of my time. I seriously hate it. Wow ARCServe! :s


sw1tch - let me send you my intern and he can waste even more of your time !! He is going to be a Junior @ Texas A&M in Comp Sci and has to tell me at least 10x a day about how Microsoft is evil and he will change our billion dollar company over to all linux - I just say "shut up and go get my dry cleaning you idiot !" :D well - I do tell him to shut up

#21 sw1tch..

sw1tch..

    Internet Haet Machine

  • Joined: 06-November 08
  • Location: Скадовск

Posted 16 August 2011 - 03:15

sw1tch - let me send you my intern and he can waste even more of your time !! He is going to be a Junior @ Texas A&M in Comp Sci and has to tell me at least 10x a day about how Microsoft is evil and he will change our billion dollar company over to all linux - I just say "shut up and go get my dry cleaning you idiot !" :D well - I do tell him to shut up



Haha classic! I spent 4 hours because my stupid Helpdesk deleted the schedules when doing a restore job and if you don't set them up in a particular way it will not eject the tape. Did I say I hated it. Yes I believe I did :rofl:

#22 vanx

vanx

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 23-April 09

Posted 16 August 2011 - 14:30

Thanks vanx -

My boneheaded intern managed to wipe out a 2TB drive which was to be put on tape backup on our new system - when I get back to the office and pull my foot out of his a** I'll give you some updates - you have been great man - I feel like I need to pay you for your time :blush:

No problem, happy to help. That said, all contributions are gratefully received :) Would be nice to know what company you're working for though (PM, if you can). Not so I can point my finger and laugh, just curious.

#23 OP TEX4S

TEX4S

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 06-October 04
  • Location: DFW

Posted 23 August 2011 - 06:35

OK - now comes my weekly "is this possible, and if so, how ?"

I have moved the Backup Exec 2010 & the old Quantum DLT tape loader over to a newer server which happens to be the server that is connected to our arcVault tape switcher.

I am wondering if its possible to "convert" all of our old DLT tapes over to LTO ?

Instead of having to restore all of the old DLT stuff (with missing tapes) to a HDD somewhere, then back that up to our LTO tape autoloader - can I just move/convert them on the fly ?

Thanks Again -

#24 vanx

vanx

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 23-April 09

Posted 23 August 2011 - 10:03

OK - now comes my weekly "is this possible, and if so, how ?"

I have moved the Backup Exec 2010 & the old Quantum DLT tape loader over to a newer server which happens to be the server that is connected to our arcVault tape switcher.

I am wondering if its possible to "convert" all of our old DLT tapes over to LTO ?

Instead of having to restore all of the old DLT stuff (with missing tapes) to a HDD somewhere, then back that up to our LTO tape autoloader - can I just move/convert them on the fly ?

Thanks Again -

First things first -- what kind of DLT (SDLT I/II, S4, etc) and LTO media (2/3/4/5) do you mean? Also, how do you plan on doing this? Simply cloning one tape onto another could give you lots of wasted space on your LTO media as it generally has bigger capacity.

Yes, it is possible to "convert" your DLT tapes to LTO. There are even specialist firms that are in business of doing that.

If you wish to use Backup Exec to do this conversion, you would need to catalog data from all of those DLT tapes. Then, create a duplicate job for catalogued backup sets with LTO drive(s) as target.

Let me know how you get on :)

#25 sc302

sc302

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 25
  • Joined: 12-July 05
  • Location: NJ, USA

Posted 24 August 2011 - 14:07

ARCServe is the worst backup software I have ever dealt with. Period. Today it burnt about 4 hours of my time. I seriously hate it. Wow ARCServe! :s

please call up their support and tell them to shove their software up their ass so that I am not the only one. :p

tell them you are going with a backup that works most of the time (backup exec)....until you get some crap error that has a general answer like we are sorry your backup failed today, for some reason we can't backup this file perhaps tomorrow will be better for you.


I wish computer associates a firey death into a black hole while each and every tech is hung by their balls....bunch of tards running that place. I can only imagine breaks by the water cooler with everyone drooling and staring at each other, each with a case of parkinsons. fking retarded morons can't even draw a line much less do any sort of mathematics to make a program that runs right...I would love to drop a nuke (or several) on their door step taking out any and all bystanders that could or do work for that place....they all need death.

#26 sc302

sc302

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 25
  • Joined: 12-July 05
  • Location: NJ, USA

Posted 24 August 2011 - 14:38

sw1tch - let me send you my intern and he can waste even more of your time !! He is going to be a Junior @ Texas A&M in Comp Sci and has to tell me at least 10x a day about how Microsoft is evil and he will change our billion dollar company over to all linux - I just say "shut up and go get my dry cleaning you idiot !" :D well - I do tell him to shut up

When he is about, oh, 40 or so he will realize Microsoft is money hungry not evil. Microsoft does make a good product, although sometimes they do release crap as do every corporation in any industry where there is significant change between models/products/years. Look at the big Toyota flop or any car manufacturer. If you don't load you pc up with crap/trials/pirated software it actually runs as expected. Many microsoft servers are up for months at a time and the only time they go down is due to updates. True *nix doesn't need to go down as frequently and just runs, but it isn't really a gui that stays running constantly now is it? Server 2008 has an option to run in core mode (no gui) but requires the admin to really know and understand the power shell, and I believe many things server are going to the powershell to be able to function....exchange is hybrid (needs ps to function, some things have been stripped from the gui, and can use gui to run certain admin functions..but everything can be done in the ps).

#27 ahhell

ahhell

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 30-June 03
  • Location: Winnipeg - coldest place on Earth - yeah

Posted 24 August 2011 - 14:43

sw1tch - let me send you my intern and he can waste even more of your time !! He is going to be a Junior @ Texas A&M in Comp Sci and has to tell me at least 10x a day about how Microsoft is evil and he will change our billion dollar company over to all linux - I just say "shut up and go get my dry cleaning you idiot !" :D well - I do tell him to shut up


Oh god I hate those know-it-all douches.

You should tell him to leave and can only come back when he has a clue.

Oh, and all back up software is complete ****. It's amazing considering how important back ups are. Why the **** can't anyone make decent backup software?!?!?!

#28 vanx

vanx

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 23-April 09

Posted 24 August 2011 - 15:50

Oh, and all back up software is complete ****. It's amazing considering how important back ups are. Why the **** can't anyone make decent backup software?!?!?!

A cynical person would call all backup software a bunch of glorified copiers. Backups by themselves are not important. Restores, on the other hand, are crucial. From a pesky spreadsheet that some twit in finance/human resources has deleted to a sensitive document that legal are requesting because someone is suing and a huge fine will be imposed if information is not disclosed.

There is decent backup software out there, such as Backup Exec, Simpana, NetBackup etc. From my experience, at least with those 3, it's not the software's fault most of the time.

#29 sc302

sc302

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 25
  • Joined: 12-July 05
  • Location: NJ, USA

Posted 24 August 2011 - 15:53

A cynical person would call all backup software a bunch of glorified copiers. Backups by themselves are not important. Restores, on the other hand, are crucial. From a pesky spreadsheet that some twit in finance/human resources has deleted to a sensitive document that legal are requesting because someone is suing and a huge fine will be imposed if information is not disclosed.

There is decent backup software out there, such as Backup Exec, Simpana, NetBackup etc. From my experience, at least with those 3, it's not the software's fault most of the time.

If it werent for the necessity of quality log files (and the ability to copy db objects), copies would do just fine.

#30 OP TEX4S

TEX4S

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 06-October 04
  • Location: DFW

Posted 29 August 2011 - 07:44

Thanks for all your comments - sc302 - I sure hope you change your mind about computer associates and the nukes - I think their (old ?) HQ is about 20 miles from me - that whole ground zero thing would kinda suck -- now a tactical nuke ? oh god that would be great - a huge norton office is across the street - as well as McAfee I think - there is an area in Plano and a ton of corporate HQ are next to one another (EDS, Perot Systems (now Dell), JC Penney - we'll just wipe the slate clean and start over. :D

I setup BEX2010 to do my 1st complete backup to the LTO tape robot thingy (ArcVault12). It was scheduled to start @ 12:00 noon this past Saturday - I was too busy to go up to the office this weekend - so I have my fingers crossed all went as planned. The server it hopefullly backed up is one of, if not the main server... :huh: