Jump to content



Photo

Receive packets is more than Sent packets


  • Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1 Abhishek kapoor

Abhishek kapoor

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 12-April 07
  • Location: New delhi,INDIA Name: Abhishek kapoor

Posted 25 August 2011 - 06:02

When i open my lan status i saw that Receive packets in Activity is more than sent packet (exp:see attachment) .Is that my network card got problem?Kindly please advise Posted Image

Earlier I have ISP provider modem and few days ago changed to belkin basic 150N.

On this modem I have to connect 2 PC and 1 Voip phone.

Internet works fine till the time i didnt connect another PC it take whole network down and net stop working.

On 1st PC using XP (Internet working fine) and on another Window7 (which has issue) ..

net.jpg


#2 +ChuckFinley

ChuckFinley

    member_id=28229

  • Joined: 14-May 03

Posted 25 August 2011 - 11:19

So you have downloaded more than you uploaded. That is quite common. More detail about your setup would be good. Advice is stop downloading stuff if you want the numbers to tally up.

#3 Xahid

Xahid

    Anokha Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 04-November 01
  • OS: Windows 7 Ultimate

Posted 25 August 2011 - 11:24

lol, its NORMAL !
Download Stream is always get more data, then Upload stream, unless you're using FTP Server or File Server ...

#4 Nick H.

Nick H.

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 15
  • Joined: 28-June 04
  • Location: Switzerland

Posted 25 August 2011 - 11:28

Advice is stop downloading stuff if you want the numbers to tally up.

:laugh:

Like the others said, it's normal to have more incoming packets than outgoing packets. There's no advice needed for that.

But you say that if you don't have your first computer connected then you don't get any network connection on the other computers. Does the internet go straight in to the first computer before going to a router? That would be a bad setup, but I guess it could explain the issue. Some more information would be good though.

#5 OP Abhishek kapoor

Abhishek kapoor

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 12-April 07
  • Location: New delhi,INDIA Name: Abhishek kapoor

Posted 26 August 2011 - 08:41

I changed my Modem with router belkin basic 150N.

Router has 4 ports and its wireless.

below steps I did
1). Connect 1st PC (window XP) to router working fine - No issue.
2). Using wifi on my cell - No issues.
3). As soon as I connect my second PC (Window 7) to router it take down whole Internet and it stol on all machines.

My 1st PC is primary PC (used for utorrent and chatting) 2nd PC is used only by my parents.

#6 Warboy

Warboy

    The Doctor

  • Joined: 25-November 06
  • Location: Michigan
  • OS: Windows 7
  • Phone: Samsung Epic 4G Touch

Posted 26 August 2011 - 09:11

talk to us when you have more upload then download. Unless this happens very quickly after powering on the computer, then it's common.

#7 neoraptor

neoraptor

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 29-November 08

Posted 26 August 2011 - 09:15

I changed my Modem with router belkin basic 150N.

Router has 4 ports and its wireless.

below steps I did
1). Connect 1st PC (window XP) to router working fine - No issue.
2). Using wifi on my cell - No issues.
3). As soon as I connect my second PC (Window 7) to router it take down whole Internet and it stol on all machines.

My 1st PC is primary PC (used for utorrent and chatting) 2nd PC is used only by my parents.


Maybe an IP conflict, check your DHCP settings on the router and your network settings on the XP and W7 computer. Try to shutdown everything else but the W7 computer.

#8 OP Abhishek kapoor

Abhishek kapoor

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 12-April 07
  • Location: New delhi,INDIA Name: Abhishek kapoor

Posted 26 August 2011 - 09:21

It started happening as soon as I connect my 2nd PC with router..

#9 cybertimber2008

cybertimber2008

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 02-December 08

Posted 26 August 2011 - 10:46

It started happening as soon as I connect my 2nd PC with router..

And is the 2nd PC doing anything in relation to the first?
Are you printing to it? Sending backup copies to it? Are you listening to your music on your 2nd PC, while stored on the first?
Wireshark it if you want...

#10 Nick H.

Nick H.

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 15
  • Joined: 28-June 04
  • Location: Switzerland

Posted 26 August 2011 - 11:12

I'm starting to agree with neoraptor's assessment. Sounds to me like an IP address conflict. Have you manually set the IP address on either machine? If so, you need to either make the other computer have a manual IP address (and obviously not the same address as the other machines) or you need to set all machines to automatically get an IP address via the DHCP.

#11 +BudMan

BudMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 96
  • Joined: 04-July 02
  • Location: Schaumburg, IL
  • OS: Win7, Vista, 2k3, 2k8, XP, Linux, FreeBSD, OSX, etc. etc.

Posted 26 August 2011 - 12:49

"3). As soon as I connect my second PC (Window 7) to router it take down whole Internet and it stol on all machines. "

If it was just an IP conflict then your other machines should still work, only the 2 machines that had dupe IPs should have issues - unless your dupe IP is with the routers lan IP, ie the gateway of all your machines.

You sure this 2nd PC is not flooding the network with crap, ie bad interface or just overloading the wireless network with say p2p traffic or malware type stuff. All it needs to do to cause problems is fill up your upload pipe or overload your dns on your router, this is a assuming your using your router as your dns -- which is the normal setup.

If you having a dupe IP normally the machines that have the dupe would report it, the wireshark is a good idea -- see what the 2nd machine is putting on the network.

#12 vetneufuse

neufuse

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 16-February 04

Posted 26 August 2011 - 12:56

wow... I was expecting this to be something like I sent 250 packets to a machine and it recieved 255 from me..... which would be a a resend of packets that failed or didn't look right when they recieved them, but this is just..

#13 neoraptor

neoraptor

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 29-November 08

Posted 26 August 2011 - 16:07

If you having a dupe IP normally the machines that have the dupe would report it, the wireshark is a good idea -- see what the 2nd machine is putting on the network.


Obviously wireshark is too advanced for person asking such question. Other thing that i can think of is same MAC address (some routers can clone the mac address if your ISP locks you)

Anyway something is fishy in here :

1. That guy seem to have blog for tech questions.
2. The screenshot shows that the computer hasn't been restarted for 5+ days which is strange when you troubleshoot some network problem (router/computer should've been restarted).

#14 SirEvan

SirEvan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 17-April 03
  • Location: Santa Clara, CA
  • OS: Windows 8
  • Phone: HTC One (AT&T)

Posted 27 August 2011 - 05:03

wow... I was expecting this to be something like I sent 250 packets to a machine and it recieved 255 from me..... which would be a a resend of packets that failed or didn't look right when they recieved them, but this is just..


I LOL'd pretty hard when I read this...I thought it was a troll till I saw his post count....although could be a troll spy that has just had his cell activated....


What others have said sums it up pretty much...its normal.

#15 ozgeek

ozgeek

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 08-June 03
  • Location: Queensland, Australia

Posted 27 August 2011 - 05:17

When i open my lan status i saw that Receive packets in Activity is more than sent packet (exp:see attachment) .Is that my network card got problem?


Extremely normal and remember that image shows only usage from that computer, not the whole network. And it is very normal for download to be ultised more than upload. Look at mine:

Posted Image