Jump to content



Photo

Turning a Linksys Wireless router into an wifi extender


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 fmanchu

fmanchu

    Free loader

  • Joined: 15-July 11
  • Location: Wisconsin

Posted 04 September 2011 - 03:22

My uncle has a Linksys 802.11b wireless router and he wants to amplify a wireless signal with it. Its a model BEFW11S4 version 4. Is it even possible?


#2 chrispinto

chrispinto

    Objective Apple products fan.

  • Joined: 15-September 03
  • Location: Bournemouth, UK
  • OS: OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion - iMac 27" 2.7GHz i5 Quad - 12Gb Ram

Posted 04 September 2011 - 03:51

Crikey probably not, unless there is a version of DD_WRT he can use that supports his router

Edit: Although, he could wire the router into his existing network, means having a long ethernet wire though dpeending where he wants to extend it to. Then he'd essentially have 2 different wifi networks accessing the same internet connection

Edited by chrispinto, 04 September 2011 - 03:52.


#3 sc302

sc302

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 36
  • Joined: 12-July 05
  • Location: NJ, USA

Posted 04 September 2011 - 13:13

Crikey probably not, unless there is a version of DD_WRT he can use that supports his router

Edit: Although, he could wire the router into his existing network, means having a long ethernet wire though dpeending where he wants to extend it to. Then he'd essentially have 2 different wifi networks accessing the same internet connection

No he wouldn't have 2 different wifi networks.

If you make the two access points with the same exact ssid (using the same upper and lower case lettering, punctuation, etc) and the same security settings and access codes, then the wirless nic will seemlessly go about both "networks" attaching to the point with the strongest signal without a drop or connecting to a different access point. This has been in place since b standard and a standard.

You would need dd-wrt. but really with the cost of a new router (I saw a G router in wally world for 30 bux the other night after I bricked my wrt54g and needed a new one at 11pm) get a new router.

here is a e1000n for $22 http://www.amazon.co...15142132&sr=1-5

$20 http://www.amazon.co...15142434&sr=1-2


They are out there and they aren't that expensive. besides you will have more throughput on the newer routers that can cater to newer high speed internet access where that one tops out at maybe 3mb/s eventhough it is a 10mb port.

#4 +BudMan

BudMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 106
  • Joined: 04-July 02
  • Location: Schaumburg, IL
  • OS: Win7, Vista, 2k3, 2k8, XP, Linux, FreeBSD, OSX, etc. etc.

Posted 04 September 2011 - 13:42

Who would still be running a B only router?? Yeah get a new one! As to using it to extend the range of some other network -- as sc302 stated you can put as many accesspoint you need. But you wouldn't be using it as a ROUTER.. Just an AP, does not matter what firmware you use or what router - any wireless router can be used as just an AP to widen your coverage.

http://www.dslreports.com/faq/11233
Using a Wireless Router as an Access Point

Now to do it wireless like a repeater or setup WDS then yeah that requires that feature set of your AP/Router -- but again B router, its pretty much junk if you ask me.

#5 OP fmanchu

fmanchu

    Free loader

  • Joined: 15-July 11
  • Location: Wisconsin

Posted 04 September 2011 - 18:04

Thanks for the replies, I appreciate it.