Jump to content



Photo

Router as Bridge


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 lawtai

lawtai

    Neowinian Old Timer

  • Joined: 06-October 01
  • Location: Rochester, NY

Posted 05 September 2011 - 20:11

I have a Netgear Wireless router (WNR3500L) which is connected to my cable modem and is acting as the main router in my house. I have a WRT54G v2.2 router which I've flashed to Tomato vs 1.28.

I'm trying to figure out how to set up the Linksys router as a bridge? The main thing that's confusing me is the security password. On my main router, since it's wireless N, I have it set to use WPA2-PSK[AES]. However, since my router is only a G router, it complains when I try to use WPA2 as the security key that it only allows WPA2 when using as an access point and not when being used as a Wireless Ethernet Bridge.

I set the Linksys to an IP of 192.168.1.10, but I'm not sure if that's supposed to show up on my Netgear router as a connected device?

Any help would be greatly appreciated!


#2 OP lawtai

lawtai

    Neowinian Old Timer

  • Joined: 06-October 01
  • Location: Rochester, NY

Posted 05 September 2011 - 20:25

Actually, if I turn off security, it works....

#3 OP lawtai

lawtai

    Neowinian Old Timer

  • Joined: 06-October 01
  • Location: Rochester, NY

Posted 05 September 2011 - 21:15

So I solved the issue by setting my N router to use WPA/WPA2 for security and on my bridge routers, using WPA to log in. I think this allows me to still have the Wireless-N capability.

#4 +BudMan

BudMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 85
  • Joined: 04-July 02
  • Location: Schaumburg, IL
  • OS: Win7, Vista, 2k3, 2k8, XP, Linux, FreeBSD, OSX, etc. etc.

Posted 07 September 2011 - 17:41

It might - depends on the client connecting if it sees the WPA first then it might only connect as G mode.

But just the fact that your connecting G into your N network is going to SLOW it down, even if clients are connected as N. Wireless is SHARED -- your slowest client is going to slow down all other clients, since only 1 actual client can bet talking at any one time.

If you want to extend your wireless?? Just use your G router as accesspoint wired to your N router, this will allow you to create 2 different wireless networks one for your N clients that connect to your N router, and allow for wired and wireless clients in the area of the G router to connect at G speeds or wire, etc. While all your clients are still on the same network.

#5 Roger H.

Roger H.

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 20
  • Joined: 18-August 01
  • Location: Germany
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Nexus 5

Posted 07 September 2011 - 17:45

I'm guessing you are trying to do WDS or something? I think only WEP can work for WDS.

If you just want to make it a bridge then do Client Bridge setup instead and you can plug devices itno the LAN ports and they'll connect over WiFi.

#6 OP lawtai

lawtai

    Neowinian Old Timer

  • Joined: 06-October 01
  • Location: Rochester, NY

Posted 08 September 2011 - 19:05

Yea, I was doing what Shotta35 said. I have it set up now so that I'm using the routers as bridges so I can plug in non wireless devices into the routers and it'll connect to the internet over Wifi.



Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!