Jump to content



Photo

Flaunt Your Windows 8 Screenshots here


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
414 replies to this topic

#211 exotoxic

exotoxic

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 04-April 04
  • Location: England

Posted 22 May 2012 - 03:32

simples

Attached Images

  • Untitled.jpg



#212 eagle06

eagle06

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 31-January 09

Posted 01 June 2012 - 06:28

Guys Im new to win8 . How to customize home screen? Like arrange icons in groups like Media,softwares,games etc

#213 George P

George P

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 04-February 07
  • Location: Greece
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro 64bit
  • Phone: HTC Windows Phone 8X

Posted 01 June 2012 - 06:38

Guys Im new to win8 . How to customize home screen? Like arrange icons in groups like Media,softwares,games etc


Zoom out, press the little - button in the lower right corner of the start screen then you can, iirc, right click on a group and name it or drag them around left and right etc.

#214 +Quillz

Quillz

    A Talking Pokemon

  • Joined: 19-July 05
  • Location: LA, CA
  • OS: Win8
  • Phone: Nexus 5

Posted 01 June 2012 - 08:34

060112.png

#215 caerma

caerma

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 06-January 02

Posted 01 June 2012 - 10:45

Posted Image

#216 nyolc8

nyolc8

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 25-May 07
  • Location: Budapest, Hungary
  • OS: OSX Mavericks 10.9.3, Windows 8.1 Pro WMC
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 520

Posted 01 June 2012 - 15:44

My desktop, just testing it for now on a seperate drive.

Screenshot (2).jpg

#217 OP bogas04

bogas04

    This title is bogus

  • Joined: 15-May 09
  • Location: India
  • OS: Windows 8
  • Phone: Lumia 920

Posted 01 June 2012 - 18:42

My turn! :p

Untitled.png

#218 vetneufuse

neufuse

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 16-February 04

Posted 01 June 2012 - 18:57

I don't use the StartScreen - at all.

I see the StartScreen maybe three times a *week* - and that is generally for reboots. (I run mostly traditional applications, and, other than Office applications and Visual Studio, all have desktop shortcuts. For those applications that are on neither desktop or Taskbar, I use Search to track them down - basically, the Windows 2000 Professional method, or, in the case of Office, I use WIN+R+ application name. The StartScreen is, to me personally, as relevant as the Start menu was in Windows 7 back to XP - basically, not relevant at all.)

I tend to live on the desktop (just as I did in Windows 7, or Vista, or XP, or even Windows 2000 Professional). The folks doing the most complaining about a LACK of a Start menu likely have very empty desktops (and pin little to nothing to the Taskbar - despite it being added with 7, and available in the WDP and WCP still). For this same reason, they are, if anything, over-reliant on a hyper-organized menu system (such a creature, even in the case of the Start menu ala 7 or earlier, requires a great deal of fiddlework). Different work mechanic than yours - but it works for me, despite not being very aesthetic.

I refuse to spend a ton of time organizing something I see MAYBE thrice a week - and don't see much of even then.

The shortcuts on my desktop reflect where I spend the majority of my day - other than Office and Visual Studio (neither of which create desktop shortcuts by default), the applications and games that I run on a daily or weekly basis that are NOT Metro apps are all present and accounted for on the desktop If anything, I'm waiting to see what Stardock does with Fences (which I DID use in Windows 7 to visually de-clutter the desktop) - I suggested a version to deal with StartScreen clutter.

Yes - my StartScreen *is* cluttered. I fully *expected* it to be cluttered. However, it is (thanks to Search) a lot easier to deal with in spite of that clutter.

In fact, it is far easier to deal with than the Start menu has ever been.

Ever heard of the saying "out of sight - out of mind"? The StartScreen I see three times a week in a given week - hence it being in my sight very little. (Even then, it's a waypoint - on my way to the desktop.)

So I'm supposed to care a great deal how it looks *why*?)


and what are you going to do when MS removes the run dialog? remember at one point during the windows 7 beta, it was disabled! until a bunch of people complained and MS realized its still used... but you know they are eager to remove it also... the run dialog has been marked as a "legacy - obsolete" dialog for 2 versions of windows now, which means its going away at some point

#219 Dot Matrix

Dot Matrix

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 7
  • Joined: 14-November 11
  • Location: Upstate New York
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 920

Posted 01 June 2012 - 18:58

and what are you going to do when MS removes the run dialog? remember at one point during the windows 7 beta, it was disabled! until a bunch of people complained and MS realized its still used... but you know they are eager to remove it also


Run dialog is completely depreciated and redundant. Not sure why it's still there.

#220 +Quillz

Quillz

    A Talking Pokemon

  • Joined: 19-July 05
  • Location: LA, CA
  • OS: Win8
  • Phone: Nexus 5

Posted 01 June 2012 - 19:14

[ snip ]

I think it's been asked before, but how did you get the icons centered on the taskbar?

#221 xendrome

xendrome

    In God We Trust; All Others We Monitor

  • Tech Issues Solved: 13
  • Joined: 05-December 01
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro x64

Posted 01 June 2012 - 19:14

Other than organization your tiles, the lack of customization available for Metro makes this thread much less interesting that previous desktop threads.


Yeah I don't get it either..

#222 vetneufuse

neufuse

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 16-February 04

Posted 01 June 2012 - 19:16

Run dialog is completely depreciated and redundant. Not sure why it's still there.


like I said, its marked as legacy and obsolete, although they need to keep the Win+R key but still take it to something that lets you type in command line esc commands like run did... but with the start menu removed now, how do you do that without going into command prompt

#223 Kyang

Kyang

  • Joined: 23-November 07

Posted 01 June 2012 - 20:21

Other than organization your tiles, the lack of customization available for Metro makes this thread much less interesting that previous desktop threads.


That's when they post images of the desktop.

Then again, aside from a different wallpaper, desktops largely look the same too. That goes for OSX and Windows.

#224 riceBox

riceBox

    Residential Idiot

  • Joined: 08-May 09
  • Location: Philippines
  • OS: Windows 10

Posted 02 June 2012 - 06:47

Posted Image

#225 OP bogas04

bogas04

    This title is bogus

  • Joined: 15-May 09
  • Location: India
  • OS: Windows 8
  • Phone: Lumia 920

Posted 02 June 2012 - 14:15

I think it's been asked before, but how did you get the icons centered on the taskbar?



I will post a video later , but for now the steps are :

Untitled.png

trollololo

The Video :