Jump to content



Photo

Diablo III

official diablo 3 blizzard entertainment pc ps3 ps4 xbox 360 xbox one arpg reaper of souls

2402 replies to this topic

#31 Draken

Draken

    Neowinian Un-Wise One

  • 1,575 posts
  • Joined: 03-September 07
  • Location: Buenos Aires
  • OS: OS X 10.9 / Windows 8.1 x64
  • Phone: Motorola Razr HD

Posted 21 September 2011 - 21:04

that is why the launch of the game is doing to ****ty for people who pick up it at launch, cause i promise you no way blizzard is going to be able to keep up with all the traffic that is going to hit them.



And people pirating it will have a hassle free experience ... that's not the right way to combat piracy (N)


#32 Olemus

Olemus

    Neowinian Senior

  • 3,633 posts
  • Joined: 20-July 06
  • Location: Middlesbrough, UK

Posted 21 September 2011 - 21:11

that is why the launch of the game is doing to ****ty for people who pick up it at launch, cause i promise you no way blizzard is going to be able to keep up with all the traffic that is going to hit them.


They handled the release of Starcraft 2 perfectly fine, I don't see Diablo being any different. Blizzard have a bad rep from years ago that says there service is totally crappy and unreliable which is simply not true nowadays.

#33 Elliott

Elliott

    Neowinian Senior

  • 11,089 posts
  • Joined: 26-September 02
  • Location: Virginia, USA
  • OS: OS X Yosemite
  • Phone: iPhone 5s

Posted 21 September 2011 - 21:57

that is why the launch of the game is doing to ****ty for people who pick up it at launch, cause i promise you no way blizzard is going to be able to keep up with all the traffic that is going to hit them.

Just like Olemus said, they handled SC2 just fine. They also handled Cataclysm's launch very well.

#34 rajputwarrior

rajputwarrior

    olé olé olé olé

  • 12,924 posts
  • Joined: 20-June 04
  • Location: BC, CANADA

Posted 21 September 2011 - 22:00

They handled the release of Starcraft 2 perfectly fine, I don't see Diablo being any different. Blizzard have a bad rep from years ago that says there service is totally crappy and unreliable which is simply not true nowadays.


i could be wrong. hopefully i am. i usually feel pretty bad for people who have been waiting forever to play something, and get stomped cause their developper crapped out on servers or Q&A (effin Dice and the BC2 launch... or brink... bastheda should rot for brink...)

i tend to love blizzard, but they've dropped down a couple of notches in my book for the online thing, and also making the sequel to my all time fave RTS an MMORPG and not another RTS.

#35 Nagisan

Nagisan

    Neowinian Senior

  • 5,157 posts
  • Joined: 02-June 06

Posted 21 September 2011 - 22:09

that is why the launch of the game is doing to ****ty for people who pick up it at launch, cause i promise you no way blizzard is going to be able to keep up with all the traffic that is going to hit them.

I think Blizzard will handle it just well.....they do run the largest MMO to date still, they likely have a pretty good idea of the traffic to expect at launch of D3.


And people pirating it will have a hassle free experience ... that's not the right way to combat piracy (N)

And people pirating it will be unable to play the game period.

How exactly is that a hassle-free experience?

#36 rajputwarrior

rajputwarrior

    olé olé olé olé

  • 12,924 posts
  • Joined: 20-June 04
  • Location: BC, CANADA

Posted 21 September 2011 - 22:10

I think Blizzard will handle it just well.....they do run the largest MMO to date still, they likely have a pretty good idea of the traffic to expect at launch of D3.



And people pirating it will be unable to play the game period.

How exactly is that a hassle-free experience?


how do you figure that?

#37 vetsanctified

sanctified

    Your order is meaningless. My chaos is significant.

  • 20,981 posts
  • Joined: 29-November 01
  • Location: ø
  • OS: OS X 10.9 and Xubuntu 14.04
  • Phone: iPhone 5 (very cheap second hand)

Posted 21 September 2011 - 22:14

And people pirating it will be unable to play the game period.

How exactly is that a hassle-free experience?


I know! Because there's no way to emulate a server's signal response... oh wait.

#38 rajputwarrior

rajputwarrior

    olé olé olé olé

  • 12,924 posts
  • Joined: 20-June 04
  • Location: BC, CANADA

Posted 21 September 2011 - 22:15

I know! Because there's no way to emulate a server's signal response... oh wait.


ubisoft games are a clear example that it can be easily done.

#39 Nagisan

Nagisan

    Neowinian Senior

  • 5,157 posts
  • Joined: 02-June 06

Posted 21 September 2011 - 22:31

how do you figure that?


I know! Because there's no way to emulate a server's signal response... oh wait.


ubisoft games are a clear example that it can be easily done.

Because from what I understand there is no single-player in D3, unlike Ubisoft's games and SC2. I may be misinterpreting what I have read, but you have to physically log into battle.net and play on your battle.net character to play the game at all. Basically, from what I have read (and I have double-checked this), Diablo 3 is multiplayer only, no singleplayer exists period. Therefor you cannot simply emulate the servers response signal, you would have to emulate the server in full to be able to play, which physically yes, it can be done, but it will take quite awhile, and any major updates will break it.....just like WoW private servers.

The only form of single-player that D3 will have, is the capability to play without other players while logged into your battle.net account, so until you emulate battle.net, good luck playing "singleplayer" after downloading the game.

#40 rajputwarrior

rajputwarrior

    olé olé olé olé

  • 12,924 posts
  • Joined: 20-June 04
  • Location: BC, CANADA

Posted 21 September 2011 - 22:32

Because from what I understand there is no single-player in D3, unlike Ubisoft's games and SC2. I may be misinterpreting what I have read, but you have to physically log into battle.net and play on your battle.net character to play the game at all. Basically, from what I have read (and I have double-checked this), Diablo 3 is multiplayer only, no singleplayer exists period. Therefor you cannot simply emulate the servers response signal, you would have to emulate the server in full to be able to play, which physically yes, it can be done, but it will take quite awhile, and any major updates will break it.....just like WoW private servers.


yes it does! period.

Why didn't I play longer? That's a good question. You see, the game requires an always-on Internet connection, and the servers seemed to set themselves on fire a few hours after I downloaded the beta, and this dumped me from the game. You not only need to be online to play, you need to connected to Blizzard at all times. So if your connection goes down, or if their servers crash, you can't play. Not even single player. At least this means I can sleep tonight! I know this is a beta and these things are bound to happen, but it's still an ill omen.


http://arstechnica.c...internet-on.ars

#41 Shadrack

Shadrack

    Neowinian Senior

  • 15,086 posts
  • Joined: 20-December 01

Posted 21 September 2011 - 23:17

Where there is a will there is a way. Hell, WoW is an MMO and people still setup rogue realms so that people who don't want to pay can still play.

The game will have a single player experience but my understanding is that your character will be stored on battle.net servers much like it was in D2 if you wanted to do any of the ladders.

My internet is always on so this isn't a problem for me. If my internet is interrupted for whatever reason and I can't play I might actually go outside for a moment. God knows I'll need some actual sunshine because after Diablo 3 is released I'll likely become a cave troll.

#42 spedanden

spedanden

    Spedanden was his name-o

  • 405 posts
  • Joined: 04-October 01
  • Location: Dallas, TX
  • OS: OSX
  • Phone: iPhone 5

Posted 21 September 2011 - 23:26

I know! Because there's no way to emulate a server's signal response... oh wait.


From what I read somewhere, being connected all the time isn't merely to "ping" the Blizzard servers. Your characters are saved server side like in WoW and the loot is not shared with your party, it is parsed by the server for your "instance" of the game, regardless if youre in a party or not.

That said, eventually someone will setup a server to emulate the Blizzard server-client setup a-la WoW cracked servers.

#43 Nagisan

Nagisan

    Neowinian Senior

  • 5,157 posts
  • Joined: 02-June 06

Posted 21 September 2011 - 23:49

yes it does! period.



http://arstechnica.c...internet-on.ars

No it doesn't. When I say single-player, I mean no dedicated single-player mode. The "single-player" in Diablo 3 is a private game you create on battle.net, it is not a mode you select where the characters are stored on your computer like Diablo 2 has. Therefore no, it doesn't have a single-player. It has solo-play and multi-player. How exactly do you play with a cracked client when you don't even have access to any character data?

From what I read somewhere, being connected all the time isn't merely to "ping" the Blizzard servers. Your characters are saved server side like in WoW and the loot is not shared with your party, it is parsed by the server for your "instance" of the game, regardless if youre in a party or not.

That said, eventually someone will setup a server to emulate the Blizzard server-client setup a-la WoW cracked servers.

Exactly my point, Diablo 3 won't be a game that lets you play offline with a crack that responds to attempted pings to battle.net servers, in Diablo 3, the "single-player" is all server-side, you do not have your character files on your computer, your game client doesn't even have the code to create and run a solo game, the game itself is create on battle.net servers and your client connects to it and gives you feedback as to what your character is doing in your Blizzard-hosted solo game.

And yes, it may be cracked eventually, but not as easily, quickly, or reliably as Assassins Creed 2/Brotherhood/etc.

#44 rajputwarrior

rajputwarrior

    olé olé olé olé

  • 12,924 posts
  • Joined: 20-June 04
  • Location: BC, CANADA

Posted 21 September 2011 - 23:50

No it doesn't. When I say single-player, I mean no dedicated single-player mode. The "single-player" in Diablo 3 is a private game you create on battle.net, it is not a mode you select where the characters are stored on your computer like Diablo 2 has. Therefore no, it doesn't have a single-player. It has solo-play and multi-player. How exactly do you play with a cracked client when you don't even have access to any character data?


Exactly my point, Diablo 3 won't be a game that lets you play offline with a crack that responds to attempted pings to battle.net servers, in Diablo 3, the "single-player" is all server-side, you do not have your character files on your computer, your game client doesn't even have the code to create and run a solo game, the game itself is create on battle.net servers and your client connects to it and gives you feedback as to what your character is doing in your Blizzard-hosted solo game.

And yes, it may be cracked eventually, but not as easily, quickly, or reliably as Assassins Creed 2/Brotherhood/etc.


you're hilarious if you actually think that's true...

#45 Nagisan

Nagisan

    Neowinian Senior

  • 5,157 posts
  • Joined: 02-June 06

Posted 22 September 2011 - 00:33

you're hilarious if you actually think that's true...

Then I'm a comedian. Quit talking the talk and get some proof I am wrong rather than just trying to come up with short little comments to attempt to disprove what I've said.