Jump to content



Photo

Annoying Samsung Galaxy SII keyboard problem

samsung galaxy s2 galaxy s2 keyboard

  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 vetcashman

cashman

    Let Love Be The Healer

  • Joined: 03-April 04
  • Location: Uk, Luton

Posted 16 October 2011 - 12:30

I've had my S2 for about a month now. When I first used the phone I had to hard reset it because the keyboard became unresponsive. I would type words using swype and the standard keyboard and nothing would be inputted into my text field.

This has now happened again. Very annoying. Does anyone know what the problem might be? I'm running TouchWiz with android version 2.3.3 Kernel 2.6.35.7-I9100.

This time around it's being selective where it works and where it doesn't. I couldn't type anything into the search bar in the android market today, nor could I input my email address to log into facebook on the web browser. It's not just typing with the keyboard. If I speak-to-text it will accept what I say but not write anything down.

Does anyone have any ideas? I've done a quick google search but nothing has come up.


#2 zeta_immersion

zeta_immersion

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 08-October 04
  • Location: Toronto

Posted 16 October 2011 - 12:39

I see it is not rooted, so you can try , Volume UP + home + Power (and then reset to factory default and delete/wipe davlink and cache

#3 hjf288

hjf288

    Korean Crazy Man!

  • Joined: 19-April 03
  • Location: United Kingdom

Posted 16 October 2011 - 12:40

upgrade to latest firmware? im on 2.3.5 xxki3

#4 Roger H.

Roger H.

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 20
  • Joined: 18-August 01
  • Location: Germany
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Nexus 5

Posted 16 October 2011 - 12:41

No updates available? 2.3.4 should be out for everyone by now. 2.3.5 is out for some countires as well.

never had that keyboard issue myself however.

#5 OP vetcashman

cashman

    Let Love Be The Healer

  • Joined: 03-April 04
  • Location: Uk, Luton

Posted 16 October 2011 - 12:48

Tried to update Settings>About Phone>Software Update

Press it and nothing happens?

#6 hjf288

hjf288

    Korean Crazy Man!

  • Joined: 19-April 03
  • Location: United Kingdom

Posted 16 October 2011 - 14:41

do it through kies or look on xda developers on how to use odin to update

#7 OP vetcashman

cashman

    Let Love Be The Healer

  • Joined: 03-April 04
  • Location: Uk, Luton

Posted 17 October 2011 - 22:53

I think I have sorted the problem. GPS Family Tracker app seemed to be messing around with everything. Don't know why. Once uninstalled everything worked again. It had been blocking my signal too, so I missed an important call. Cheers for everyone's help.



Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!