Jump to content



Photo

News commenting


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 ]SK[

]SK[

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 12-October 04
  • Location: Nottingham, UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Nexus 5

Posted 15 November 2011 - 19:16

I assume this is a me only issue since nobody has reported it and its been an issue since the recent upgrade.

When I click Add Comment to post my comment on a news article the screen sort of moves slightly but nothing happens. If I click it again the page loads with Ajax with the loading square box that appears on the top right eventually showing my comment. If I refresh the page I see my comment appearing twice. As a test I clicked once then refreshed the page. My comment wasn't there.

This is happening to all my computers on Chrome but I do sync Chrome across them all so maybe I am syncing this bug on all machines.

Am I alone on this?


#2 +BeerFan

BeerFan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 19-July 06

Posted 16 November 2011 - 11:48

Nope, not alone. I just tested from both Firefox and Chrome. It worked normally in FF but in Chrome, like you, I had to click Add Comment twice before the comment would show up. My Chrome build # is 15.0.874.120 m.

#3 Steven P.

Steven P.

    aka Neobond

  • Tech Issues Solved: 60
  • Joined: 09-July 01
  • Location: Neowin HQ

Posted 16 November 2011 - 11:58

Hmm never had this, the page moves up slightly because thats where the comment is supposed to appear.

I use Firefox 9 beta and haven't had this issue on 7 or 8 either?

Edit: Are you on a Chrome dev version?

#4 Muhammad Farrukh

Muhammad Farrukh

    The End is Nigh

  • Joined: 15-August 11

Posted 16 November 2011 - 12:02

Happens to me.
When I click Add comment nothing happens.
I have to click it multiple times which sometimes result in mulltiple comments.
Chrome 16.0.912.41

#5 +BeerFan

BeerFan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 19-July 06

Posted 16 November 2011 - 12:05

Just tested by changing my theme from Darkside to the default. I only had to click once, and the comment appeared.

#6 OP ]SK[

]SK[

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 12-October 04
  • Location: Nottingham, UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Nexus 5

Posted 17 November 2011 - 09:05

15.0.874.106

Could be a plugin I guess. I just posted now and it went though first time which is odd. I'll keep an eye on it and report back. I'll try killing various extensions, although I only use 6.

#7 OP ]SK[

]SK[

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 12-October 04
  • Location: Nottingham, UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Nexus 5

Posted 17 November 2011 - 12:04

Forgot to disable addons. Certainly though I just reproduced it again. I find though if I wait about 5 seconds and click the second time it won't create the duplicated post.



Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!