Jump to content



Photo

RAMdisk ?


  • Please log in to reply
24 replies to this topic

#1 TEX4S

TEX4S

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 06-October 04
  • Location: DFW

Posted 20 November 2011 - 07:40

I was thinking about doing something with the RAM I have.

I have 24GB and never use more than 6 or so - and thats with giving 4gb to a VM. Most of the time I just use my desktop for internet and a little gaming.

Is a RAMdisk still something worthwhile ?

With an SSD, is it even necessary ? Everything is near instantaneous already - maybe use it just to install a game on it or something...

I will be building a new system once x79 chipset is out in abundance - but until then I would just like to use some of this RAM for something. With it being so cheap I upgraded from 12GB and now - it just sits there - waiting, calling, taunting me.

I dont really want to spend more money on this computer as it is nearly 2 years old and I will be building a 3960E system after some x79 mobos are out.


#2 +Phouchg

Phouchg

    Resident Misanthrope

  • Tech Issues Solved: 9
  • Joined: 28-March 11
  • Location: Neowin Detainment Camp

Posted 20 November 2011 - 12:21

RAMdisk is still way faster than any SSD. However, the problem with using it is you'd probably want stuff to be read from and written back to a persistent storage when power-cycling the computer (Sleep is ok, anything more is not, even Hibernate). So, unless you don't ever power-cycle, RAMdisk is mainly good only for various temporary files, not installations or other data that needs to be preserved.

#3 OP TEX4S

TEX4S

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 06-October 04
  • Location: DFW

Posted 20 November 2011 - 12:25

I have taken that into consideration - its the speed factor I am not sure about. I know RAM is hella faster than any SSD - but my computer is already crazy fast.

Since it will lose data upon a reboot - a game is out of the question. I dunno - maybe this is not the best idea. I have considered giving 12GB away to a friend - but not if I can find a viable use for it.

I rarely run VM & dont know anything about media editing - so meh

Thanks for your reply.

#4 cork1958

cork1958

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 04-October 02

Posted 20 November 2011 - 12:49

So, why did you add all that memory to begin with? Anybody knows that for what you say you do, that is totally absurd!

Wait, I know why. Because you're one of these people that does stuff just because, huh?

Computer is a WHOLE 2 years old!! Man, junk that POS!!

You have more memory in that 1 computer than I have in 9 here, not to mention my newest one is 4 years old!

Give the memory to some one who might know how to use it, or can to use it, and then go waste some more money on another computer.

I could only wish I was in your predicament!!

#5 Vice

Vice

    Bye!

  • Joined: 03-September 04

Posted 20 November 2011 - 12:52

So, why did you add all that memory to begin with? Anybody knows that for what you say you do, that is totally absurd!

Wait, I know why. Because you're one of these people that does stuff just because, huh?

Computer is a WHOLE 2 years old!! Man, junk that POS!!

You have more memory in that 1 computer than I have in 9 here, not to mention my newest one is 4 years old!

Give the memory to some one who might know how to use it, or can to use it, and then go waste some more money on another computer.

I could only wish I was in your predicament!!


RAM is cheap right now. That's probably why he has so much.

#6 REM2000

REM2000

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 20-July 04
  • Location: UK

Posted 20 November 2011 - 13:14

thats not really much you can do with that memory, either run more VM's or take it out and distribute it to friends and other machines.

I wouldn't bother with a ram disk, by the time you load everything into the RAM disk from a SSD or HDD you really negate any speed increases with it plus you have the data being lost in the event of a power cut.

#7 OP TEX4S

TEX4S

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 06-October 04
  • Location: DFW

Posted 20 November 2011 - 13:30

So, why did you add all that memory to begin with? Anybody knows that for what you say you do, that is totally absurd!

Wait, I know why. Because you're one of these people that does stuff just because, huh?

Computer is a WHOLE 2 years old!! Man, junk that POS!!

You have more memory in that 1 computer than I have in 9 here, not to mention my newest one is 4 years old!

Give the memory to some one who might know how to use it, or can to use it, and then go waste some more money on another computer.

I could only wish I was in your predicament!!


Wow - wasnt expecting that kind of response - well Vice is right - RAM is dirt cheap - 12GB Hyper-X T1 for $100 ! Why not ?
If you have 9 computers - newest one is 4 years old ?? are you a hoarder ? one of those people on that Lifetime show ? Please tell me you are only 16 and cant get a good job.....

I guess you dont want to hear my ThinkPad has 8GB RAM and its just used for browsing web & email -- oh I have mint on a VM -
... you probably didnt want to hear that, huh ? :devil:




RAM is cheap right now. That's probably why he has so much.


Exactly

thats not really much you can do with that memory, either run more VM's or take it out and distribute it to friends and other machines.

I wouldn't bother with a ram disk, by the time you load everything into the RAM disk from a SSD or HDD you really negate any speed increases with it plus you have the data being lost in the event of a power cut.


This was exactly the post I was looking for - thank you. You just made my decision for me

There are 2 people who could use 6GB each - thanks !

#8 primexx

primexx

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 6
  • Joined: 24-April 05

Posted 20 November 2011 - 20:28

Sorry to say but cork is right. Why the hell did you buy that extra 12GB if you didn't even use your existing 12? Sure, it's cheap, but you couldn't have thought of ANYTHING better to spend $100 on than RAM that you don't need? Are your parents so rich that $100 doesn't seem like money to you? If anything it sounds like you're the spoiled 16 year old and cork is the sensible adult who actually knows how to manage his finances. Anyways, it's good to see that you're giving 6gb to two people. I would have recommended the same thing as that's the most useful way of disposing of the RAM.

#9 lalalawawawa

lalalawawawa

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 20-June 08

Posted 20 November 2011 - 20:49

^ what the ****? Guy asks for some advice and you criticize him for buying it in the first place?

Are you jealous?

#10 DDStriker

DDStriker

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 01-August 05

Posted 20 November 2011 - 22:24

Ignore the people here on this TECH site talking crap about having 24gb of memory it's a fine amount to have as for a ramdisk you will still see benefits from it perhaps look at SuperCache it will act as a layer between your ssd and application you could have it retain the last 16gb of accessed data in memory for quick retrieval and potentially less wear on your drive

not a free app unfortunately but there might be some free alternatives

#11 OP TEX4S

TEX4S

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 06-October 04
  • Location: DFW

Posted 21 November 2011 - 00:08

Sorry to say but cork is right. Why the hell did you buy that extra 12GB if you didn't even use your existing 12? Sure, it's cheap, but you couldn't have thought of ANYTHING better to spend $100 on than RAM that you don't need? Are your parents so rich that $100 doesn't seem like money to you? If anything it sounds like you're the spoiled 16 year old and cork is the sensible adult who actually knows how to manage his finances. Anyways, it's good to see that you're giving 6gb to two people. I would have recommended the same thing as that's the most useful way of disposing of the RAM.

^ what the ****? Guy asks for some advice and you criticize him for buying it in the first place?

Are you jealous?

I know, right ? jeez LOL

Ignore the people here on this TECH site talking crap about having 24gb of memory it's a fine amount to have as for a ramdisk you will still see benefits from it perhaps look at SuperCache it will act as a layer between your ssd and application you could have it retain the last 16gb of accessed data in memory for quick retrieval and potentially less wear on your drive

not a free app unfortunately but there might be some free alternatives


Thx Striker

______________

a.) rich parents
b.) spoiled 16 year old with no concept of money
d.) none of the above

Interesting you didnt think of the most logical explanation - ever think that someone might have a great job ? One they work hard at - and make decent money ?? that never crossed your minds ? weird.

As for rich parents - unfortunately that is very true - and I split ways with my family because I wanted to work in IT & not in "the family company" - so I have happily worked for what I have - I wanted no gifts if it meant I had to do what I was told. Why unfortunately ? because it caused a split between myself and my parents & I didnt speak to my father for 5 years.... so yeah.

But thanks for asking

primexx - I didnt have to go without anything when buying the RAM - it wasnt a either/or thing. Would you slight someone for buying a candybar when they absolutely didnt need it ? nope - so why take such a stance on this ?

Its all relative, ladies

#12 +chconline

chconline

    I review, not promote.

  • Joined: 20-August 04
  • Location: Calgary, AB, Canada

Posted 21 November 2011 - 04:50

I guess you dont want to hear my ThinkPad has 8GB RAM and its just used for browsing web & email -- oh I have mint on a VM -
... you probably didnt want to hear that, huh ? :devil:


Have I ever told you I have a Thinkpad T420 that I use for the same purpose with 8GB of... Kingston HyperX DDR3-1600 SODIMMs? Yes, with the fancy heatspreaders and everything :p (Oh yeah, it also has an OCZ Agility 3 240GB as the primary drive... just sayin'.)

#13 OP TEX4S

TEX4S

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 06-October 04
  • Location: DFW

Posted 21 November 2011 - 05:48

oooooo - 240GB - that is nice.

I have a Patriot Inferno 120GB - only using half - but I would like the freedom of all of that -

I knew you had a new ThinkPad T-series - ;( my Corsair doesnt have heatspreaders :cry: - I just got pwned :blush:

#14 DDStriker

DDStriker

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 01-August 05

Posted 21 November 2011 - 07:54

Have to love this community generally the answer to everything is "ram is cheap" "you can never have too much ram" that's the kind of advice people give here until someone actually listens and buys a decent amount of ram

texas assuming you are using windows 7 I would imagine it's superfetch should be able to utilize a lot of that ram?

#15 Laslow

Laslow

    ...

  • Joined: 25-October 03

Posted 21 November 2011 - 08:28

Just leave it in. You can part it out in your next build, or if you leave it intact it will add years to it's useful lifespan. A lot of older computers are still usable because they've got maxed out RAM.