Jump to content



Photo

Neowin Mobile updated


  • Please log in to reply
83 replies to this topic

#61 +Matthew S.

Matthew S.

    Your worst nightmare

  • 2,981 posts
  • Joined: 15-December 05
  • Location: Georgetown, ON
  • OS: Windows 8.1 / Mac OS X 10.10.x iOS 8
  • Phone: iPhone 4S

Posted 03 December 2011 - 08:03

I wished opening a topic would go to the latest post instead of the first post...

thats an issue on the desktop version too


#62 Timan

Timan

    Fade Away...

  • 9,876 posts
  • Joined: 21-October 01
  • Location: Virginia, USA

Posted 03 December 2011 - 08:16

AWESOME! :D
Thank you so much!

Touchpad owners, add neowin to the launcher using this: (Link to image)
Posted Image

Result:
Posted Image


It should use http://www.neowin.ne...mobile/icon.png

#63 -=Outlaw=-

-=Outlaw=-

    Neowinian

  • 516 posts
  • Joined: 30-August 06
  • Location: 515

Posted 03 December 2011 - 08:20

Why do I have to press the back button twice in order to go back out of the article into the frontpage? Also on every article on the bottom after the footer (looks like its in a frame) i get "We're having trouble finding that page." Error: HTTP 400 Bad request.". Same thing happened in the previous version. I'm on HD7 Mango...also when I press back once the "Error: HTTP 400" disappears.

#64 Timan

Timan

    Fade Away...

  • 9,876 posts
  • Joined: 21-October 01
  • Location: Virginia, USA

Posted 03 December 2011 - 08:27

Why do I have to press the back button twice in order to go back out of the article into the frontpage? Also on every article on the bottom after the footer (looks like its in a frame) i get "We're having trouble finding that page." Error: HTTP 400 Bad request.". Same thing happened in the previous version. I'm on HD7 Mango...also when I press back once the "Error: HTTP 400" disappears.


As stated in the other thread, its IE issue.

#65 Auroka

Auroka

    Neowinian

  • 413 posts
  • Joined: 17-August 10
  • OS: Windows 8

Posted 03 December 2011 - 08:40

It should use http://www.neowin.ne...mobile/icon.png


That isn't the right Touchpad launcher dimension. It's 90x120.
I know it's weird, look:
Posted Image
Normally when adding something to the launcher it just takes a crappy corner shot of the page.
Square images are all screwed up, they have to be re-sized to 90x120.

Also, here is the Touchpad friendly version of the icon you just posted. (Link to image)
Posted Image


Not getting that when I pin to the start screen, also can't find any documentation on that.


Are you pinning google.com or the link that pops up on screen?
I don't think there is documentation for it. All WP7 does is take a picture of the page.

#66 fobban

fobban

    Neowinian

  • 423 posts
  • Joined: 15-September 03

Posted 03 December 2011 - 09:48

I don't like the mobile first page. It would be MUCH better if the topic titles wrapped instead that you only see the first words followed by ...

As it is now you kind of have to put the phone in landscape mode to see the titles, which sucks.

#67 Timan

Timan

    Fade Away...

  • 9,876 posts
  • Joined: 21-October 01
  • Location: Virginia, USA

Posted 03 December 2011 - 09:55

I don't like the mobile first page. It would be MUCH better if the topic titles wrapped instead that you only see the first words followed by ...

As it is now you kind of have to put the phone in landscape mode to see the titles, which sucks.


Has always been this, and won't change. I'll just say its metro so I can get away with having text cut off :p

#68 david

david

    Android Aficionado

  • 4,763 posts
  • Joined: 10-June 02
  • Location: Dallas Texas
  • OS: Windows 8.1; Android 4.4.4; Android L; Chrome OS
  • Phone: Nexus 5 // Mahdi // Code_Blue

Posted 03 December 2011 - 14:35

Wow, I'm loving it.

#69 Ently

Ently

    Neowinian Senior

  • 1,831 posts
  • Joined: 29-December 05
  • Location: Austria
  • OS: Windows, Android, Space, Time

Posted 03 December 2011 - 14:42

Looks awesome and very responsive too! Samsung Galaxy S2 here.

#70 bgjerlow

bgjerlow

    Neowinian

  • 324 posts
  • Joined: 30-July 11
  • Location: Denmark
  • OS: Windows 7
  • Phone: Samsung ATIV S

Posted 03 December 2011 - 14:49

Looks really awesome! Will definitely start browsing Neowin more when on my iPhone.

#71 Sionic Ion

Sionic Ion

    It is upon us

  • 685 posts
  • Joined: 13-July 06
  • Location: USA

Posted 03 December 2011 - 18:56

Pushed another update, fixed webos bugs (news images will be better quality when on a tablet). REMOVED view image link, since we're only supporting modern phones now.


Thank you! :D

#72 tiagosilva29

tiagosilva29

    Looking for a job in Lisbon

  • 12,215 posts
  • Joined: 08-May 04

Posted 03 December 2011 - 19:14

It doesn't look good in my (bada) device, both in landscape/portrait mode.

Picture bump.

#73 Denis W.

Denis W.

    The True North!

  • 16,362 posts
  • Joined: 06-March 05
  • Location: Toronto, Ontario [CA]
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro and OS X Mavericks
  • Phone: iPhone 4S

Posted 03 December 2011 - 19:18

Has always been this, and won't change. I'll just say its metro so I can get away with having text cut off :p


Technically, the Metro text cut off has no ellipsis ;)

#74 neo158

neo158

    Neowinian Senior

  • 3,752 posts
  • Joined: 18-July 02
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Professional x64; Windows RT 8.1
  • Phone: Samsung ATIV S i8750

Posted 03 December 2011 - 19:26

Looks good on my HD7. Well done guys, keep up the good work. Nice to see the pictures in the news story now as well instead of in a row at the bottom. Only minor issue I've seen is that ads just say we're having trouble finding this page, not that I'm worried about them though, I assume this can be attributed to a lack of Flash support?

It would be interesting if you could allow for swiping through the news stories at the top of the main page and maybe make it static in portrait view.

#75 +Seahorsepip

Seahorsepip

    http://seapip.com

  • 1,600 posts
  • Joined: 23-January 11
  • Location: Netherlands
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro
  • Phone: Nexus 5

Posted 03 December 2011 - 19:29

somehow the #branding div has weird unnessary box-shadow around it on my mozilla nightly 11.0 and the header div height is nto working correctly on desktop browsers too...

Has always been this, and won't change. I'll just say its metro so I can get away with having text cut off :p

just make the titles rotate with js which works fine on any mobile browser and is a 10sec job :/