Jump to content



Photo

  • Please log in to reply
20 replies to this topic

#16 firey

firey

    F͎̗͉͎͈͑͡ȉ͎̣̐́ṙ͖̺͕͙̓̌è̤̞͉̟̲͇̍̍̾̓ͥͅy͓̍̎̌̏̒

  • 7,995 posts
  • Joined: 30-October 05
  • Location: Ontario, Canada
  • OS: Windows 7
  • Phone: Android (4.1.2)

Posted 01 March 2012 - 21:50

I'm not at home right now, you could always download reflector, open up the program with that and look for something that seems to be outgoing?


#17 Tom

Tom

    Neowinian Senior

  • 3,276 posts
  • Joined: 06-October 09
  • Location: Germany
  • OS: Windows 7

Posted 12 March 2012 - 20:42

In my case the serial was so scratched up I couldn't read it.


FYI if you type *#06# into the keypad on mostly every smartphone it brings up the IMEI. Of course that's assuming you can get access to the keypad.

#18 Hell-In-A-Handbasket

Hell-In-A-Handbasket

    Neowinian Senior

  • 6,323 posts
  • Joined: 30-September 03
  • OS: Win 8.1 Pro, iOS7, OSX 10.7, Ubuntu/WinXP system Died the Good Death

Posted 12 March 2012 - 21:04

could also just look on the back of the device (as nominak said )
*Edit - nvm, think thats the model number

#19 Ambroos

Ambroos

    Neowinian Senior

  • 6,095 posts
  • Joined: 16-January 06
  • Location: Belgium
  • OS: Windows 7 + 8.1
  • Phone: Sony Xperia Z2

Posted 12 March 2012 - 21:13

Guys guys, read. Title.

"... of a dead iOS device when all else fails"

Nice tip though.

#20 circ

circ

    Neowinian

  • 2 posts
  • Joined: 12-June 04

Posted 12 March 2012 - 21:15

Reason why it connects to the web is that it gets the doctype from the XML and tries to load it from "http://www.apple.com...rtyList-1.0.dtd" which is why you are seeing an Akamai IP pop when running it.

#21 +LogicalApex

LogicalApex

    Software Engineer

  • 6,226 posts
  • Joined: 14-August 02
  • Location: Philadelphia, PA
  • OS: Windows 7 Ultimate x64
  • Phone: Nexus 5

Posted 12 March 2012 - 21:17

It doesn't.. the code is right there, feel free to look at it, you will see there is no network code at all.


I didn't check the compiled exe, but I did browse the source and I didn't see anything making a network connection in there. The code is non-malicious.