bittorrent limited to 20% download speed

Question

Hey so I am playing on my new 100mbps connection and am downloading the largest, fastest file i could find that was legal. openSUSE dvd image. http://software.opensuse.org/121/en

Problem is, the download speed is only about 20-25% of my maximum potential. the file starts downloading at 10MB/S and then the speed drops to 1.2-2.8 MB/s... I don't get it. why would this happen? I have ran tests and know that my isp isn't limiting bittorrent activity. If i use the direct download link, i get 8MB/s...

is there a setting with utorrent? I am no expert with torrents and everything is set to whatever defaults the setup guide chooses for me.

i shoudl mention that there isn't much uploading going on and there is nothing else using the network.

16 answers to this question

Most ISPs now have traffic shaping (and they will never tell u they do that), and mostly that is the case with you :)

there is an encryption option (in your torrent application settings) so ur ISP wont detect that ur downloading torrent, give that a try.

Also try Half-Open Outbound TCP Connections, I know vista is only 10 connections (not sure about W7)

Edit: Half-open port limitation is removed with windows vista SP2, (so mostly it wont be there in W7).

My speed visualware returns the same results as speedtest.net. I tried downloading the ubuntu torrent from their website but the file is too small to show results. It starts out strong at 10MB/s and drops to 5MB/s but not all the way down because it finishes within seconds.