Jump to content



Photo

GTA4 on Windows7 x64 (iMac '11 27" maxed out (w/o SSD)) - Settings?

gta iv windows 7 settings optimal imac

  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 Glassed Silver

Glassed Silver

    ☆♡Neowin's portion of Crazy♡☆

  • Joined: 10-June 04
  • Location: MY CATFORT in Kassel, Germany
  • OS: OS X ML; W7; Elementary; Android 4
  • Phone: iPhone 5 64GB Black (6.0.2)

Posted 19 December 2011 - 04:43

Heya guys,

so I wanted to know what you guys with maxed out iMacs use?
I get some lagging, not the wildly common steering related one, but actually, my gameplay is quite some, just that sometimes (every 2 secs or so) when I'm in a moving car the camera seems to be stuck a second and bounce back.
Not sure how to describe it...

So, my specs are as follows:
  • iMac 2011 (mid) 27"
  • 3.4GHz i7
  • 16GB RAM (mutlichannel)
  • 6970M 2GB VRAM
  • 1TB WD drive
  • Windows 7 SP1 x64
  • GTA IV version 1.0.7 (correct?) (bought from Steam)
  • Commandline.txt:

    -norestriction

    -nomemrestrict

    -availablevidmem 1

    -percentvidmem 100

So, what do you guys use in the settings?
Will mods/3rd party patches help?
Commandline.txt?
etc...

Thank you! :)


PS: Yes, I tried googling/Youtube searching/forum searching, but I never seem to find people with my setup or the threads on other forums just stay stuck at "I got the same problem yaaddah yaddah..." :/

Glassed Silver:mac


#2 OP Glassed Silver

Glassed Silver

    ☆♡Neowin's portion of Crazy♡☆

  • Joined: 10-June 04
  • Location: MY CATFORT in Kassel, Germany
  • OS: OS X ML; W7; Elementary; Android 4
  • Phone: iPhone 5 64GB Black (6.0.2)

Posted 26 December 2011 - 01:36

#bump

Glassed Silver:mac

#3 CaptainChips

CaptainChips

    Resident One Post Wonder

  • Joined: 02-January 12

Posted 02 January 2012 - 18:20

Have you had any luck? I've got the same issue I think. Gameplay is actually pretty smooth but weird slow/start effect I can only describe as spongy. Weird.

#4 Knive Party

Knive Party

    To Death

  • Joined: 25-June 07
  • OS: Windows 8.1 update 3
  • Phone: Galaxy S2 CM

Posted 02 January 2012 - 19:54

my guess would be bad drivers, little optimization for the osx minority sadly.

#5 +Heartripper

Heartripper

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 10-December 09
  • Location: Italy
  • OS: Windows 8.1 / OSX 10.10
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 925

Posted 02 January 2012 - 20:04

with my rig i play gta VI maxed out with no lag. I see you have a better GPU so you should have no lag at all :/

#6 kagaku

kagaku

    are you connected?

  • Joined: 08-January 02

Posted 03 January 2012 - 14:33

Have you tried the latest Catalyst mobility drivers? Not the ones provided with Bootcamp, but directly from AMD?

#7 RATiO

RATiO

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 25-February 06
  • Location: England, UK
  • OS: Windows 7/8, Android

Posted 03 January 2012 - 14:43

Try the ENB graphics patch, it actually increases performance and looks better - win win.

I had the original GTA 4 which was not well optimised for PC, I then got EFLC and boy, what a difference that was, much smoother.

Note I'm on PC, not sure how the MAC fairs.