Jump to content



Photo

Visual C++

visual windows redistributable c++ installation

  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 oMikR0n

oMikR0n

    Picture Me Rollin'

  • Joined: 03-October 03
  • Location: Trikala, Greece
  • OS: Windows 7

Posted 26 December 2011 - 00:59

Do i have to keep all those versions installed in my box?

Posted Image


#2 htcz

htcz

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 22-July 11

Posted 26 December 2011 - 01:03

Do i have to keep all those versions installed in my box?

Posted Image

If you mean 2008 AND 2010, yes you do.

#3 OP oMikR0n

oMikR0n

    Picture Me Rollin'

  • Joined: 03-October 03
  • Location: Trikala, Greece
  • OS: Windows 7

Posted 26 December 2011 - 01:06

If you mean 2008 AND 2010, yes you do.

Really? :o And what about all those different versions of each one?
2010 one its bigger in size than the 2008 one, so i though that maybe its included!

#4 ITOps

ITOps

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 25-July 11

Posted 26 December 2011 - 02:01

Yes, you need to keep them installed as for every program that utilizes Visual C++ needs to have it's specific redistributable installed. Without the correct redistributable installed the applications that require it will not run.

#5 InactiveUser12345

InactiveUser12345

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 26-December 11

Posted 26 December 2011 - 14:03

ITOps is right.

And what about all those different versions of each one?
2010 one its bigger in size than the 2008 one, so i though that maybe its included!

The different versions are for compatibility. Microsoft has released several security updates and hotfixes for each one of Visual C++ versions. Not all companies relying on Visual C++ libraries for their applications update their code with each new Visual C++ hotfix. This is also because of genuine reasons. For example, see this http://forum.avast.c...php?topic=76686 case where Avast! did not update their components to the latest security release for all (almost) Microsoft Visual C++ versions because it broke Windows 2000 compatibility.
This is just LIKE you have many versions of same DLL library in the %systemroot%/WinSxS folder. That is also for compatibility.

For your second question - no it does not. Just like Microsoft .NET Framework 4 does not include/require Microsoft .NET Framework 3.5. .NET Framework 3.5 and 3.0 were exceptions which required .NET Framework 2.0 because .NET 3.0 and 3.5 were basically expansions to .NET Framework 2.0.

#6 OP oMikR0n

oMikR0n

    Picture Me Rollin'

  • Joined: 03-October 03
  • Location: Trikala, Greece
  • OS: Windows 7

Posted 27 December 2011 - 13:56

Thanks a lot Swapnil99pro!