Jump to content



Photo

New build for photoshop and audio production. Advice please.

photoshop daw audio visual

  • Please log in to reply
27 replies to this topic

#1 Inzajeano

Inzajeano

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 07-January 12
  • Location: London
  • OS: Windows 7 64bit

Posted 07 January 2012 - 20:07

Greetings to one and all.
I would appreciate your
advice on a new build.

I have a 1800£ budget.
The system is primarily for photoshop usage. Working on big scanned negative files of about 350mb size without layers. Also for pro audio production.
I'd like a system that has at let.st 32gb of Ram.
I'm pretty open on anything else.

Look forward to hearing from you.

Attached Images

  • Female_boxer_No3_by_Inzajeano_Latif.jpg



#2 HyBry

HyBry

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 25-April 06
  • Location: around somewhere

Posted 07 January 2012 - 20:26

Welcome to Neowin!

I am sure someone with more time will spec you a build, but just a few questions.
Does the budget include monitor?
How do you feel about overclocking. Is that something that you will do/ might consider/ won't do it?

#3 OP Inzajeano

Inzajeano

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 07-January 12
  • Location: London
  • OS: Windows 7 64bit

Posted 07 January 2012 - 20:31

Welcome to Neowin!

I am sure someone with more time will spec you a build, but just a few questions.
Does the budget include monitor?
How do you feel about overclocking. Is that something that you will do/ might consider/ won't do it?


Greetings. Budget does not include a monitor. Yes I am keen on overclocking :)

#4 +Seahorsepip

Seahorsepip

    http://seapip.com

  • Tech Issues Solved: 20
  • Joined: 23-January 11
  • Location: Netherlands
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro
  • Phone: Nexus 5

Posted 07 January 2012 - 20:32

Keep in mind that 32gb is usseless in most cases and VERY expensive

#5 OP Inzajeano

Inzajeano

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 07-January 12
  • Location: London
  • OS: Windows 7 64bit

Posted 07 January 2012 - 20:42

Keep in mind that 32gb is usseless in most cases and VERY expensive


The software I'll be using us all 64bit hence 32gb. Would this not be useful when working with huge files?

#6 +Seahorsepip

Seahorsepip

    http://seapip.com

  • Tech Issues Solved: 20
  • Joined: 23-January 11
  • Location: Netherlands
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro
  • Phone: Nexus 5

Posted 07 January 2012 - 20:46

Can't say anything else then **** about this pc in positive way :D

http://www.ebay.com/...em=160712343845

Above build I chose for ya includes:
-Cooler Master Elite 310 (Mid Tower)
-3 x 120mm Blue LED Cooler Master Sickleflow High Performance Fans>eyecandy
-12" Blue Cold Cathode Neon Lighting->eyecandy
-[FREE] Overclock Processor up to 10%
-Level 2 Iron Tundra Liquid Cooling (UV blue colored)
-ASUS P8Z68-V LX [VGA DVI HDMI] SATA 6Gb/s USB3 {4 DDR3 Slots}
-16GB (4x4GB) DDR3 1333MHz
-Nvidia Geforce GTX 560 Ti 1GB (Min. 600 Watt Power Supply)
-Standard 600 Watt, more isn't really needed if you don't add anything else
-1TB 7200 RPM
-Fan-Less Aluminum Silent Hard Drive Cooler with Heatpipes
-NZX Sentry 2 Touch Screen Fan Controller & Temperature Display->TOYS :D
-Internal Wireless N 300Mbps->was forgotten at first :p
-ASUS Xonar DX 7.1->Sound is important in your case
-Life-time U.S. based technical support and customer service by our own in-house technicians
-Standard 3 Years Parts and Labor

And best part of it is: you don't have to build it, some kind of chinese will do it for ya ^^
You can also add custom body paintings if ya like ;)

The software I'll be using us all 64bit hence 32gb. Would this not be useful when working with huge files?

It won't, I've been using extreme pc's with 32gb memory and haven't been able to get past 13/14gb(took me quite some work to get even close to that)

#7 OP Inzajeano

Inzajeano

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 07-January 12
  • Location: London
  • OS: Windows 7 64bit

Posted 07 January 2012 - 20:50

@Seahorse, I'm all about a ssd drive for OS. Is the cpu on this system 4 or 6 cores?

#8 +imachip

imachip

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 22-June 04
  • Location: England

Posted 07 January 2012 - 20:51

The software I'll be using us all 64bit hence 32gb. Would this not be useful when working with huge files?


I totally agree with you, large files can even push 32gb especially in Photoshop. I would also recommend an Nvidia GPU as they support CUDA acceleration.

I recommend an Intel Quad Core CPU. Fastest one you can afford (K variety for overclocking). An i7 would be best if budget allows.

#9 +Seahorsepip

Seahorsepip

    http://seapip.com

  • Tech Issues Solved: 20
  • Joined: 23-January 11
  • Location: Netherlands
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro
  • Phone: Nexus 5

Posted 07 January 2012 - 20:55

@Seahorse, I'm all about a ssd drive for OS. Is the cpu on this system 4 or 6 cores?

i7 2700 is 4 core
edit: my mistake...

#10 OP Inzajeano

Inzajeano

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 07-January 12
  • Location: London
  • OS: Windows 7 64bit

Posted 07 January 2012 - 20:55

I totally agree with you, large files can even push 32gb especially in Photoshop. I would also recommend an Nvidia GPU as they support CUDA acceleration.

I recommend an Intel Quad Core CPU. Fastest one you can afford (K variety for overclocking). An i7 would be best if budget allows.


I'm all about the six core i7. I'm looking for a good ssd drive, possibly around 240gb. Water Cooling is an option as I'm keen to o/c!

#11 +Seahorsepip

Seahorsepip

    http://seapip.com

  • Tech Issues Solved: 20
  • Joined: 23-January 11
  • Location: Netherlands
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro
  • Phone: Nexus 5

Posted 07 January 2012 - 20:58

I totally agree with you, large files can even push 32gb especially in Photoshop. I would also recommend an Nvidia GPU as they support CUDA acceleration.

I recommend an Intel Quad Core CPU. Fastest one you can afford (K variety for overclocking). An i7 would be best if budget allows.

If you got a nvidia videocard(I chose the best in above build) photoshop will use 90% of the time cuda and won't pass even 12gb...

#12 OP Inzajeano

Inzajeano

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 07-January 12
  • Location: London
  • OS: Windows 7 64bit

Posted 07 January 2012 - 21:01

If you got a nvidia videocard(I chose the best in above build) photoshop will use 90% of the time cuda and won't pass even 12gb...


What model are we talking about Seahorse?

#13 +Seahorsepip

Seahorsepip

    http://seapip.com

  • Tech Issues Solved: 20
  • Joined: 23-January 11
  • Location: Netherlands
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro
  • Phone: Nexus 5

Posted 07 January 2012 - 21:02

I'm all about the six core i7. I'm looking for a good ssd drive, possibly around 240gb. Water Cooling is an option as I'm keen to o/c!

ssd of such size is very expensive, same build as before but with ssd: http://www.ebay.com/...em=150732957551
as you see it pushed the prize with nearly 300 usd O.o

#14 +Seahorsepip

Seahorsepip

    http://seapip.com

  • Tech Issues Solved: 20
  • Joined: 23-January 11
  • Location: Netherlands
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro
  • Phone: Nexus 5

Posted 07 January 2012 - 21:08

http://ironsidecompu...&products_id=40

try building a pc over there, they got hexacore and stuff you want :p

#15 OP Inzajeano

Inzajeano

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 07-January 12
  • Location: London
  • OS: Windows 7 64bit

Posted 07 January 2012 - 21:12

Thanks for your help Seahorsepip :)