Jump to content



Photo

Virgin Media to double the speed of customer broadband

uk virgin media bigger tubes

  • Please log in to reply
51 replies to this topic

#31 AbandonedTrolley

AbandonedTrolley

    Dexter Freak

  • 5,301 posts
  • Joined: 16-May 05
  • Location: Essex
  • OS: Linux, Android, Windows 7

Posted 11 January 2012 - 11:57

Gutted that I can't get cable in my area, I will be gettign Infinity in March though so that will cheer me up a bit. Certainly more than my 6meg currently. Girlfriend has just signed up with Virgin on their 30meg speed so nice little boost for her.


#32 monkey13

monkey13

    Neowinian

  • 1,481 posts
  • Joined: 05-October 03

Posted 11 January 2012 - 12:14

most of their customers yes, but those that have Fibre to the premesis can get 100mb bt infinity, much faster than the 40mb they currently offer which will be doubled to 80mb soon. The 100mb will be upgraded to 300mb this year btw.


So there is one specialist all fibre product. Doesn't change the fact that VM is a fibre network. Maybe this will help.

If you have a USB WiFi dongle connected through a usb lead to a PC. What kind of network are you on? According to you wired usb,

VM has a fibre optic network that is coax on the customer side of the cabinet. Network is still fibre optic though.

Also Vm is also piloting at 400Mb and 800Mb

#33 Inklin

Inklin

    Neowinian Senior

  • 1,679 posts
  • Joined: 11-April 08
  • Location: Kent, UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro

Posted 11 January 2012 - 12:20

I have 30Mb so 60Mb will be awesome! though I think it would work out cheaper for us to drop the phone and go one further to 100 or 120Mb as we don't use the phone at all.

#34 monkey13

monkey13

    Neowinian

  • 1,481 posts
  • Joined: 05-October 03

Posted 11 January 2012 - 12:25

I have 30Mb so 60Mb will be awesome! though I think it would work out cheaper for us to drop the phone and go one further to 100 or 120Mb as we don't use the phone at all.


That is the big con. They charge you more for the broadband if you don't take the phone. I think it is £10 more if you don't take the phone or take the phone at £13. Most people see this as £3 a month for a phone so don't bother.

#35 torrentthief

torrentthief

    Neowinian Senior

  • 3,745 posts
  • Joined: 18-November 06

Posted 11 January 2012 - 12:45

So there is one specialist all fibre product. Doesn't change the fact that VM is a fibre network. Maybe this will help.

If you have a USB WiFi dongle connected through a usb lead to a PC. What kind of network are you on? According to you wired usb,

VM has a fibre optic network that is coax on the customer side of the cabinet. Network is still fibre optic though.

Also Vm is also piloting at 400Mb and 800Mb


other companies sell the 100mb fibre too btw, bt don't have an exclusive on the exchanges that have been upgraded to fibre.

fibre doesn't really need to be laid though as haewei (or similar name) has recently trialed 1.5gbps over phone lines, if that is true then everyone in britain could have gigabit in the future without having to spend billions digging up roads which would be rather nice.

80mb over phone line for bt infinity is more than enough speed for the foreseeable future though.

#36 TheBlueRaja

TheBlueRaja

    Neowinian

  • 256 posts
  • Joined: 20-August 02

Posted 11 January 2012 - 12:54

Ok, this all looks good but whats the point if it gets throttled when you start to use it?

Im thinking of coming back to VM but i dont see the point if your going to get throttled for using what your allocated.

With Sky, i currently get around 13mbps (actual d/l speed) with no throttling or limits for a fiver a month, so is there any point in moving?

#37 dfuk

dfuk

    Neowinian

  • 170 posts
  • Joined: 26-August 08
  • Location: Plymouth UK

Posted 11 January 2012 - 13:35

could be good, but VM still cant supply a 100mb connection in my area, 50mb is the fastest that i can have. So looks like will have a long wait.

#38 monkey13

monkey13

    Neowinian

  • 1,481 posts
  • Joined: 05-October 03

Posted 11 January 2012 - 13:50

Ok, this all looks good but whats the point if it gets throttled when you start to use it?


Yeah I think they must be doing something with this as well. My guess, the limit will be upped a bit but the % throttle will remain the same. So 20Mb will go to 5Mb (My case). Still not too bad but I do agree it is a pain.

I only stick with them because of the all in package I have.

#39 +d5aqoëp

d5aqoëp

    Banned

  • 3,194 posts
  • Joined: 07-October 07

Posted 11 January 2012 - 13:59

incredible news! I'm on 20mb at the moment, could be on 30mb but that requires spending a £30 fee to get an updated router/modem which i can't afford atm.


You pay their extortionate fees yet cannot afford 30 quid modem? Say you don't want it instead of you can't afford it.
Yes I have been in UK for good 5-6 years and people usually end up spending way too much on pack of smokes and drinks than on something as simple as a router.

Sorry I need to take a chill pill. :)

#40 firey

firey

    F͎̗͉͎͈͑͡ȉ͎̣̐́ṙ͖̺͕͙̓̌è̤̞͉̟̲͇̍̍̾̓ͥͅy͓̍̎̌̏̒

  • 8,054 posts
  • Joined: 30-October 05
  • Location: Alberta, Canada
  • OS: Windows 7
  • Phone: Android (4.4.2)

Posted 11 January 2012 - 14:11

News like this makes me hate where I live. For the past Year and a Half I have been using Bell paying 70$ a month, get 6down, .0.8 up, 120GB B/W. Today I upgraded to 32 down, 1 up, 150GB B/W for the same price.. the top package I could of got is 50 down, 2 up, 250gb bw.. for 100$ a month..

#41 monkey13

monkey13

    Neowinian

  • 1,481 posts
  • Joined: 05-October 03

Posted 11 January 2012 - 14:20

incredible news! I'm on 20mb at the moment, could be on 30mb but that requires spending a £30 fee to get an updated router/modem which i can't afford atm. Hopefully this will mean i'll get the faster speed and a new modem/router without any extra fees.

Virgin had to do something as you can get bt infinity for £25 and that is around 37mb, virgin is around £25 for 30mb.

I hope they increase the bandwidth caps before they throttle us.


Just actually read the full BBC article. Seems I was right about the throttling and your equipment will be upgraded FOC

The company said bandwidth usage limits will also be doubled to accommodate the increased speed.........

However, some users with old modems and other similar hardware will receive new up-to-date equipment free of charge.



#42 torrentthief

torrentthief

    Neowinian Senior

  • 3,745 posts
  • Joined: 18-November 06

Posted 11 January 2012 - 15:03

yeah, found out earlier, i'll wait till we get upgraded to new modem/router with 60mb then i'll drop the speed down to 20mb and save a few pounds per month.

#43 red.

red.

    Neowinian Senior

  • 4,028 posts
  • Joined: 28-May 03
  • Location: Kent, England

Posted 11 January 2012 - 15:44

Nice news! I usually find out quite early on when they're going to upgrade but this time i wasn't checking so this is quite a nice surprise.

#44 marc2003

marc2003

    Neowinian

  • 513 posts
  • Joined: 20-August 04
  • Location: England
  • OS: Windows ME

Posted 11 January 2012 - 20:19

apparently a new postcode checker goes live on friday so you can find out when you're due to be upgraded. this was mentioned on virgin's own forums.

#45 Hardcore Til I Die

Hardcore Til I Die

    Neowinian Senior

  • 3,320 posts
  • Joined: 18-February 07
  • Location: England

Posted 11 January 2012 - 22:13

Glad I didn't pay for 100Mb, the extra 20Mb/s isn't really any use to me. :woot:

I will take that bet. :)

seriously. shake on it? (Y)


100Mb customers (120Mb customers after the rollout) are getting discounts to their monthly bills, so presumably it'll be only slightly more expensive to get the fastest package - you might as well!

I don't know any other company that treats its' customers as well as Virgin. I guess that's what happens when one of the richest men in the world own the company :D