[Xcode/Objective-C] Submitting Data to URL

Question

I created an iPhone app and used Interface Builder to create a form with three textboxes and a Submit button. How can I take the data from the textboxes and submit (via POST) to a URL?

5 answers to this question

The native way is to use NSURLConnection (have a look at the docs or google for examples). But there are loads of third party libraries that a lot of people use such as ASIHTTPRequest and AFNetworking.

^ Thanks. I've been doing some research but am still stuck... I posted the question on StackOverflow (http://stackoverflow.com/questions/8945453/using-nsurlconnection-to-post-data-to-php-script), but I'll re-post it here, too: I'm completely new to Objective-C and XCode. I created a Single-View application for an iPhone. On the view are 3 textboxes and a button. I need to have the button POST data to a PHP script, and the data is coming from the 3 textboxes. I have been told to use NSURLConnection, but I am not sure how to implement it.

Can somebody please help me?

I got this reply:

ou could use ASIHTTPRequest using it in this way:

ASIFormDataRequest *request = [ASIFormDataRequest requestWithURL:someUrl];

[request setRequestMethod:@"POST"];

[request setPostValue:@"..." forKey:@"user"];

[request setPostValue:@"..." forKey:@"password"];

[request setDelegate:self];

[request startAsyncrhonous];

and in php called in someUrl you get variable ( EXAMPLE )

$user = $_POST['user'];

$password = $_POST['password'];

Is more simple using ASIHTTPRequest instead NSURLConnection

But I'm still not sure how to implement it using values from textboxes and calling it from a button press...

you need to make sure you have a reference to the UILabel in your code (using an IBOutlet and hooking it up in interface builder) then you need to create a method thats an IBAction and hook that up to the button. then literally pop in that sample code and pull the data from the textboxes.