Jump to content



Photo

Who uses Windows 8 as primary OS?


  • Please log in to reply
756 replies to this topic

#1 Simmo3D

Simmo3D

    Neowin V.I.P

  • Joined: 24-April 11
  • Location: Melbourne, Australia
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro with Media Center
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S4 i9505

Posted 21 January 2012 - 05:34

I just purchased a Samsung Series 7 Slate and first thing I did was update the BIOS, scrub the hard drive and install Windows 8 Developer Preview.
So far I am loving the experience. I have not really ran into any major issues but I have noticed a bug every now and again (not a big deal).

Just wondering who uses Windows 8 as their primary OS and what you find to be the best features and most-hated features?
Also, what issues/bugs have you found?


#2 Stoffel

Stoffel

    Being on the ocean is cooler then being in front of a Computer

  • Joined: 16-August 11
  • Location: Utila, Honduras
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro

Posted 21 January 2012 - 05:40

I've been running Win 8 DP as my main OS for about 2 months and so far i like it a lot
I must admit at the moment I spend most of my time in the desktop

Only issues i ran into so far are

typing in FB chat goes really slow
running IE for a whole day, it starts taking up a lot of memory
zune doesn't really run very smoothly, lots of hickups in when playing music


#3 The_Observer

The_Observer

    Apples, Bananas, Rhinoceros!

  • Joined: 12-April 05
  • Location: New Zealand
  • OS: OS X 10.9
  • Phone: iPhone5s

Posted 21 January 2012 - 05:53

I just purchased a Samsung Series 7 Slate and first thing I did was update the BIOS, scrub the hard drive and install Windows 8 Developer Preview.
So far I am loving the experience. I have not really ran into any major issues but I have noticed a bug every now and again (not a big deal).

Just wondering who uses Windows 8 as their primary OS and what you find to be the best features and most-hated features?
Also, what issues/bugs have you found?


I can see WIndows 8 running on your slate as a great OS, but as a desktop i don't know. Looking forward to the beta release in FEB.

#4 FMH

FMH

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 18-July 10

Posted 21 January 2012 - 05:57

Great timing. We are going to get a beta soon.

#5 Mr.XXIV

Mr.XXIV

    Shine bright like Iron Man.

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 30-April 11
  • Location: Durham, North Carolina
  • OS: OS X Mountain Lion 10.8.5
  • Phone: iPhone 5

Posted 21 January 2012 - 06:03

I've been using it as my primary since day 1. :D I can do all the things I did with Windows 7, plus I haven't had a BSOD. In the long run, it's faster and I love nothing having to install such a memory hogging antivirus. :p

#6 iwod

iwod

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 16-January 02

Posted 21 January 2012 - 15:43

I have been running DP ever since it has been released. I can definitely feel, under the hood, Windows 8 is much more polished, it boots, open apps, and literally everything is faster and smoother.

So i am really loving the changes under it,

I never liked Ribbon, the idea is good, but not its current implementation.

I dont like Metro, and its Interface, trying to marry Tablet into Desktop usage. Again at least not its implementation. And i dont even like the idea either.

#7 Wakers

Wakers

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 30-July 07

Posted 21 January 2012 - 15:48

I've been using it as my primary since day 1. :D I can do all the things I did with Windows 7, plus I haven't had a BSOD. In the long run, it's faster and I love nothing having to install such a memory hogging antivirus. :p


Why why why why aren't you running an antivirus on your primary OS?

Security Essentials is not a memory hog. Don't be foolish.

#8 LightShadow

LightShadow

    >Metro<

  • Joined: 30-January 10
  • Location: Lake Silencio
  • OS: Windows 8

Posted 21 January 2012 - 15:48

As of now no, as the Developer Preview is too buggy and unstable, Obviously as it's a developer build.
But come Beta, providing it's fairly stable I likely will use it as my primary.

@Wakers - To be fair, it does have Windows Defender (Now looks like MSE) built-in with better security than before.

#9 firey

firey

    F͎̗͉͎͈͑͡ȉ͎̣̐́ṙ͖̺͕͙̓̌è̤̞͉̟̲͇̍̍̾̓ͥͅy͓̍̎̌̏̒

  • Tech Issues Solved: 5
  • Joined: 30-October 05
  • Location: Ontario, Canada
  • OS: Windows 7
  • Phone: Android (4.1.2)

Posted 21 January 2012 - 15:51

I am not, can't stand the tiles or metro, yes I could disable it in the DP but it just gives me an uglier version of W7.

#10 Azies

Azies

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 19-January 10

Posted 21 January 2012 - 16:14

Once upon a time I used to run Windows Longhorn 4053, or whatever it was and 4074 as my primary OS, I have since then grown up. I won't run beta or pre-beta software on a production machine as a primary OS, that's just inviting problems.

#11 BetaAddict

BetaAddict

    Uncomplicating the complicated

  • Joined: 31-August 09
  • Location: Chicago
  • OS: OSX Mavericks, Windows 8.1
  • Phone: MotoX, Nexus 7, Android 4.4

Posted 21 January 2012 - 16:20

Once upon a time I used to run Windows Longhorn 4053, or whatever it was and 4074 as my primary OS, I have since then grown up. I won't run beta or pre-beta software on a production machine as a primary OS, that's just inviting problems.

Running alpha/pre-beta Windows builds will almost always have a few bugs that will prevent the user from doing what they normally do. But when Win7 hit beta, I haven't looked back as it was stable as a rock. I could barely notice the difference when I moved to the RC1. I trust MS to do the same with the Win8 beta next month and I am getting excited to start using it as default.

I tried the DP, but it was too buggy to use.

#12 Stoffel

Stoffel

    Being on the ocean is cooler then being in front of a Computer

  • Joined: 16-August 11
  • Location: Utila, Honduras
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro

Posted 21 January 2012 - 16:21

Why why why why aren't you running an antivirus on your primary OS?

Security Essentials is not a memory hog. Don't be foolish.


You don't have to install an antivirus when running Win8, it comes with one build in

#13 MidnightDevil

MidnightDevil

    Resident Evil

  • Joined: 30-June 04
  • Location: Hell!

Posted 21 January 2012 - 18:00

I ran it for a month or so... but Combat Arms wasn't compatible with it... not even in compability mode. So I'm back at Win7.
I hoping a good experience with the upcoming betas :)

#14 jakem1

jakem1

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 17-November 06

Posted 21 January 2012 - 18:04

You don't have to install an antivirus when running Win8, it comes with one build in


I didn't know that. Thanks.

#15 Stoffel

Stoffel

    Being on the ocean is cooler then being in front of a Computer

  • Joined: 16-August 11
  • Location: Utila, Honduras
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro

Posted 21 January 2012 - 18:06

I didn't know that. Thanks.


They kinda incorporated Windows Defender with MSE



Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!