Jump to content



Photo

Who uses Windows 8 as primary OS?


  • Please log in to reply
756 replies to this topic

#676 daniel_rh

daniel_rh

    Daniel R. H.

  • Joined: 31-July 05
  • Location: Venezuela
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy SIV i9500

Posted 30 April 2012 - 23:25

Using it on my laptop, pretty nice so far


#677 PatrynXX

PatrynXX

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 10-August 03
  • Location: stuck in mcse space with no $
  • OS: XP, Vista, 7, 8, ubuntu, TIger 10.3, Android 2.2, 4.0.3

Posted 30 April 2012 - 23:27

I've had something like this happen on my desktop system a few times, I'll be browsing the web, and once while playing the Diablo 3 beta the screen shut off as if the system went to sleep.
Impossible to recover from, had to restart by holding the power button.


I'd suggest a cooler. and the Ergo Cooler Master thing is a tank. might be a $30 cooler (On sale) with like 4 usb ports underneath. But it's the best one I ever found and only one with plastic bumpers so your laptop doesn't fall off the pad :) it's possible they might get in the way. but I ignore them.

#678 georgevella

georgevella

    Software Developer

  • Joined: 15-May 02

Posted 30 April 2012 - 23:33

Have been using the Consumer Preview since release, so far so good. There were a few usability nicks I had to adopt to and some gfx driver issues with optimus (damn you Intel/NVIDIA) but overall it's been running fine. For me it's just Windows 7 with a full screen start menu. I use the start screen for launching and searching stuff; barely use any metro apps.

#679 winrez

winrez

    Chronic Master Debater

  • Joined: 07-March 07
  • Location: Manitowoc, WI
  • OS: Windows 7 Enterprise 64-Bit, Windows 8 64-Bit, Windows RT 8.1 (Surface)
  • Phone: Samsung Focus WP7.8/ Nokia Lumina 520

Posted 30 April 2012 - 23:36

Since day one on my HP TouchSmart iq526

#680 Nazmus Shakib Khandaker

Nazmus Shakib Khandaker

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 03-April 12

Posted 02 May 2012 - 16:31

Have been using Windows 8 as my primary OS since september. Still using it and loving it!

#681 PGHammer

PGHammer

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 31-August 03
  • Location: Accokeek, MD
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro with Media Center x64

Posted 09 May 2012 - 17:29

Alright, now how many of you running the beta, are going to continue using Windows 8 after the RC is released?

Any holdouts that skipped the beta going to download the RC and use it?

How many are going to go back to windows 7 after the RC is out?


I'll be shifting to the Release Preview when it comes out, for the simple reason that, unless they completely screw the pooch, it won't be any worse than the Consumer Preview, which has been, for me, flawless. (Surprisingly, that wasn't the case with Windows 7 + SP1 on the same hardware.)

Odds of my going back to Windows 7 - none. No chance at all. (No reason to, either; the Consumer Preview supports all my hardware I have now, and the next upgrades to my hardware actually bring MORE to even the Consumer Preview than my existing hardware does; every single one of my traditional applications and games works just fine, and so do the remaining utilities that I still use; some were mooted by features included with Windows 8's Consumer Preview, such as disc-image creation/mounting/burning software, though.)

#682 George P

George P

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 04-February 07
  • Location: Greece
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro 64bit
  • Phone: HTC Windows Phone 8X

Posted 10 May 2012 - 08:36

A bit off topic but has anyone done or tried a Win7 32bit to Win8 CP 64bit upgrade at this point? I've heard that Win8 upgrade process is better compared to Win7s and I'm going to make the jump to 64bit with Win8 when it hits RTM (using it in a VM for now). So I'm just wondering how smooth the process is.

#683 mad_onion

mad_onion

    In varietate concordia

  • Joined: 08-July 04
  • Location: London, UK

Posted 10 May 2012 - 08:42

A bit off topic but has anyone done or tried a Win7 32bit to Win8 CP 64bit upgrade at this point? I've heard that Win8 upgrade process is better compared to Win7s and I'm going to make the jump to 64bit with Win8 when it hits RTM (using it in a VM for now). So I'm just wondering how smooth the process is.


You still aren't going to be able to upgrade from a 32 bit version to a 64 bit version right?

#684 George P

George P

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 04-February 07
  • Location: Greece
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro 64bit
  • Phone: HTC Windows Phone 8X

Posted 10 May 2012 - 08:46

You still aren't going to be able to upgrade from a 32 bit version to a 64 bit version right?



Well I dunno, if worse comes to worse I'll just have to offload my files to another HDD and do a clean install. I'm sure some apps and stuff i've installed probably won't run and need to be uninstalled but other apps should run fine etc.

#685 articuno1au

articuno1au

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 20-March 11
  • Location: Brisbane, Australia

Posted 10 May 2012 - 09:10

You still aren't going to be able to upgrade from a 32 bit version to a 64 bit version right?

No. It's not going to happen either :\

You can't do it on Linux either, and given that's the current benchmark of modular deployment..

Well I dunno, if worse comes to worse I'll just have to offload my files to another HDD and do a clean install. I'm sure some apps and stuff i've installed probably won't run and need to be uninstalled but other apps should run fine etc.

Always a clean install for beta OS's. Also, it's just a good idea in general.

#686 x.iso

x.iso

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 21-December 08
  • Location: Russia
  • OS: Windows 8 CP
  • Phone: Samsung Omnia 7

Posted 11 May 2012 - 17:50

You still aren't going to be able to upgrade from a 32 bit version to a 64 bit version right?

well, it might be same as upgrading from Windows 8 DP, it basically reinstalls Windows (moving old installation to Windows.old) but moves all accounts to new Windows. You still will need to reinstall all software though.

#687 HawkMan

HawkMan

    Badass Viking

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 31-August 04
  • Location: Norway

Posted 12 May 2012 - 08:16

well, it might be same as upgrading from Windows 8 DP, it basically reinstalls Windows (moving old installation to Windows.old) but moves all accounts to new Windows. You still will need to reinstall all software though.

that's not an upgrade, that's a reinstall to the same disk/partition.

#688 c3ntury

c3ntury

    Say whaa?

  • Joined: 24-December 09
  • Location: irc.neowin.net

Posted 12 May 2012 - 08:44

I think we should write a letter to our President or Prime minister on the following lines-




So Windows 8 Consumer Preview is-THE OPERATING SYSTEM THAT NOBODY CAN USE. Andrea Borman.


... please tell you're not serious?

#689 Andrea Borman

Andrea Borman

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 07-October 11
  • Location: England

Posted 12 May 2012 - 12:23

That was a long time ago when I wrote that post.Well two months ago. And since then I have installed Windows 8 CP on 2 netbooks. But I have also installed Classic Shell which gives you both the start orb and Windows XP and Windows 7 start menu.

Classic Shell takes over your Windows key. So now I only see the Metro start screen at start up. Then I just click on the desktop tile and am taken to my desktop where the Windows XP start menu and start orb is.

Also most of the Windows XP and Windows Vista software works on Windows 8 the same way it does on Windows 7. And also a lot of software has now been updated to work on Windows 8 CP.

It is true you can no longer disable the Metro theme but you can use third party software like Classic Shell or Start Menu 7 to get the start orb and start menu.And now there is a ribbon disabler from Win Aero that disables the ribbon in Windows Explorer. And they have just released a 32 bit version.

Windows 8 Release Candidate RC will be released next month in June. And if they don't change the source code too much we should be able to install start menu software like Classic Shell to have the Windows XP start menu. There is a possibility that some software we are using now in CP may not work in RC. But that will probably be updated by the makers.

Classic Shell did not work on Windows 8 CP at first by they made an updated version that now does work on Windows 8 CP. You can use Windows 8 CP until January 2013 when it expires. And they say the RC is also until January 2013. So you could have Windows 8 CP on one laptop and have Windows 8 RC on the other.

But when RC comes out it may be better to wait a few weeks before rushing to install it. That way you can read on the web and find out what software works on Windows 8 RC and what does not. And that way you will be better prepared for using it when you do install it.

But it is likely that even if software that works with Windows 8 CP does not work in Windows 8 RC. That the software makers will update their software to work in RC.

They did not say there will be an option to disable the Metro theme or not. But then you can just install third party start menu software like you do now. Andrea Borman.

#690 x.iso

x.iso

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 21-December 08
  • Location: Russia
  • OS: Windows 8 CP
  • Phone: Samsung Omnia 7

Posted 12 May 2012 - 16:27

that's not an upgrade, that's a reinstall to the same disk/partition.

when I installed CP on existing DP installation, I selected upgrade option and as I explained the only thing was different from regular clean install is that user profiles are kept in new installation, except AppData if I remember correctly.



Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!