Jump to content



Photo

  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 +warwagon

warwagon

    Only you can prevent forest fires.

  • 27,182 posts
  • Joined: 30-November 01
  • Location: Iowa

Posted 24 January 2012 - 02:59

GoToManage : How to put each support session on it's own monitor!


So tonight I was working on 2 laptops on my repair desk, but I hate working on laptop keyboards and mice, so I usually just install Gotomanage on them and remote in from my main desktop. As you know GoToManage allows 8 support sessions at once, but you have to flip between them. I have 4 monitors on my desktop and have always wanted to be able to support a different client fullscreen on each of my 4 monitors.

As Steve Jobs would have said .. "I finally cracked it"

Turns out, if you run GoToManage sandboxed with sandboxie it will open GoToManage a 2nd time, but this time in the sandbox but not kick you out of your current session. You can also open up a bunch of them. I created 3 separate sandboxes and ran GoToMange in all 3, and I now am remotely connected into 3 computers 1 on each of my 3 monitors on my desk (the 4th is a small one above)

Posted Image



HOW COOL IS THAT!!!


Posted Image



Sandboxie
http://www.sandboxie.com


#2 MidnightDevil

MidnightDevil

    Resident Evil

  • 2,186 posts
  • Joined: 30-June 04
  • Location: Hell!

Posted 24 January 2012 - 12:27

Well done! :D

#3 episode

episode

    Neowinian Fanatic

  • 6,834 posts
  • Joined: 11-December 01

Posted 24 January 2012 - 12:51

Or you could just use logmein and drag the different ff/ie windows to the other screens/areas.

#4 OP +warwagon

warwagon

    Only you can prevent forest fires.

  • 27,182 posts
  • Joined: 30-November 01
  • Location: Iowa

Posted 24 January 2012 - 15:10

Or you could just use logmein and drag the different ff/ie windows to the other screens/areas.


Could do that but I have a very large customer base setup on gotomanage

#5 Shaun N.

Shaun N.

    Perfidious

  • 5,368 posts
  • Joined: 09-November 04
  • Location: Northants, England
  • OS: Work: Windows 8.1 Home: Windows 8.1

Posted 26 January 2012 - 13:33

Or you could use www.join.me and drag it to a specific screen. It's also free unlike gotomanage

#6 Geoffrey B.

Geoffrey B.

    LittleNeutrino

  • 16,225 posts
  • Joined: 25-July 05
  • Location: Ohio
  • OS: Windows 7 Ultimate
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 928 WP8.10.14203.306

Posted 26 January 2012 - 13:40

I actually just started using Go to Manage at work in December and found this VERY useful when I am working with more that one client at a time.

#7 OP +warwagon

warwagon

    Only you can prevent forest fires.

  • 27,182 posts
  • Joined: 30-November 01
  • Location: Iowa

Posted 26 January 2012 - 15:25

Or you could use www.join.me and drag it to a specific screen. It's also free unlike gotomanage

With Join.me

Can I reboot the remote computer and have it automatically reconnect?
Can I tell the remote computer to reboot into safe mode and then reconnect me?
Can I set up unattended support sessions so I can automatically connect to a customers computer?
Can I get a full set of system info about the remote machine?

#8 Shaun N.

Shaun N.

    Perfidious

  • 5,368 posts
  • Joined: 09-November 04
  • Location: Northants, England
  • OS: Work: Windows 8.1 Home: Windows 8.1

Posted 26 January 2012 - 16:13

Nope, I guess that's what you get for free. If you just need to get onto a PC to do some work without software being preinstalled (supporting a new item) then this would be great.

#9 Shaun N.

Shaun N.

    Perfidious

  • 5,368 posts
  • Joined: 09-November 04
  • Location: Northants, England
  • OS: Work: Windows 8.1 Home: Windows 8.1

Posted 26 January 2012 - 16:19

whats the "Sandboxie" at the bottom of your post for?

#10 OP +warwagon

warwagon

    Only you can prevent forest fires.

  • 27,182 posts
  • Joined: 30-November 01
  • Location: Iowa

Posted 26 January 2012 - 17:01

whats the "Sandboxie" at the bottom of your post for?


It's the link to the sandbox application I used to sandbox the multiple instances of gotomanage.