Jump to content



Photo

Can't detect wireless printer

hp printer b110

  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 RATiO

RATiO

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 25-February 06
  • Location: England, UK
  • OS: Windows 7/8, Android

Posted 28 January 2012 - 15:27

I'm trying to add a wireless printer to my PC but it just won't be detected. I have the driver installed. The printer has a static IP which is on the same network as my router yet I can't ping it. The printer itself says it is connected to the network.

Printer: HP Photosmart B110
Router: NETGEAR DG834PN


#2 +BudMan

BudMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 86
  • Joined: 04-July 02
  • Location: Schaumburg, IL
  • OS: Win7, Vista, 2k3, 2k8, XP, Linux, FreeBSD, OSX, etc. etc.

Posted 28 January 2012 - 15:34

Well if you can not ping it -- kind of hard to print to it ;)

You 100% sure its on your network and not the network across the street? Its not in adhoc mode is it?

Does your wireless router support AP/Client isolation, ie prevent wireless clients from talking to each other - this would explain why you can't ping. Also may keep wired from talking to wireless

Sometimes even when allowed wired has hard time creating connection to wireless - arp issues. So when you ping the IP address of the printer, and it times out - then look at your arp table.. Do you see the printers MAC?

example

C:\Windows\System32>arp -a

Interface: 192.168.1.100 --- 0xd
Internet Address Physical Address Type
192.168.1.4 00-0d-56-f0-f0-09 dynamic
192.168.1.99 00-06-dc-43-ad-78 dynamic
192.168.1.253 00-09-5b-e2-cc-db dynamic
192.168.1.255 ff-ff-ff-ff-ff-ff static
255.255.255.255 ff-ff-ff-ff-ff-ff static

I would also double check that you put the correct static IP on the printer with correct netmask.

If you just not seeing the mac - you could set a static arp entry.. Does it ping now?

#3 OP RATiO

RATiO

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 25-February 06
  • Location: England, UK
  • OS: Windows 7/8, Android

Posted 28 January 2012 - 15:40

It's deffo on my network, the MAC is not in the arp table and I'm also on wireless, not wired. There is a setting in my router called wireless isolation which is currently disabled.

Edit: Printed out a network config report on printer and it is in infrastructure mode.

#4 +BudMan

BudMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 86
  • Joined: 04-July 02
  • Location: Schaumburg, IL
  • OS: Win7, Vista, 2k3, 2k8, XP, Linux, FreeBSD, OSX, etc. etc.

Posted 29 January 2012 - 03:31

Well you sure and the hell are never going to talk to it if you can not arp is mac!

If you saying isolation is disabled then you should be able to talk to it -- so why can you not arp for it. I would guess its not correctly connected to your wireless network if you can not ping it. Can you ping it from wired devices -- how do you know its actually connected to your network correctly.

Doesn't seem like it is if you can not ping it ;)

Set a static arp and try and ping it then!

If not then its not on your network no matter what it says!