Jump to content



Photo

Upgrade Power Supply?

alienware upgrade power supply

  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 Phantom Spaceman

Phantom Spaceman

    The Not So Fresh Prince

  • Joined: 04-September 01

Posted 05 February 2012 - 04:39

Hey everyone so awhile ago I got an Alienware Aurora R2. Not bad, not great, whatever lol. Anyways I'd like to upgrade to a better video card but realized I have too weak of a PSU to do so. My question is will any PSU work or should I stick with the Dell ones pulled from other systems available online? Any input would be great thanks in advance.

Here's the one I'm not sure if I have to buy to fit it or if another will work it'll probably be cheaper.

http://www.txcesssur...e-Aurora/Detail


#2 farmeunit

farmeunit

    The other white meat.

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 05-May 03
  • Location: Branson, MO USA

Posted 05 February 2012 - 05:00

What card are you looking at? A Radeon 6790 only requires a 500-watt PSU. I would look at other brands also. There are plenty in that price range that would do well. Probably get a good modular PSU at that.

I'm partial to Antec. I've never had one die on me.

#3 yxz

yxz

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 11-January 09

Posted 05 February 2012 - 05:03

+12V amperage on your psu?
define "better" video card

#4 Muhammad Farrukh

Muhammad Farrukh

    The End is Nigh

  • Joined: 15-August 11

Posted 05 February 2012 - 05:13

Unless you are gonna go for a quad-Crossfire 6990, or a quad-SLI GTX 590. you should be fine with that PSU

#5 OP Phantom Spaceman

Phantom Spaceman

    The Not So Fresh Prince

  • Joined: 04-September 01

Posted 05 February 2012 - 06:02

Sorry for the late reply here's what I'm looking at getting.

http://www.amazon.co...ref=pd_vtp_e_40

Worst case scenario...

http://www.amazon.co...8&tag=newbc06-2

#6 Another Canuck

Another Canuck

    David

  • Joined: 24-October 06
  • Location: Ontario, Canada

Posted 05 February 2012 - 06:05

Unless you are gonna go for a quad-Crossfire 6990, or a quad-SLI GTX 590. you should be fine with that PSU


I think the 875w is the one he's looking at. His system now has a 525w PSU, which should still be good enough for most single GPUs.

Edit: Hm, then again, you might be cutting it a bit close with those cards. It might be worth upgrading to a 700w or 800w unit.

#7 OP Phantom Spaceman

Phantom Spaceman

    The Not So Fresh Prince

  • Joined: 04-September 01

Posted 05 February 2012 - 06:15

I think the 875w is the one he's looking at. His system now has a 525w PSU, which should still be good enough for any single GPU.


Yeah I'd rather not have to upgrade my PSU ATM but if so I'm just wondering if I have to use Dell or if a regular PSU will work. Honestly though, if I could run the graphics above without upgrading that'd be best.

#8 yxz

yxz

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 11-January 09

Posted 05 February 2012 - 06:20

For this test we measure power consumption of only the graphics card, via PCI-Express power connector(s) and PCI-Express bus slot.
Average: 3DMark03 Nature at 1280x1024, 6xAA, 16xAF. This results in the highest power consumption. Average of all readings (12 per second) while the test was rendering (no title screen).

Posted Image

http://www.techpower...ghtning/21.html

#9 Another Canuck

Another Canuck

    David

  • Joined: 24-October 06
  • Location: Ontario, Canada

Posted 05 February 2012 - 06:21

Yeah I'd rather not have to upgrade my PSU ATM but if so I'm just wondering if I have to use Dell or if a regular PSU will work. Honestly though, if I could run the graphics above without upgrading that'd be best.


Sorry, I edited my above post. I think you have a PSU upgrade in your future. While the 525w could likely support those cards, you'll be running very close to 100% load, which isn't good as you'll be generating a lot of heat and putting a lot of stress on the PSU. Power supplies are most efficient around 50%, so thats where you want to aim.

It doesn't have to be a Dell. Any PSU will fit. Have a look at power supplies from SeaSonic, Corsair and Antec.

#10 OP Phantom Spaceman

Phantom Spaceman

    The Not So Fresh Prince

  • Joined: 04-September 01

Posted 05 February 2012 - 06:23

Sorry, I edited my above post. I think you have a PSU upgrade in your future. While the 525w could likely support those cards, you'll be running very close to 100% load, which isn't good as you'll be generating a lot of heat and putting a lot of stress on the PSU. Power supplies are most efficient around 50%, so thats where you want to aim.

It doesn't have to be a Dell. Any PSU will fit. Have a look at power supplies from SeaSonic, Corsair and Antec.

Thanks man I'll check them out for sure, and thanks to everyone else who has helped.