Jump to content



Photo

How Do I Change My IP Address

ip address change

  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
38 replies to this topic

#1 Eddie7

Eddie7

    Hallo... www.connectw.me

  • Joined: 01-December 11
  • Location: Sydney, Australia
  • OS: Windows 7 Ultimate
  • Phone: 1-800-CALL-ME-MAYBE

Posted 05 February 2012 - 15:46

Okay so I was trying to change my IP Address by doing the following:

1. Open CMD
2. Type in 'ipconfig/release'
3. Go into Network Settings
4. Click on Properties for IPv4
5. Type in my own IP Address and DNS Server and Save
6. Go back into IPv4 Properties but check off the 'Obtain New IP Address' box and then Save

But after step 6, my IP Address is the same. Also, I have a Dynamic IP Address I think because when I open CMD and type in 'ipconfig/all', next to DHCP Enabled, it says Yes. I

If anything, please help guys! Thanks!

Edit: I'm Also running on Windows 7. Thanks!


#2 Hell-In-A-Handbasket

Hell-In-A-Handbasket

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 30-September 03
  • OS: Win 8.1 Pro, iOS7, OSX 10.7, Ubuntu/WinXP system Died the Good Death

Posted 05 February 2012 - 15:48

are you wanting to change your IP from your Internet provider or just the Local Network ?

Local Network, you would have to manually change it to something else, as the DHCP will just reassign you the lowest number, and if you have a small amount of systems, it will mostly be teh same.

Internet - turn off your Modem, wait for about 5-10 minutes, then turn it back on ( time is dependant on your providers DHCP renewal cycle, which isnt exact and sometimes days

#3 +devHead

devHead

    Get Off The Bandwagon, Put Down The Handbook

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 08-August 01
  • Location: Arizona... Among The Trees
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 521

Posted 05 February 2012 - 15:49

Maybe I'm a moron, but isn't your Dynamic IP address set by your Internet Service Provider? I don't think you can just type in your own.

#4 Dot Matrix

Dot Matrix

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 7
  • Joined: 14-November 11
  • Location: Upstate New York
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 920

Posted 05 February 2012 - 15:50

Your Internet address is set by your ISP. You'd have to call them to ask them to change it.

#5 zeta_immersion

zeta_immersion

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 08-October 04
  • Location: Toronto

Posted 05 February 2012 - 15:50

which IP do you want to change? (reboot the modem but your IP has a life expectancy dictated by your ISP) ..

you can call them and ask to release a new IP

(if you want to change your LAN (internal IP then relase and go to router and give yourself a new one)

#6 Hell-In-A-Handbasket

Hell-In-A-Handbasket

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 30-September 03
  • OS: Win 8.1 Pro, iOS7, OSX 10.7, Ubuntu/WinXP system Died the Good Death

Posted 05 February 2012 - 15:51

Maybe I'm a moron, but isn't your Dynamic IP address set by your Internet Service Provider? I don't think you can just type in your own.


there are 2 IP's, Local and Public, the Public is set by your provider, tne Local is Private and set by your router and is usually in the Popular 10.X.X.X, or 192.X.X.X range, or not so familiar 172.16.X.X

but yes being Dynamic is set by something else and rotates based on a lease time, but i still have yet to figure out when exactly that lease time goes into effect, as it doesnt follow the setting

#7 OP Eddie7

Eddie7

    Hallo... www.connectw.me

  • Joined: 01-December 11
  • Location: Sydney, Australia
  • OS: Windows 7 Ultimate
  • Phone: 1-800-CALL-ME-MAYBE

Posted 05 February 2012 - 15:52

are you wanting to change your IP from your Internet provider or just the Local Network ?

Local Network, you would have to manually change it to something else, as the DHCP will just reassign you the lowest number, and if you have a small amount of systems, it will mostly be teh same.

Internet - turn off your Modem, wait for about 5-10 minutes, then turn it back on ( time is dependant on your providers DHCP renewal cycle, which isnt exact and sometimes days

I would like to change my Local Network connection. Any steps or ideas of how to do it? Thanks. :)

Maybe I'm a moron, but isn't your Dynamic IP address set by your Internet Service Provider? I don't think you can just type in your own.

I have called them and they said that I have a dynamic IP Address.

Your Internet address is set by your ISP. You'd have to call them to ask them to change it.

Tried that. Doesn't work that way.

#8 84Mark

84Mark

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 29-May 03

Posted 05 February 2012 - 15:53

Your ISP administer IP address allocation and unless you have a static IP address you can't influence this other than rebooting your modem/router to see if they've supplied you with a new one.
If you're talking about your local IP address then turn off DHCP in your router to enable you to explicitly control IP address allocation.

#9 cybertimber2008

cybertimber2008

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 02-December 08

Posted 05 February 2012 - 15:55

I would like to change my Local Network connection. Any steps or ideas of how to do it? Thanks. :)

Which OS?

#10 OP Eddie7

Eddie7

    Hallo... www.connectw.me

  • Joined: 01-December 11
  • Location: Sydney, Australia
  • OS: Windows 7 Ultimate
  • Phone: 1-800-CALL-ME-MAYBE

Posted 05 February 2012 - 15:56

Your ISP administer IP address allocation and unless you have a static IP address you can't influence this other than rebooting your modem/router to see if they've supplied you with a new one.
If you're talking about your local IP address then turn off DHCP in your router to enable you to explicitly control IP address allocation.

Yes, I am talking about my local ip address. Thanks :)

#11 +giantsnyy

giantsnyy

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 21-January 02

Posted 05 February 2012 - 15:57

More than likely based on prior address assignments the DHCP server in your router will provide the same ip address to you. Best way to change this is clear the ARP cache in your router, then have another device grab an address first.

#12 OP Eddie7

Eddie7

    Hallo... www.connectw.me

  • Joined: 01-December 11
  • Location: Sydney, Australia
  • OS: Windows 7 Ultimate
  • Phone: 1-800-CALL-ME-MAYBE

Posted 05 February 2012 - 15:58

Which OS?

Windows 7 Ultimate.

#13 Hell-In-A-Handbasket

Hell-In-A-Handbasket

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 30-September 03
  • OS: Win 8.1 Pro, iOS7, OSX 10.7, Ubuntu/WinXP system Died the Good Death

Posted 05 February 2012 - 16:03

I would like to change my Local Network connection. Any steps or ideas of how to do it? Thanks. :)


the steps you were doing semed right up til you reenabled DHCP, and literally there is no reason to reassign your Local IP address.

but log into your router, disable DHCP of the LOCAL ONLY, NOT INTERNET CONNECTION DHCP
on your computer go to Network Setting properties for IPV4
set it to whatever in the range of the router ( in the image the rage for example would be 192.168.1.101-192.168.1.149, its the Router Starting+1, and Clients -1, so 101-149 )
save and your done


by reinabling DHCP you undid the setting of the IP

this is the setting your looking for

dhcp router.jpg


* Can i ask why you want to change your Local. there is no reason to at all

#14 OP Eddie7

Eddie7

    Hallo... www.connectw.me

  • Joined: 01-December 11
  • Location: Sydney, Australia
  • OS: Windows 7 Ultimate
  • Phone: 1-800-CALL-ME-MAYBE

Posted 05 February 2012 - 16:10

the steps you were doing semed right up til you reenabled DHCP, and literally there is no reason to reassign your Local IP address.

but log into your router, disable DHCP of the LOCAL ONLY, NOT INTERNET CONNECTION DHCP
on your computer go to Network Setting properties for IPV4
set it to whatever in the range of the router ( in the image the rage for example would be 192.168.1.101-192.168.1.149, its the Router Starting+1, and Clients -1, so 101-149 )
save and your done


by reinabling DHCP you undid the setting of the IP

this is the setting your looking for

dhcp router.jpg


* Can i ask why you want to change your Local. there is no reason to at all

Well actually, I have tried that but I don't think it worked. Hmm maybe I need someone to Team Viewer me or something? Also, I'm not sure if I want to change my Local Internet Connection but I want to change the connection so that when I go to http://www.whatismyip.com/ , it would display another IP Address other than the one that I already have.

#15 cybertimber2008

cybertimber2008

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 02-December 08

Posted 05 February 2012 - 16:12

You don't have a antivirus that prevents network connection changes do you?

Start > Control Panel > Network and Sharing > Change Adapter Settings
Unplug your network connection (if wired) or disable wireless (switch)
Right click connection > Properties
IPv4 > Properties
Use the following IP address:
Set the IP address you want: eg 192.168.1.56
Subnet 255.255.255.0
Default Gateway: Address of your router (eg, 192.168.1.1)

Press ok and close everything else with "ok"s, not X's

Now since it hasn't been working so well for you, reboot, log in, check that the settings are still present, and then plug in your network connection.


By the way, what has been telling you your IP address hasn't changed?

Edit: Ok I just saw your latest post. "Whatismyipaddress" shows your INTERNET, public address, which is controlled by your ISP. If you have a dynamic IP, turn your modem off for an hour or so... really depends on how long your lease is for. Overnight might be best.

Edited by cybertimber2008, 05 February 2012 - 16:15.