Jump to content



Photo

GPU or Photoshop.

gpu graphics graphics card amd ati nvidea cs5 photoshop

  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 Inzajeano

Inzajeano

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 07-January 12
  • Location: London
  • OS: Windows 7 64bit

Posted 08 February 2012 - 10:49

Hi everyone

I need a GPU that can support Photoshop ( I work on files exceeding 350MB ) and dual screen setup.
Any help/advice would be awesome!

http://www.Inzajeano.com


#2 +Zlip792

Zlip792

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 16
  • Joined: 31-October 10
  • Location: Pakistan
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit
  • Phone: Nokia C3-00 (8.70 firmware)

Posted 08 February 2012 - 10:52

nvidia Quadro series GPU will be your requirement.. IMO..

#3 OP Inzajeano

Inzajeano

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 07-January 12
  • Location: London
  • OS: Windows 7 64bit

Posted 08 February 2012 - 10:56

Quadro 2d?

#4 neoraptor

neoraptor

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 29-November 08

Posted 08 February 2012 - 10:59

any modern gpu is supported by photoshop (even Intel HD Graphics)

http://kb2.adobe.com...psid_83117.html
http://kb2.adobe.com...ted_video_cards

#5 vetScorpus

Scorpus

    Tim Schiesser

  • Joined: 04-May 11
  • Location: Australia

Posted 08 February 2012 - 11:01

As neoraptor said, most modern desktop GPUs are suitable for Photoshop. Workstation GPUs such as the NVIDIA Quadro/AMD FireGL series are only really needed for CAD.

If you're working with massive 350 MB images your main need would be lots of RAM

#6 OP Inzajeano

Inzajeano

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 07-January 12
  • Location: London
  • OS: Windows 7 64bit

Posted 08 February 2012 - 11:03

So there is no need to go for anything to expensive?
I was thinking of a GTX 460 or AMD 6850.

I have 32gb of ram and going for the i7 enthusiast cpu.

#7 MFH

MFH

    RAII fanatic

  • Joined: 24-June 10

Posted 08 February 2012 - 11:06

jep, no need for a Quadro/FireGL/FirePro, unless you're into GPGPU with douple precission…

#8 OP Inzajeano

Inzajeano

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 07-January 12
  • Location: London
  • OS: Windows 7 64bit

Posted 08 February 2012 - 11:09

That will save me a 100 pounds or so.
Any GPU's in particular you guys can recommend?

#9 +Zlip792

Zlip792

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 16
  • Joined: 31-October 10
  • Location: Pakistan
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit
  • Phone: Nokia C3-00 (8.70 firmware)

Posted 08 February 2012 - 11:12

nvidia marketing and sponsorship with software vendor is good and also driver support. So I suggest you nvidia GTX 460 from you given choice.
AMD is changing strategy with 7 series GCN which will costly..

#10 OP Inzajeano

Inzajeano

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 07-January 12
  • Location: London
  • OS: Windows 7 64bit

Posted 08 February 2012 - 11:26

Thank you all kindly for your help:)

#11 simrat

simrat

    pooonjabi!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 05-April 10
  • Location: Ontario, Canada
  • OS: Windows 8.1 x64, Arch Linux (Gnome)
  • Phone: Nexus 5 (stock)

Posted 08 February 2012 - 11:55

Im using 4890 HD for all my editing, animation and design work, and it is still working great, no driver issues till today ( bought it three years ago ). I recommend AMD 6000 series, i have no experience with nvidia's GPUs, so cant comment on that.

#12 OP Inzajeano

Inzajeano

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 07-January 12
  • Location: London
  • OS: Windows 7 64bit

Posted 08 February 2012 - 12:16

Thanks Simrat:)

#13 OP Inzajeano

Inzajeano

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 07-January 12
  • Location: London
  • OS: Windows 7 64bit

Posted 08 February 2012 - 13:10

What SSD drive would you go for? I'm looking for one around 180gb otherwise I was thinking of going for two smaller ones.