Jump to content



Photo

New build - Now or later?

ivy bridge sandy bridge new build windows 8 gpu cpu

  • Please log in to reply
17 replies to this topic

#1 Inzajeano

Inzajeano

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 07-January 12
  • Location: London
  • OS: Windows 7 64bit

Posted 11 February 2012 - 10:54

Dear friends

I am in a dilemma.
I was going to go for a new build as soon as possible but after reading various articles in regards to the imminent release of the the new Intel Ivy Bridge CPU's I am thinking that I should hold out.
I really need advice on this matter please.
What do you all think?

This is what I was going for...


http://www.Inzajeano.com

Attached Images

  • Scan.JPG
  • Aria.JPG



#2 deactivated_

deactivated_

    Deactivated_

  • Joined: 05-August 08

Posted 11 February 2012 - 11:02

What's the current system? I'm waiting for the next round of CPUs before my next build, myself.

#3 Sranshaft

Sranshaft

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 11-November 05

Posted 11 February 2012 - 11:10

You normally want to wait just before a new CPU line drops. This is when you'll see retailers put the last line on sale with some dramatically reduced prices. Grab last year's top-of-the-line stuff on the cheap and let other people worry about teething problem when it comes to new tech.

With regards to your shopping list, I'd replace the i7 with an i5-2500K. On most of the reviews I've read, it offers the best bang for the buck. I'd stay away from Seagate and get a Western Digital 2TB Black Edition but that's my own personal opinion - I've had horrible experiences with Seagate.

#4 OP Inzajeano

Inzajeano

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 07-January 12
  • Location: London
  • OS: Windows 7 64bit

Posted 11 February 2012 - 13:23

What 180gb ssd drive would you recommend please?

#5 OP Inzajeano

Inzajeano

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 07-January 12
  • Location: London
  • OS: Windows 7 64bit

Posted 11 February 2012 - 13:29

In all honesty I don't really have the luxury of time.
I have a lot of jobs on that I need a system for in order to work on my images.
Maybe I'll go for it and a couple of years down the line go for another one.
By then there will more choice in CPU's:D

#6 Muhammad Farrukh

Muhammad Farrukh

    The End is Nigh

  • Joined: 15-August 11

Posted 11 February 2012 - 13:42

Other than the fact that there is no PSU to run it, :p , I approve this build.
Don't really see a problem here.
The CPU cooler, to me, is a bit expensive, but will do.

#7 OP Inzajeano

Inzajeano

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 07-January 12
  • Location: London
  • OS: Windows 7 64bit

Posted 11 February 2012 - 13:44

lol I already have a Corsair 620 Watt PSU;)

#8 Muhammad Farrukh

Muhammad Farrukh

    The End is Nigh

  • Joined: 15-August 11

Posted 11 February 2012 - 13:45

You are good to go mate.
Best of luck

#9 OP Inzajeano

Inzajeano

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 07-January 12
  • Location: London
  • OS: Windows 7 64bit

Posted 11 February 2012 - 13:47

I'm still researching on the SSD drive, 2tb drive and GPU as I use this mainly for Photoshop and soon, video editing.

#10 Muhammad Farrukh

Muhammad Farrukh

    The End is Nigh

  • Joined: 15-August 11

Posted 11 February 2012 - 13:50

The SSD and HDD look fine. You dont have to worry about them.
Whats your budget for the GPU?

#11 Wakers

Wakers

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 30-July 07

Posted 11 February 2012 - 14:22

If you have the money now, get a new build now. If you wait for the next release then you might as well wait for the next release after that and after that and so on.

Yes, you tend to get more sales on older generation components - but there is always a sale on components somewhere on the internet so I don't find that to be a particularly important point.

I would also never buy new generation components on release as they are stupidly expensive and the performance/cost ratio is abhorrent compared to the same components a month or two down the line. Not to mention the teething problems that these things tends to have.

#12 OP Inzajeano

Inzajeano

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 07-January 12
  • Location: London
  • OS: Windows 7 64bit

Posted 11 February 2012 - 17:25

budget for gpu is £130.00

#13 +patseguin

patseguin

    Neowin Addict

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 21-May 02
  • Location: Buffalo, NY
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: iPhone 5s

Posted 12 February 2012 - 04:42

Config looks great. There will always be something on the horizon so you might as well make yoursef happy now. I'd get a Corsair Force GT SATA 6g instead of the one you picked though.

#14 PixilEyes

PixilEyes

    (╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻

  • Joined: 23-July 05
  • Location: Charlotte N.C.

Posted 12 February 2012 - 04:56

32gb of ram?

Video card?

By the way nice site. :)

#15 +patseguin

patseguin

    Neowin Addict

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 21-May 02
  • Location: Buffalo, NY
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: iPhone 5s

Posted 12 February 2012 - 12:48

32gb of ram?

Video card?

By the way nice site. :)


Good points. 32GB may be a bit overkill. I get made fun of for my 24GB as it is. ;-)

Maybe he is going with integrated graphics? Does the mobo he picked have any?



Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!