Jump to content



Photo

OS X Mountain Lion Discussion

os x 10.8 mountain lion

  • Please log in to reply
1424 replies to this topic

#1411 nyolc8

nyolc8

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 25-May 07
  • Location: Budapest, Hungary
  • OS: OSX Mavericks 10.9.3, Windows 8.1 Pro WMC
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 520

Posted 17 August 2012 - 19:01

I'm assuming it's because the ML dock has a Gaussian blur effect and the old dock didn't. It probably just needs some optimization.

I think they won't optimize it (if it's an optimizing problem)... you know... it's Apple... they want you to buy a newer mac. :/


#1412 Elliott

Elliott

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 26-September 02
  • Location: Virginia, USA
  • OS: OS X Mountain Lion
  • Phone: iPhone 5 (iOS 6)

Posted 17 August 2012 - 19:08

I think they won't optimize it (if it's an optimizing problem)... you know... it's Apple... they want you to buy a newer mac. :/


Normally I'd agree with you, but even the latest and greatest Retina MacBook Pro can stutter on it with enough windows open. :p

#1413 PyX

PyX

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 20-December 03

Posted 17 August 2012 - 23:33

I don't see any lag on a 2011 core i7 iMac with stutter when using the Mission Control and I opened like 20 tabs on Safari and a whole bunch of other applications open too hmm. What spec is your 2010 iMac?


Me neither. And I have a 2009 iMac. Not that I use Mission Control a lot though. But I have to admit it’s a killer feature, I don’t know why I’m still ALT+Tabbing all the time

#1414 The_Decryptor

The_Decryptor

    STEAL THE DECLARATION OF INDEPENDENCE

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 28-September 02
  • Location: Sol System
  • OS: iSymbian 9.2 SP24.8 Mars Bar

Posted 18 August 2012 - 07:26

I'm assuming it's because the ML dock has a Gaussian blur effect and the old dock didn't. It probably just needs some optimization.


The Dock should be using CoreImage for that, which does it all on the GPU (Same as the blur behind menus/panes), that shouldn't be the cause of any performance slowdowns.

#1415 Elliott

Elliott

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 26-September 02
  • Location: Virginia, USA
  • OS: OS X Mountain Lion
  • Phone: iPhone 5 (iOS 6)

Posted 18 August 2012 - 12:39

The Dock should be using CoreImage for that, which does it all on the GPU (Same as the blur behind menus/panes), that shouldn't be the cause of any performance slowdowns.


I'm sure it's using the GPU for rendering, but that doesn't make it impervious to animation stuttering. :/

#1416 Bad Booster

Bad Booster

    Evil Mastermind

  • Joined: 12-April 10
  • Location: Delhi, India
  • OS: OS X 10.9
  • Phone: iPhone 5 16GB, iPhone 4S 16GB, iPad 2 16GB WiFi

Posted 18 August 2012 - 13:45

You can also get the 'side dock' effect without putting the dock on the side of the screen, you just have to change a setting via the terminal:

defaults write com.apple.dock no-glass -boolean YES

then

killall Dock

To go back to the 3D dock do the same thing but change YES to NO.


Thank You Sir, might come in handy with a low spec macbook.

#1417 .Neo

.Neo

    Generic User

  • Joined: 14-September 05
  • Location: Amsterdam, NL
  • OS: OS X Mavericks
  • Phone: iPhone 5s

Posted 18 August 2012 - 14:28

I don't see any lag on a 2011 core i7 iMac with stutter when using the Mission Control and I opened like 20 tabs on Safari and a whole bunch of other applications open too hmm. What spec is your 2010 iMac?

Even if you have a thousand tabs open in one Safari window, it's still only one Safari window Mission Control has to render. That won't really affect performance unless Safari takes down the entire OS.

I had the same issue with OS X Lion at first. Apple fixed it later on and everything was buttery smooth again. Undoubtedly they screwed something up again.

#1418 Aaron Olive

Aaron Olive

    2011 27" iMac

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 13-February 08
  • Location: Chicago, IL
  • OS: OS X 10.10 DP3

Posted 18 December 2012 - 22:44

New 10.8.3 (12D43) update for devs.
Posted Image

#1419 .Neo

.Neo

    Generic User

  • Joined: 14-September 05
  • Location: Amsterdam, NL
  • OS: OS X Mavericks
  • Phone: iPhone 5s

Posted 18 December 2012 - 22:54

Any noticeable improvements v10.8.3 brings in general?

#1420 Aaron Olive

Aaron Olive

    2011 27" iMac

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 13-February 08
  • Location: Chicago, IL
  • OS: OS X 10.10 DP3

Posted 18 December 2012 - 23:03

Any noticeable improvements v10.8.3 brings in general?

Graphic drivers have been improving each build, less stutter in full screen apps and switching windows, Safari was crash happy in the previous build so i'll have to test that out, but other than that Mountain Lion has been very stable for me.

#1421 .Neo

.Neo

    Generic User

  • Joined: 14-September 05
  • Location: Amsterdam, NL
  • OS: OS X Mavericks
  • Phone: iPhone 5s

Posted 18 December 2012 - 23:18

I haven't had a single stability issue with OS X Mountain Lion on my former 2010 iMac. But then again I didn't have any with OS X Lion or Snow Leopard either. Hopefully this trend continues when I receive my new 27-inch iMac.

#1422 Aaron Olive

Aaron Olive

    2011 27" iMac

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 13-February 08
  • Location: Chicago, IL
  • OS: OS X 10.10 DP3

Posted 18 December 2012 - 23:36

I haven't had a single stability issue with OS X Mountain Lion on my former 2010 iMac. But then again I didn't have any with OS X Lion or Snow Leopard either. Hopefully this trend continues when I receive my new 27-inch iMac.

Same here, it's the reason why i switched 3 years ago it's very fast and stable + eye candy. :)

#1423 Lucas

Lucas

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 21-September 02

Posted 23 December 2012 - 16:52

I recently got my hackintosh setup with my copies of Lion/Mountain I bought when I had my MBP and I have to say even on my i5 2500K OC'd to 4.5GHz, GTX 570, etc. has some stuttering even while I have full GPU rendering and everything enabled correctly thanks to tonymacx work and my compatible Z68X-UD4-B3 mobo.

#1424 Master of Earth

Master of Earth

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 18-March 12

Posted 29 December 2012 - 18:06

Why we can't change the dock on 10.8 anymore?? Anyway to change the logicboard inside the macbook pro? alienware can easily change the graphic card to 670MX
why the luxury macbook pro doesn't have this awesome option?? Apple want to eat more money?? I hate the fact that it can't change...good product but poor performance in few years time. YUCK!

#1425 Bad Booster

Bad Booster

    Evil Mastermind

  • Joined: 12-April 10
  • Location: Delhi, India
  • OS: OS X 10.9
  • Phone: iPhone 5 16GB, iPhone 4S 16GB, iPad 2 16GB WiFi

Posted 03 January 2013 - 06:24

^ If you have one of the newer machines with the thunderbolt port, in near future you may very well be able to add gfx cards via the thunderbolt port. So fret not :)



Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!