Jump to content



Photo

New CPU? Core i7 970/980 vs Ivy Bridge

cpu intel

  • Please log in to reply
35 replies to this topic

#16 OP kiddingguy

kiddingguy

    ^ Nikki, my dreambabe!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 09-September 03
  • Location: .nl
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro (twice)

Posted 21 February 2012 - 11:31

920 ain't a bad CPU still.
Stick with it. You'll a get a better upgrade next year


Correct. The 920 still gets everything done (quickly).
Maybe you're right and I should wait some more months to decide what to do....


#17 Jason S.

Jason S.

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 5
  • Joined: 01-September 03
  • Location: Cleveland, Ohio

Posted 21 February 2012 - 19:53

ive been getting the upgrade itch for a while now - just like the OP apparently :laugh:

anyway, i also have a 920 and for some reason i've kept it overclocked at 3.6GHz for like 2 years now. this weekend i overclocked it to 3.8GHz and hope to hit 4GHz. it's still a great processor so i see no reason to upgrade to Ivy Bridge. If anything, i'll upgrade with Haswell next year. remember, Ivy Bridge is a 'tick' and Haswell is a 'tock'

#18 +Bryan R.

Bryan R.

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 04-September 07
  • Location: Palm Beach, FL

Posted 21 February 2012 - 20:14

I had a 920 and had it overclocked to 4GHz. An amazing bag-for-buck that chip is. If the OP has not overclocked it (doesn't specify in signature), I suggest doing so before spending money on an upgrade.

#19 +seb5150

seb5150

    Windows Guru

  • Joined: 07-March 02
  • Location: Oregon
  • OS: Win8.1
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia Icon 8.1

Posted 21 February 2012 - 20:25

Ugrade your video card and get a recently released SSD. Haswell will be out next year and that will be the time to upgrade if you have a Sandybridge or older CPU.

#20 Invizibleyez

Invizibleyez

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 02-March 05

Posted 25 February 2012 - 02:45

I really am shocked at the limited value in upgrading processors. I play games on my computer and I really have yet to feel my processor can't keep up. Keep in mind that I STILL have a Core 2 duo E6400@2.13ghz (stock). I think crysis was the last game to make me feel like I might not be able to do it, but then, it did fine.

I am personally considering a mobo/cpu/ram upgrade, but only because I have a feeling it will start to hold me back soon, my processor is 5 years old now.

#21 still1

still1

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 30-September 09
  • Location: United States

Posted 25 February 2012 - 02:58

I would wait for Ivy.. its the first 22nm and tri gate processor and it has some advantage

#22 Motoko.

Motoko.

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 04-November 09
  • Location: United States of America
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro

Posted 25 February 2012 - 03:10

Look what you wrote, "Well, considering that you currently have a thousand dollar processor" and look at his SIG, and he claims he has an i7 920...so, yes, the i7 920 was never a $1000 retail. Also the i7 970 isn't a thousand dollar processor anyway...

bite his head off, will you? ..

#23 streetw0lf

streetw0lf

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 03-January 04
  • Location: USA

Posted 25 February 2012 - 03:20

Personally I am going to build a new rig later this year when the Ivy Bridge-E's with Quad channel memory comes out along with the new 'Panther' Chipset.

#24 PixilEyes

PixilEyes

    (╯°□°)╯︵ ┻━┻

  • Joined: 23-July 05
  • Location: Charlotte N.C.

Posted 25 February 2012 - 03:36

Ivy bridge is only going to offer a 20% performance increase over the current sandy bridge CPUs so it's not a major release.


20% now days is HUGE.

#25 DrKrepz

DrKrepz

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 02-June 10

Posted 25 February 2012 - 04:11

20% now days is HUGE.


everything is relative ;)

#26 +djdanster

djdanster

    Neowin elite

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 28-October 08
  • Location: England, Great Britain
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S4 White Frost

Posted 26 February 2012 - 22:27

I'd get an SSD. The boost in performance is HUGE! Every day tasks become so much quicker!

#27 omganinja

omganinja

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 02-June 07
  • Location: Brisbane, Australia

Posted 26 February 2012 - 22:35

DEFINITELY NOT the 1366 chip which is already deprecated and has a bunch of flaws.

Troll much? There's nothing wrong with the 1366 chips.

#28 Muhammad Farrukh

Muhammad Farrukh

    The End is Nigh

  • Joined: 15-August 11

Posted 27 February 2012 - 06:12

Well hang on you two, articuno1au and omganinja, Intel hasn't released a chipset named 1366.
Its 1336 :p

#29 Jason S.

Jason S.

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 5
  • Joined: 01-September 03
  • Location: Cleveland, Ohio

Posted 27 February 2012 - 20:31

Well hang on you two, articuno1au and omganinja, Intel hasn't released a chipset named 1366.
Its 1336 :p

Well hang on Muhammad, it is 1366, and it's not a chipset, it's a pin count.

(sorry, had to)

pin-out.JPG

#30 tsupersonic

tsupersonic

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 30-September 06
  • Location: USA
  • OS: Win. 8.1 Pro. x64/Mac OS X
  • Phone: iPhone 5S/Nexus 5

Posted 27 February 2012 - 20:58

Well hang on Muhammad, it is 1366, and it's not a chipset, it's a pin count.

(sorry, had to)

Furthermore, only the x58 chipset is linked to the 1366 CPU socket (some CPU sockets have more than one chipset - ex: socket 1156 - had P55 and H55, etc).