Jump to content



Photo

Need a little help please...

hp compaq cpu intel

  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 NoLiMiT06

NoLiMiT06

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 18-August 06
  • Location: Eastern NC USA
  • OS: Windows 7
  • Phone: htc EVO 3D: CM9 Devil Toast

Posted 26 February 2012 - 00:05

Ok guys I am upgrading the CPU in my laptop. I have a Compaq Presario cq60-211dx with a Celeron 585 processor. From my reading the chipset is GL40. So I purchased a Core 2 Duo T7500 from eBay for $20 and when I got the cpu it was scratched (see pic attached) and I did not realize it until I already had everything taken apart. So I proceded and of course the laptop would not boot. I am thinking it is from the damaged cpu and I wanted to confirm this with you guys.

I have purchased a T7300 and sending the other one back. Here is a link compairing my current cpu and the T7300, does everything look like it would work? I have already updated the BIOS to the latest version from HP unless someone knows of another that is more current. Let me know what you guys think.

CPU Comparrison: http://ark.intel.com...are/36681,29760

Picture of defective CPU:
Posted Image


#2 +techbeck

techbeck

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 8
  • Joined: 20-January 05

Posted 26 February 2012 - 00:09

I'd say you got screwed. Ask for a refund from the seller or escalate the issue to EBAY support if needed.

#3 OP NoLiMiT06

NoLiMiT06

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 18-August 06
  • Location: Eastern NC USA
  • OS: Windows 7
  • Phone: htc EVO 3D: CM9 Devil Toast

Posted 26 February 2012 - 00:10

I'd say you got screwed. Ask for a refund from the seller or escalate the issue to EBAY support if needed.


I assume you mean that the cpu is indeed FUBAR? :p

#4 +techbeck

techbeck

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 8
  • Joined: 20-January 05

Posted 26 February 2012 - 00:11

I assume you mean that the cpu is indeed FUBAR? :p


Most likely as long as you speced out the correct upgrade for your mobo. Scratches are a good sign and shows the CPU wasnt taken care of. I wouldnt use anything like that with scratches on it even if it did work.

Kind of looks like the thermal paste was removed with a metal object instead of an alcohol pad.

#5 OP NoLiMiT06

NoLiMiT06

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 18-August 06
  • Location: Eastern NC USA
  • OS: Windows 7
  • Phone: htc EVO 3D: CM9 Devil Toast

Posted 26 February 2012 - 00:13

Even if the processor was not the right one it should still boot and tell me that its not compatible right?

#6 +techbeck

techbeck

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 8
  • Joined: 20-January 05

Posted 26 February 2012 - 01:15

Even if the processor was not the right one it should still boot and tell me that its not compatible right?


Not necessarily. The system would mostly likely boot to a black screen or beep at you. It could also list the processor speed different than it is in the BIOS.

With those scratches on it, it looks like it is damaged. As for a refund ASAP.

What you may want to do is find a way to reset the BIOS as well and make sure the BIOS has the latest update. Some times updates/resets are needed to recognize new processors. But again, I wouldnt use it even if it did work because of the scratches. But thats my preference.

#7 OP NoLiMiT06

NoLiMiT06

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 18-August 06
  • Location: Eastern NC USA
  • OS: Windows 7
  • Phone: htc EVO 3D: CM9 Devil Toast

Posted 26 February 2012 - 01:20

Oh I am not using it, the computer would "turn on" but the screen did not even come on. I think the scratches were causing some kind of short...

#8 TEX4S

TEX4S

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 06-October 04
  • Location: DFW

Posted 26 February 2012 - 03:46

LOL - still think it was a good idea to get a Compaq ?

#9 the big dill

the big dill

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 15-June 08
  • Location: Ontario, Canada

Posted 26 February 2012 - 04:17

First off, i would double check compatibility with your motherboard.

secondly, those scratches are mostly sign of serious miscarriage, leaving the potential for other more severe (and not very noticeable) damage to the CPU.

Finally, $20 for a C2D? I am looking at ebay and i can see the least going for $38 (for T7500). Are you sure it was listen as "working"? If so, contact seller, if they cause you trouble, escalate to ebay (as previously mentioned), but don't trouble yourself too much... it's $20.

Good luck,

Update us on the details :)

#10 cork1958

cork1958

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 04-October 02

Posted 26 February 2012 - 04:39

Most likely as long as you speced out the correct upgrade for your mobo. Scratches are a good sign and shows the CPU wasnt taken care of. I wouldnt use anything like that with scratches on it even if it did work.

Kind of looks like the thermal paste was removed with a metal object instead of an alcohol pad.


That last line is what I was thinking also.

#11 OP NoLiMiT06

NoLiMiT06

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 18-August 06
  • Location: Eastern NC USA
  • OS: Windows 7
  • Phone: htc EVO 3D: CM9 Devil Toast

Posted 26 February 2012 - 21:12

Yup everything was listed as tested and working but as you guys said who ever was incharge of removing the thermal paste was a dumbass. I bought it from Laptopaid on eBay and I have started the process of a refund. If I do not hear from them tomorrow I will escalate it. I decided to go with a T7300 and got it for $19 shipped as this has been tested on the same motherboards and has the same specs as my current cpu as far as socket and chipset etc. I will let you guys know how it goes.

Here is the T7500 I bidded on: http://www.ebay.com/...984.m1497.l2649

As for the Compaq comment, when I bought the laptop in '08 it was all I could afford at the time.