First mac ever

Hi guys got an iMac today, setup it up and as you see I'm on the internet, now... i don't know what i am doing at all here. i need some real help i been a windows user for years and now i just need any tips of awesome apps to use, what i may need to configure.. and bits like that.

first of all.. what messenger app do people use, i heard people use Adium but is there any other ones people recommend?

EDIT: Also how do i actually install apps, also I got 2 hard drives a 256gb and a 2tb how would i get apps on the 2tb or maybe first get apps on my 256gb keep it simple for me until i pick up os x :p!

Matt.

Adium is good, although there is a Messages beta out from Apple that allows you to receive messages from iPhones/iPads as well.

Open up the app store and have a look around, and mess around with the installed software (iPhoto, iTunes, etc).

I got my first Mac back in September and i'm still learning about it, but loving it also.

The first piece of advise I got was to install Alfred (from the App Store), its a really good and saves you time when searching your mac and makes it easy to launch applications. I swear by it now. Spotify is also a good app to install, CCleaner as do a Mac app.

If you have a 256SSD I would just install the apps on it, you shouldn't run out of space.

To make things easier I would make symbolic links in your home folders to some heavier folders (maybe your download, music, photo, and movie folders?) and store them on your 2TB drive

Before you install Alfred, try using Spotlight. It's built in and incredibly useful.

I agree. Alfred has its uses to some users, but you have to pay for the really good features. I prefer just using spotlight, personally.

If you have a 256SSD I would just install the apps on it, you shouldn't run out of space.