Jump to content



Photo

Cold Start Problems...

boot startup windows8cp

  • Please log in to reply
22 replies to this topic

#1 WizardCM

WizardCM

    Matt

  • Joined: 06-March 09
  • Location: Melbourne, AUS
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro x64

Posted 02 March 2012 - 02:44

Hey everyone,

For some reason, after a first successful boot after installation (I had to do a full refresh to fix this problem the first time, because it went too far), it's come back again and I was wondering if anyone else has been having the same problem.

Basically, after the boot screen, the computer gets stuck on a black screen, sometimes with a cursor, usually without. Most times, putting the computer to sleep then waking it up again shows the cover photo, before being able to go to the login screen (as it should). This is a lot of extra effort to simply boot the computer.

However, if that doesn't work, after the black screen comes a white screen, then a new screen (with the cursor) and the background colour of my start screen.

I have a feeling this has got to do with drivers, but have no idea where to start to troubleshoot this properly.

I'm running this as the only operating system on my Dell XPS L502x (full specs here), after originally running the .exe downloaded from preview.windows.com, rather than an ISO.

Any help is greatly appreciated. I hope you guys are having more luck with the Consumer Preview. :)


#2 OP WizardCM

WizardCM

    Matt

  • Joined: 06-March 09
  • Location: Melbourne, AUS
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro x64

Posted 03 March 2012 - 00:24

So it seems the most likely cause is the graphics drivers.
I did a clean installation from a Windows 8 DVD, and rebooted repeatedly without problems. The moment I installed these drivers, and selected '3D Settings' in the Nvidia control panel, I got a BSOD. On next boot, I got the problem described above.

This means I can't play games! :(

#3 Another Canuck

Another Canuck

    David

  • Joined: 24-October 06
  • Location: Ontario, Canada

Posted 03 March 2012 - 06:08

Try re-installing the drivers. Do a custom installation and uncheck all the 3D Vision stuff and Nvidia Update. Be sure to check "Perform a clean install"

#4 OP WizardCM

WizardCM

    Matt

  • Joined: 06-March 09
  • Location: Melbourne, AUS
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro x64

Posted 03 March 2012 - 08:09

Try re-installing the drivers. Do a custom installation and uncheck all the 3D Vision stuff and Nvidia Update. Be sure to check "Perform a clean install"


Alright, so I've done that. Now I have no boot problems, but still get a BSOD when trying to access the "Manage 3D Settings" (ie. defining GPU per program) page of the Nvidia control panel.

The error provided by the BSOD is IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL. Will check Event Viewer now.

#5 Another Canuck

Another Canuck

    David

  • Joined: 24-October 06
  • Location: Ontario, Canada

Posted 03 March 2012 - 08:47

Does your laptop have switchable graphics ("Nvidia Optimus") If so, have you installed the Intel Graphics drivers?

#6 OP WizardCM

WizardCM

    Matt

  • Joined: 06-March 09
  • Location: Melbourne, AUS
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro x64

Posted 03 March 2012 - 08:56

It does, and I currently have the Microsoft WDDM 1.2 Intel HD Graphics drivers.

#7 Another Canuck

Another Canuck

    David

  • Joined: 24-October 06
  • Location: Ontario, Canada

Posted 03 March 2012 - 09:08

It does, and I currently have the Microsoft WDDM 1.2 Intel HD Graphics drivers.


That might be your issue there. My guess is it's throwing a fit when switching from Intel to Nvidia.

I would try installing the latest drivers from Intel: http://downloadcente...oadType=Drivers

#8 OP WizardCM

WizardCM

    Matt

  • Joined: 06-March 09
  • Location: Melbourne, AUS
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro x64

Posted 03 March 2012 - 09:11

That might be your issue there. My guess is it's throwing a fit when switching from Intel to Nvidia.

I would try installing the latest drivers from Intel: http://downloadcente...oadType=Drivers


Installing now, I'll let you know how it goes.

Edit: "This computer does not meet the minimum requirements for installing the software."

#9 tomasarson

tomasarson

    i can't control my body

  • Joined: 04-June 03
  • Location: phoenix

Posted 03 March 2012 - 09:14

don't forget that this is only a preview.

#10 OP WizardCM

WizardCM

    Matt

  • Joined: 06-March 09
  • Location: Melbourne, AUS
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro x64

Posted 03 March 2012 - 09:17

don't forget that this is only a preview.


Of course, but I never had any problems with Windows 7 6801, and that was a leaked build. Although, I had a completely different laptop.

#11 tomasarson

tomasarson

    i can't control my body

  • Joined: 04-June 03
  • Location: phoenix

Posted 03 March 2012 - 09:23

Of course, but I never had any problems with Windows 7 6801, and that was a leaked build. Although, I had a completely different laptop.


when i tried to install this new cp from the .exe it told me my cpu wasnt qualified because it wasn't 1ghz or more.

i have an i7 2600k.

then i tried from an iso and it told me that i didn't have a 64 bit processor.

lots of tinkering and finally got it running. never had issues with the 7 previews/betas/leaks. but i didnt have the same system.

i hope you find your way, this is the best place to ask for help. (unless budman treats you like you're a total ******* like he always does.)

#12 OP WizardCM

WizardCM

    Matt

  • Joined: 06-March 09
  • Location: Melbourne, AUS
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro x64

Posted 04 March 2012 - 01:46

So, still no luck finding a proper working driver for the Intel HD Graphics card. :(

#13 OP WizardCM

WizardCM

    Matt

  • Joined: 06-March 09
  • Location: Melbourne, AUS
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro x64

Posted 04 March 2012 - 03:16

After a few hours of troubleshooting hoops, I finally have installed compatible Intel display drivers that fix the issue altogether. Damn system requirement checks made it all the more harder.

Thanks for the help David, really appreciate it.

#14 machiz7888

machiz7888

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 06-March 12

Posted 06 March 2012 - 15:35

After a few hours of troubleshooting hoops, I finally have installed compatible Intel display drivers that fix the issue altogether. Damn system requirement checks made it all the more harder.

Thanks for the help David, really appreciate it.


So, I've got the exact Same problem. I've got an xps 15z. What'd you actually do to get the intel driver to install? I can't get it to :/

#15 OP WizardCM

WizardCM

    Matt

  • Joined: 06-March 09
  • Location: Melbourne, AUS
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro x64

Posted 06 March 2012 - 20:45

So, I've got the exact Same problem. I've got an xps 15z. What'd you actually do to get the intel driver to install? I can't get it to :/


Try this for x64 and this for x86. As I said, it took a while to get working drivers.You want to try getting them off the Dell website too, rather than the Intel one.