Jump to content



Photo

win 8 on multiple monitor VM setup?

win8 multiple monitors virtual machine

  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 capr

capr

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 01-July 05

Posted 03 March 2012 - 20:13

So I am running virtual box 4.1.8 and am trying to give 2 additional screens to my win-8 consumer preview to test things out and see if they added new features.... It's not going well

has anyone got this working? got any good news? I am wondering how the start screen works with multiple monitors. does it just span across all of them or blackout two while showing you the main? In videos of the dev preview, it seemed to stay on one screen and you had your traditional desktop on the other screen. I wish I could play with this myself.


#2 SubZenit

SubZenit

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 11-August 10
  • Location: localhost
  • OS: Windows 7

Posted 03 March 2012 - 20:17

So I am running virtual box 4.1.8 and am trying to give 2 additional screens to my win-8 consumer preview to test things out and see if they added new features.... It's not going well

has anyone got this working? got any good news? I am wondering how the start screen works with multiple monitors. does it just span across all of them or blackout two while showing you the main?


I'm also wondering how the App snap works on multiple monitor setup, would you be able to snap a different app on each monitor? or it's limited only to one no matter how many monitors you got.

#3 Proculsi

Proculsi

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 16-October 06
  • Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina

Posted 03 March 2012 - 20:55

Hi! I have a PC with 2 screens.
The Start screens only works on the main screen. The second screen always displays the desktop.
You cannot snap metro apps on the second screen.

I think Microsoft have to do a lot of work to support multiple monitors in Win8.

#4 OP capr

capr

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 01-July 05

Posted 03 March 2012 - 22:57

Hi! I have a PC with 2 screens.
The Start screens only works on the main screen. The second screen always displays the desktop.
You cannot snap metro apps on the second screen.

I think Microsoft have to do a lot of work to support multiple monitors in Win8.

Do you have a full taskbar on your extended monitor? other than the start screen, what differentiates the extended monitor from the primary?

#5 The_Observer

The_Observer

    Apples, Bananas, Rhinoceros!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 12-April 05
  • Location: New Zealand
  • OS: OS X 10.9
  • Phone: iPhone5s

Posted 03 March 2012 - 22:59

Do you have a full taskbar on your extended monitor? other than the start screen, what differentiates the extended monitor from the primary?



You have full taskbar over both screen, so far there have been little updates on dual screen. you make one screen your primary screen. You can do this though taskbar or the old way.

#6 HellboundIRL

HellboundIRL

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 24-January 06
  • Location: Ireland
  • OS: Windows 7 x64
  • Phone: Nexus 5

Posted 03 March 2012 - 23:02

I'm using vmware player and have had no problems enabling multi monitor, you should give that a try instead.

#7 lewonto

lewonto

    Resident One Post Wonder

  • Joined: 01-June 12

Posted 01 June 2012 - 03:44

I'm using vmware player...you should give that a try instead.


That is a pitiful, lazy answer.

Capr, "Install Guest Addons". It's an available option under the File Menu for the virtual box. You will find it it at the bottom of the "Devices" menu.

#8 nub

nub

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 19-November 06
  • Location: Amerika

Posted 01 June 2012 - 03:54

I found vmware player works much better than virtualbox tbh

#9 remixedcat

remixedcat

    meow!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 28-December 10
  • Location: Vmware ESXi and Hyper-V happy clouds
  • OS: Windows Server 2012 R2
  • Phone: I use telepathy and cat meows to communicate

Posted 01 June 2012 - 05:45

vmware FTW!!!!