Jump to content



Photo

Planetside 2


  • Please log in to reply
87 replies to this topic

#46 Nothing Here

Nothing Here

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 23-February 08
  • Location: California, U.S.A.
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro / Kororaa 17

Posted 08 September 2012 - 22:54

dammit, i keep missing these giveaways. :(


Joint the crowd. :/


#47 OP Yusuf M.

Yusuf M.

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 25-May 04
  • Location: Toronto, ON
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro
  • Phone: OnePlus One 64GB

Posted 07 October 2012 - 10:33

dammit, i keep missing these giveaways. :(

Joint the crowd. :/

I can hook you guys up with some keys if you still want them. :)

#48 Nothing Here

Nothing Here

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 23-February 08
  • Location: California, U.S.A.
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro / Kororaa 17

Posted 07 October 2012 - 13:03

Thanx Anaron. But, I think I will sit this one out. I got to watch my nephew playing it and I think I will wait.

#49 Singh400

Singh400

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 02-February 10

Posted 08 October 2012 - 14:53

Started playing this now, seeing as I got bored of BF3. And it's a proper laugh with friends on TS.

It can be a bit daunting at first, there is no tutorial or anything like that. It just throws you in at the deep-end. Luckily, a couple of friends guided me through it. And I'm now getting used to all of it. Mainly playing TR at the moment, but I'll think I'll start multiple characters once it goes final.

Only played a few of the classes - Medic, Light, Heavy and Engineer. Thankfully a lot of the tactics I learnt in other FPSes are easily transferred so I have no problems with infantry encounters (easy to a kill streak if you flank the enemy). I find the lack of grenades a bit weird, I don't like the idea of buying them each time (or whatever you call it).

I do like the idea of limited ammo in vehicles, as it adds a new spin on that element. Loving the Sunny and the Prowler. Certed my Sunny to be able to deploy and become a spawn point for my squad is really handy. The Prowler is awesome, I can see me spending more time in that. TKs come way too easy in vehicles though. They need to do something about that.

The whole squad/platoon thing is awesome. We have like 4 squads in a platoon, and we had these massive ships that would ferry us from one place to the next. It's a frigging sight to see 30+ people unload out a ship and storm your base.

30 mins can easily turn into hours with this game, this is a good thing IMO, well mostly a good thing! :D

#50 Singh400

Singh400

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 02-February 10

Posted 18 October 2012 - 02:14

Shocked no one on Neowin is playing this. It's a great game that is completely team-play centric.

#51 PGHammer

PGHammer

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 31-August 03
  • Location: Accokeek, MD
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro with Media Center x64

Posted 21 October 2012 - 06:27

Shocked no one on Neowin is playing this. It's a great game that is completely team-play centric.


Things had been relatively tight as far as getting into the current beta has been - I found an account waiting for me *yesterday* after weeks and weeks of coming up empty.

My current system is under the current power curve; however, it's because my CPU is a first-gen Intel quad-core, while my GPU is the AMD HD5450, and it's still more the CPU than GPU.

I'm working on getting upgraded hardware-wise, and it's still a fun game to play besides my system being too wimpy. (And that is despite having a transport shot out from under me, and getting whacked by a tank - twice - in a hasty defense.)

#52 trag3dy

trag3dy

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 03-March 05
  • Location: USA

Posted 22 October 2012 - 19:16

So for the second time in as many weeks I've gotten an email saying I've been accepted into the beta for this game. And yet when I follow the instructions in the email there is no actual way to download the client. And a quick look through their forums shows I'm not the only one this has happened to.

Anyone else experience this and find a way to get the client to work?

#53 Dreamspell

Dreamspell

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 31-December 08
  • Location: Grenada
  • OS: Windows 7
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia Icon

Posted 22 October 2012 - 20:40

So for the second time in as many weeks I've gotten an email saying I've been accepted into the beta for this game. And yet when I follow the instructions in the email there is no actual way to download the client. And a quick look through their forums shows I'm not the only one this has happened to.

Anyone else experience this and find a way to get the client to work?


planetside2.com/download doesn't work?

#54 trag3dy

trag3dy

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 03-March 05
  • Location: USA

Posted 23 October 2012 - 03:02

planetside2.com/download doesn't work?


Nope. It just takes me to their front page.

#55 Dreamspell

Dreamspell

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 31-December 08
  • Location: Grenada
  • OS: Windows 7
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia Icon

Posted 23 October 2012 - 11:36

Nope. It just takes me to their front page.

I remember back in August many people had the same problem, but I can't remember how to fix it. I would upload the installer, but it would be better if you contact SOEs customer support @ http://help.station....tail/a_id/10404

#56 trag3dy

trag3dy

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 03-March 05
  • Location: USA

Posted 27 October 2012 - 23:39

Nvm. As soon as I posted this it got sorted out. :wacko:

#57 Lindkvist

Lindkvist

  • Joined: 07-July 02

Posted 04 November 2012 - 10:53

Got 1 key for grabs, if anyone needs it.
first to reply here with a request, gets it.

I'm only handing out to active members, since last time i gave a key away,
it was a 1 post member who didn't even bother to say thank you, after getting the key.

(i wont be home for next next couple of hours, since i have to go to work today)

#58 sc305495

sc305495

    "do or do not, there is no try"

  • Joined: 30-November 03
  • Location: CT

Posted 05 November 2012 - 04:44

I'll be playing, i'll be sure to post my username once my game installs!

#59 McCordRm

McCordRm

    http://richardmccord.com

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 06-July 06
  • Location: Dallas, TX

Posted 05 November 2012 - 10:48

Any more Keys for this?

#60 McCordRm

McCordRm

    http://richardmccord.com

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 06-July 06
  • Location: Dallas, TX

Posted 06 November 2012 - 00:17

Well, I tried to get the Beta up and running but I keep getting
an "insufficient storage" error when it goes to patch. I've searched
the knowledge base at the SOE website but it had nothing, and there
are numerous complaints in the official forum with no answers.

I'm leaning towards avoiding this game all together.