Jump to content



Photo

Is there a good and free converter from FlAC to ALAC?

flac alac good converter

  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 Jose_49

Jose_49

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 30-July 09

Posted 10 April 2012 - 00:47

Hi guys. Since it's been some time since Apple made ALAC Open Source I thought that many programs were going to start including it as a conversion format. Unfortunately, when i Google it, I get flooded by paid software which do that.

Does anyone have a good way to do this?

Thanks (Y)


#2 xendrome

xendrome

    In God We Trust; All Others We Monitor

  • Tech Issues Solved: 8
  • Joined: 05-December 01
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro x64

Posted 10 April 2012 - 00:52

Didn't check this one myself, but may http://www.freemake....udio_converter/ does?

#3 Blaze_Zewi

Blaze_Zewi

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 07-October 10

Posted 10 April 2012 - 00:56

Whats wrong with FLAC?

#4 Berserk87

Berserk87

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 14-June 05
  • Location: BC, Canada

Posted 10 April 2012 - 02:11

Whats wrong with FLAC?


You cant use flac on an ipod/iphone, you have to convert it to apple lossless.

#5 Berserk87

Berserk87

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 14-June 05
  • Location: BC, Canada

Posted 10 April 2012 - 02:13

dbpoweramp converter is the best thing ive found and takes advantage of multiple cores.
ive used it myself and its amazing, but its paid.

http://www.dbpoweramp.com/dmc.htm

#6 remixedcat

remixedcat

    meow!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 28-December 10
  • Location: Vmware ESXi and Hyper-V happy clouds
  • OS: Windows Server 2012 R2
  • Phone: I use telepathy and cat meows to communicate

Posted 10 April 2012 - 02:26

dbpoweramp converter is the best thing ive found and takes advantage of multiple cores.
ive used it myself and its amazing, but its paid.

http://www.dbpoweramp.com/dmc.htm


+1 for that! I love it. It's worth the cost. I love the right click menu process and it uses multi-cores.,... where each core processes a song. very cool.

it also has a batch converter as well..

#7 lars77

lars77

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 18-April 08
  • Location: USA

Posted 10 April 2012 - 03:16

Last time I had to do this I used qaac. It's a command line encoder, it'll work fine if you have iTunes/Quicktime already installed (which I'm 99% sure you already have if you're using an iPod/iPhone).

Once you have the command line down you can either do it all through batch files, or add it as an encoder in another program (e.g. Foobar2000 would be a good choice) & then just run conversions though there.

#8 UXGaurav

UXGaurav

    Tried Classic Shell? It has 10 million+ downloads & growing

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 18-October 05
  • Location: Windows
  • OS: Windows

Posted 14 April 2012 - 04:24

+1 for dMC too. It's the BEST.

#9 Torolol

Torolol

  • Joined: 24-November 12

Posted 05 July 2013 - 06:33

so why iStuff hates FLAC anyway?



#10 z0phi3l

z0phi3l

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 11-June 02
  • Location: Waterbury CT
  • OS: Win 8
  • Phone: Android

Posted 17 September 2013 - 03:11

so why iStuff hates FLAC anyway?

 

Apple's way of screwing over their customers more when they had to repurchase songs in the "new" format



#11 The_Decryptor

The_Decryptor

    STEAL THE DECLARATION OF INDEPENDENCE

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 28-September 02
  • Location: Sol System
  • OS: iSymbian 9.2 SP24.8 Mars Bar

Posted 17 September 2013 - 04:49

so why iStuff hates FLAC anyway?


Same reason stuff doesn't support MKV, they just didn't consider it important.



Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!