Jump to content



Photo

Is there a good and free converter from FlAC to ALAC?

flac alac good converter

  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 Jose_49

Jose_49

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 30-July 09

Posted 10 April 2012 - 00:47

Hi guys. Since it's been some time since Apple made ALAC Open Source I thought that many programs were going to start including it as a conversion format. Unfortunately, when i Google it, I get flooded by paid software which do that.

Does anyone have a good way to do this?

Thanks (Y)


#2 xendrome

xendrome

    In God We Trust; All Others We Monitor

  • Tech Issues Solved: 9
  • Joined: 05-December 01
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro x64

Posted 10 April 2012 - 00:52

Didn't check this one myself, but may http://www.freemake....udio_converter/ does?

#3 Blaze_Zewi

Blaze_Zewi

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 07-October 10

Posted 10 April 2012 - 00:56

Whats wrong with FLAC?

#4 Berserk87

Berserk87

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 14-June 05
  • Location: BC, Canada

Posted 10 April 2012 - 02:11

Whats wrong with FLAC?


You cant use flac on an ipod/iphone, you have to convert it to apple lossless.

#5 Berserk87

Berserk87

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 14-June 05
  • Location: BC, Canada

Posted 10 April 2012 - 02:13

dbpoweramp converter is the best thing ive found and takes advantage of multiple cores.
ive used it myself and its amazing, but its paid.

http://www.dbpoweramp.com/dmc.htm

#6 remixedcat

remixedcat

    meow!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 28-December 10
  • Location: Vmware ESXi and Hyper-V happy clouds
  • OS: Windows Server 2012 R2
  • Phone: I use telepathy and cat meows to communicate

Posted 10 April 2012 - 02:26

dbpoweramp converter is the best thing ive found and takes advantage of multiple cores.
ive used it myself and its amazing, but its paid.

http://www.dbpoweramp.com/dmc.htm


+1 for that! I love it. It's worth the cost. I love the right click menu process and it uses multi-cores.,... where each core processes a song. very cool.

it also has a batch converter as well..

#7 lars77

lars77

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 18-April 08
  • Location: USA

Posted 10 April 2012 - 03:16

Last time I had to do this I used qaac. It's a command line encoder, it'll work fine if you have iTunes/Quicktime already installed (which I'm 99% sure you already have if you're using an iPod/iPhone).

Once you have the command line down you can either do it all through batch files, or add it as an encoder in another program (e.g. Foobar2000 would be a good choice) & then just run conversions though there.

#8 UXGaurav

UXGaurav

    Tried Classic Shell? It has 15 million+ downloads & growing

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 18-October 05
  • Location: Windows
  • OS: Windows

Posted 14 April 2012 - 04:24

+1 for dMC too. It's the BEST.

#9 Torolol

Torolol

  • Joined: 24-November 12

Posted 05 July 2013 - 06:33

so why iStuff hates FLAC anyway?



#10 Anibal P

Anibal P

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 11-June 02
  • Location: Waterbury CT
  • OS: Win 8.1
  • Phone: Android

Posted 17 September 2013 - 03:11

so why iStuff hates FLAC anyway?

 

Apple's way of screwing over their customers more when they had to repurchase songs in the "new" format



#11 The_Decryptor

The_Decryptor

    STEAL THE DECLARATION OF INDEPENDENCE

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 28-September 02
  • Location: Sol System
  • OS: iSymbian 9.2 SP24.8 Mars Bar

Posted 17 September 2013 - 04:49

so why iStuff hates FLAC anyway?


Same reason stuff doesn't support MKV, they just didn't consider it important.