Jump to content



Photo

Imac G4


  • Please log in to reply
170 replies to this topic

#16 OP startrek1997

startrek1997

    MacHaxing!

  • Joined: 30-April 12
  • Location: Pennsylvania
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro 64-bit & Mac Os X 10.9
  • Phone: Verizon Iphone 5s gold 16 gb Running Ios 7.1

Posted 02 May 2012 - 17:48

800Mhz will leave you at 10.4. 10.5 requires at least a 867 (it can be bypassed but you're still going to be running 10.5 on underpowered hardware).

I'd try to get at least a 1Ghz model (the last few G4 iMacs also came with USB 2.0). But again, it all depends on your needs and the cost. A cheaper, slower G4 with Tiger could do you just fine.

I have about $100 to spend. (Its all in ebay cards =/) But i have been looking in to some on ebay.Hopefully i will have one by the start of next week.


#17 OP startrek1997

startrek1997

    MacHaxing!

  • Joined: 30-April 12
  • Location: Pennsylvania
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro 64-bit & Mac Os X 10.9
  • Phone: Verizon Iphone 5s gold 16 gb Running Ios 7.1

Posted 02 May 2012 - 23:29

Well, its done. Thanks to every ones input i whent for the iMac g4 Off of ebay for $80. Even if i dont use it much i can still have it siting around and looking cool. :rofl:

#18 protocol7

protocol7

    It's Fumbles. It was always Fumbles.

  • Joined: 06-May 09

Posted 03 May 2012 - 00:04

I'm sure you'll have fun with your "new" toy :) It'll be a bit weak with some internet stuff like Flash, but you can still load it up with older software for music, graphics, productivity etc.

And a few games of course.

#19 OP startrek1997

startrek1997

    MacHaxing!

  • Joined: 30-April 12
  • Location: Pennsylvania
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro 64-bit & Mac Os X 10.9
  • Phone: Verizon Iphone 5s gold 16 gb Running Ios 7.1

Posted 03 May 2012 - 00:13

Lol. thanks. Hopefully i wont get "Riped-off" but ya.....any sugestions on softwhere i could load into it what does that stuff? Any feedback would be appreciated and yes this is my first mac :D

#20 Enron

Enron

    Windows for Workgroups

  • Joined: 30-May 11
  • OS: Windows 8.1 U1
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 900

Posted 03 May 2012 - 00:16

I use my PowerBook G4 as a decoy laptop, so if a burglar ever came in, they'd think they're getting some hot new Apple product but in reality they're just getting a paperweight.

#21 OP startrek1997

startrek1997

    MacHaxing!

  • Joined: 30-April 12
  • Location: Pennsylvania
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro 64-bit & Mac Os X 10.9
  • Phone: Verizon Iphone 5s gold 16 gb Running Ios 7.1

Posted 03 May 2012 - 00:17

wow...lol

#22 +Karl L.

Karl L.

    xorangekiller

  • Tech Issues Solved: 15
  • Joined: 24-January 09
  • Location: Virginia, USA
  • OS: Debian Testing

Posted 03 May 2012 - 00:47

I just wanted to comment that I have a 1.5 GHz PowerBook G4 that runs Debian Squeeze quite nicely.

In fact, I'm also using the latest Firefox release (12.0) with the same bookmarks and addons as my AMD64 system. However, I couldn't find any up-to-date Firefox (Iceweasel) builds packaged for Squeeze (if you want to run the Debian Wheezy, the current testing release, you can get it) so I compile them myself from the debianized source.

Despite having up-to-date software, however, flash runs poorly (it pushes the processor to max which causes most stuff to not run). Also, VLC will not play HD (>480p) content. MPlayer will play 720p, but it requires hard frame dropping.

#23 Dubstep Nixon

Dubstep Nixon

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 08-August 05
  • Location: USA

Posted 03 May 2012 - 00:55

I still have a Powerbook 1400c from 1996 that I use occasionally, mostly for word processing, reading ebooks or playing old games. It is pretty heavy by today's standards but it has a great keyboard. Old computers can still be useful for many things, even if just for the enjoyment of having one.

#24 vetTHolman

THolman

    Mystery Tramp

  • Joined: 17-September 11
  • Location: Georgia

Posted 03 May 2012 - 00:57

Sheesh... you guys are all talking about how old and useless the machine is, yet I've got an Apple II hooked up in the basement ;)

#25 Mr. Dee

Mr. Dee

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 11-April 03
  • Location: Caribbean
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro, Windows 7 Professional, Windows XP Professional

Posted 03 May 2012 - 01:01

I would get one if I know it was so cheap, $80. I would try getting OS 10.2, 10.3 and 10.4 partition it up and load them. You can also get copies of some old OS X apps like Office X, Office 2004 and older versions of Photoshop like version 6 and CS and load them up. I actually liked the icons and the UI from that era.

#26 vetTHolman

THolman

    Mystery Tramp

  • Joined: 17-September 11
  • Location: Georgia

Posted 03 May 2012 - 01:06

I actually liked the icons and the UI from that era.


Nothing wrong with that - it still looks pretty darned good, and I still love it. But for me, the G3 is still the most beautiful computer ever made ;)

#27 OP startrek1997

startrek1997

    MacHaxing!

  • Joined: 30-April 12
  • Location: Pennsylvania
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro 64-bit & Mac Os X 10.9
  • Phone: Verizon Iphone 5s gold 16 gb Running Ios 7.1

Posted 03 May 2012 - 01:11

May i ask what Debian Squeeze is?? :huh:

#28 The_Decryptor

The_Decryptor

    STEAL THE DECLARATION OF INDEPENDENCE

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 28-September 02
  • Location: Sol System
  • OS: iSymbian 9.2 SP24.8 Mars Bar

Posted 03 May 2012 - 02:18

It's an alternative OS for it, based on Linux.

Linux (and the *BSD releases) provide pretty good support for the old macs, but you're still limited by the hardware in any case. I have an old beige G3 I want to put NetBSD on, I can't do much with it though afterwards.

#29 OP startrek1997

startrek1997

    MacHaxing!

  • Joined: 30-April 12
  • Location: Pennsylvania
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro 64-bit & Mac Os X 10.9
  • Phone: Verizon Iphone 5s gold 16 gb Running Ios 7.1

Posted 03 May 2012 - 15:15

Whats the max ram the imac can support?? Is it 1.5 gb?

#30 protocol7

protocol7

    It's Fumbles. It was always Fumbles.

  • Joined: 06-May 09

Posted 03 May 2012 - 15:27

It's 1GB according to here. There's some handy info here for upgrades.



Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!