Jump to content



Photo

Computer keeps going to BSOD while playing games. Help!


  • Please log in to reply
47 replies to this topic

#16 butilikethecookie

butilikethecookie

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 05-March 12

Posted 17 May 2012 - 20:40

Happened to me yesterday. Bump down your overclocking a little bit. Have been running Skyrim error free ever since.


#17 OP kalizar

kalizar

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 07-October 03
  • Location: St. Augustine, FL
  • OS: Windows 7 Ultimate
  • Phone: iPhone 4S

Posted 21 May 2012 - 08:05

A couple of questions:
1. Are you overclocking?
2. Are you manually setting dram timings / voltages?
3. When did this start happening? Recently? As soon as you put the machine together? After changing a component?
4. What BIOS settings are you using?

There are a few things you can do:
1. Run Prime95 to stress test your cpu independently of the GPU.
2. Run Memtest86 all the way though.
3. Run 3DMark test.
4. Load up a different OS, for example Ubuntu, and try running a game there. Does it BSOD on all games, or just high end ones?
5. You seem to have a lot of memory there. Try just 4GB.
6. If you changed hardware recently, Ι'd suggest resetting the bios to defaults.
7. Try updating your BIOS.


1. CCC was using "overdrive." It wasn't set past normal clock speeds, but I turned it off anyway. I have not manually overclocked anything. Everything is stock to my knowledge.
2. No
3. Computer started blue screening right after I put it together. It would only go to blue screen when trying to wake the computer from sleep. I turned off sleep mode and viola, problem solved. It recently resurfaced when playing some more graphically intense games. It didn't happen for a few days, but it happened again just now. Every time it happens, it says it was due to ntoskrnl.exe. Here is the wikipedia page about it.
4. Default settings

My friend has this same "copy" of windows, and his gets the same errors. Do I have a corrupt version, or a corrupt ntoskrnl.exe? Is there any way to replace just this file? If I boot my windows disc and go to repair will it find and replace this corrupt file? Is this even possible if the file on the disc is corrupt itself?

#18 Steven P.

Steven P.

    aka Neobond

  • Tech Issues Solved: 88
  • Joined: 09-July 01
  • Location: Neowin HQ

Posted 21 May 2012 - 08:17

This only ever happened to me for a couple of reasons, the card I had when I inspected it showed that the fan was clogged full of dust, the PC was dusty too, cleaning everything out and reseating the fan fixed the problem.

Another (more common than you would believe) is that the PC unit doesn't have enough "breathing space" so ensure there is at least a minimum of 2 to 3 inches space on each side and at the back.of the unit, if you've enclosed it in a desk that could be another reason as well (overheating).

#19 OP kalizar

kalizar

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 07-October 03
  • Location: St. Augustine, FL
  • OS: Windows 7 Ultimate
  • Phone: iPhone 4S

Posted 21 May 2012 - 08:24

This only ever happened to me for a couple of reasons, the card I had when I inspected it showed that the fan was clogged full of dust, the PC was dusty too, cleaning everything out and reseating the fan fixed the problem.

Another (more common than you would believe) is that the PC unit doesn't have enough "breathing space" so ensure there is at least a minimum of 2 to 3 inches space on each side and at the back.of the unit, if you've enclosed it in a desk that could be another reason as well (overheating).


Well hello Neobond! I was thinking overheating was the problem, so I took some steps to try and make the computer cooler, including moving it more into the open, opening the side and pointing a desk fan into it, etc. Then I remember that my case fans were making a funny noise one day, and I turned them all the way as low as they would go. I turned them full blast again, and thought all was well. However, BSOD again just now.

Nothing in the case is very dusty, seeing as the computer is pretty new.

As I mentioned, it is always ntoskrnl.exe causing the problem, and I don't really know how to remedy that.

#20 Steven P.

Steven P.

    aka Neobond

  • Tech Issues Solved: 88
  • Joined: 09-July 01
  • Location: Neowin HQ

Posted 21 May 2012 - 08:27

As I mentioned, it is always ntoskrnl.exe causing the problem, and I don't really know how to remedy that.


Hi there :) What version of Windows is it? Maybe a dumb question but are you up to date with Windows Update? Another thing you might want to try is to check your motherboard manufacturer site and see if there is a BIOS update (look why there is an update if there is).

Can't really think of anything else other than trying to reinstall Windows? If you do that try to see if you can image your current C:\ drive so you can restore it if that doesn't help.

#21 OP kalizar

kalizar

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 07-October 03
  • Location: St. Augustine, FL
  • OS: Windows 7 Ultimate
  • Phone: iPhone 4S

Posted 21 May 2012 - 08:31

Hi there :) What version of Windows is it? Maybe a dumb question but are you up to date with Windows Update? Another thing you might want to try is to check your motherboard manufacturer site and see if there is a BIOS update (look why there is an update if there is).

Can't really think of anything else other than trying to reinstall Windows? If you do that try to see if you can image your current C:\ drive so you can restore it if that doesn't help.


Windows 7 Ultimate, which is up-to-date. I've already updated my BIOS when the mobo wasn't reading temperatures correctly.

It's looking like a fresh install may be in store for me, but I really don't know if it will help in my situation.

#22 Steven P.

Steven P.

    aka Neobond

  • Tech Issues Solved: 88
  • Joined: 09-July 01
  • Location: Neowin HQ

Posted 21 May 2012 - 08:35

ntoskrnl.exe exits, but isn't the cause of the problem (it's a protected system file that can't be modified) so your ntoskrnl.exe is the same as mine ;) It's probably still driver related. You might also want to do a search for the graphics card + driver version you are using on Google and see if others are having the same problem.

Sometimes rolling back to an earlier driver version fixes weird issues too.

#23 OP kalizar

kalizar

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 07-October 03
  • Location: St. Augustine, FL
  • OS: Windows 7 Ultimate
  • Phone: iPhone 4S

Posted 21 May 2012 - 09:06

ntoskrnl.exe exits, but isn't the cause of the problem (it's a protected system file that can't be modified) so your ntoskrnl.exe is the same as mine ;) It's probably still driver related. You might also want to do a search for the graphics card + driver version you are using on Google and see if others are having the same problem.

Sometimes rolling back to an earlier driver version fixes weird issues too.


Ok. I was thinking ntoskrnl.exe WAS the problem, but it makes more sense that it's failing due to something else. I did a little research and it seems there is a fairly large community who believes catalyst 11.9 is the best version, especially when it comes to gaming.

I'm gonna give the older drivers a shot. I'll report back....

#24 Steven P.

Steven P.

    aka Neobond

  • Tech Issues Solved: 88
  • Joined: 09-July 01
  • Location: Neowin HQ

Posted 21 May 2012 - 09:08

Ok. I was thinking ntoskrnl.exe WAS the problem, but it makes more sense that it's failing due to something else. I did a little research and it seems there is a fairly large community who believes catalyst 11.9 is the best version, especially when it comes to gaming.

I'm gonna give the older drivers a shot. I'll report back....


You'll need to ensure all of the current drivers are wiped, look for a Catalyst driver sweeper before you install 11.9 and good luck (Y)

#25 OP kalizar

kalizar

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 07-October 03
  • Location: St. Augustine, FL
  • OS: Windows 7 Ultimate
  • Phone: iPhone 4S

Posted 21 May 2012 - 11:09

Alright, so I used the Catalyst 11.9 uninstall feature to remove 12.4, then installed. I didn't use driver sweeper because I figured the uninstall feature would have removed them.....

I then played Diablo III for almost 2 hours. Gameplay was choppy to say the least. My framerate was hovering right at about 100fps the whole time, but it was extremely choppy anyway. This eventually ended with a blue screen and of course a mixture of anger/sadness from me =P.

Sooooo. I just used driver sweeper to remove all traces of AMD/ATI drivers, and reinstalled Catalyst 11.9. Stay tuned...

#26 kopsarchidis

kopsarchidis

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 24-March 06

Posted 21 May 2012 - 11:21

Could you post the error dump please? This way you could get real help other than speculations.

#27 Steven P.

Steven P.

    aka Neobond

  • Tech Issues Solved: 88
  • Joined: 09-July 01
  • Location: Neowin HQ

Posted 21 May 2012 - 11:28

Alright, so I used the Catalyst 11.9 uninstall feature to remove 12.4, then installed. I didn't use driver sweeper because I figured the uninstall feature would have removed them.....

I then played Diablo III for almost 2 hours. Gameplay was choppy to say the least. My framerate was hovering right at about 100fps the whole time, but it was extremely choppy anyway. This eventually ended with a blue screen and of course a mixture of anger/sadness from me =P.

Sooooo. I just used driver sweeper to remove all traces of AMD/ATI drivers, and reinstalled Catalyst 11.9. Stay tuned...


Using an older uninstaller to remove a newer driver :/

Could you post the error dump please? This way you could get real help other than speculations.


http://www.neowin.ne...t__p__594871001

#28 jnelsoninjax

jnelsoninjax

    A custom title? Cool!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 16-December 07
  • Location: Jacksonville, FL
  • OS: Windows 7 Pro X64
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy Exhibit SGH-T599N

Posted 21 May 2012 - 13:58

...
My friend has this same "copy" of windows, and his gets the same errors. Do I have a corrupt version, or a corrupt ntoskrnl.exe? Is there any way to replace just this file? If I boot my windows disc and go to repair will it find and replace this corrupt file? Is this even possible if the file on the disc is corrupt itself?

I gather from that statement that your copy of windows is not legit? You should open an elevated command prompt and run:
sfc/scannow
this process will take a long time, but it will identify and (hopefully) correct any system files that are corrupted.

#29 OP kalizar

kalizar

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 07-October 03
  • Location: St. Augustine, FL
  • OS: Windows 7 Ultimate
  • Phone: iPhone 4S

Posted 25 May 2012 - 06:28

Okay, I thought I had it all figured out. The 11.9 drivers weren't perfect, but I didn't get any blue screens for a bit. However, I've had it twice since then, both with different reasons for why the BSOD happened.

I got a key for the Krater closed beta, and installed thru steam. I went to play, and it got to the step where it was installing Direct X, and I got the blue screen with this error:
On Wed 5/23/2012 5:39:52 AM GMT your computer crashed
crash dump file: C:\Windows\memory.dmp
This was probably caused by the following module: ntkrnlmp.exe (nt!KeBugCheckEx+0x0)
Bugcheck code: 0xC9 (0x224, 0xFFFFF880060ED710, 0xFFFFF9805B7A08B0, 0xFFFFFFFFC00000BB)
Error: DRIVER_VERIFIER_IOMANAGER_VIOLATION
Bug check description: This is the bug check code for all Driver Verifier
This appears to be a typical software driver bug and is not likely to be caused by a hardware problem.
The crash took place in the Windows kernel. Possibly this problem is caused by another driver which cannot be identified at this time.


Then, I left my computer on overnight and went to bed. When I woke up, the computer was turned off. I powered on and checked the error, and it showed this:
On Wed 5/23/2012 5:39:52 AM GMT your computer crashed
crash dump file: C:\Windows\Minidump\052312-29312-01.dmp
This was probably caused by the following module: hidclass.sys (HIDCLASS+0x2710)
Bugcheck code: 0xC9 (0x224, 0xFFFFF880060ED710, 0xFFFFF9805B7A08B0, 0xFFFFFFFFC00000BB)
Error: DRIVER_VERIFIER_IOMANAGER_VIOLATION
file path: C:\Windows\system32\drivers\hidclass.sys
product: Microsoft® Windows® Operating System
company: Microsoft Corporation
description: Hid Class Library
Bug check description: This is the bug check code for all Driver Verifier
This appears to be a typical software driver bug and is not likely to be caused by a hardware problem.
The crash took place in a standard Microsoft module. Your system configuration may be incorrect. Possibly this problem is caused by another driver on your system which cannot be identified at this time.


Both recent times were caused by the Bug Check codes 0xC9 (0x224, 0xFFFFF880060ED710, 0xFFFFF9805B7A08B0, 0xFFFFFFFFC00000BB). Can anyone make sense of these. I tried google, but I don't understand much of what I'm reading.

I'm at a loss here.... anybody got anything?????

@jnelsoninjax, i'll try that. Is an "elevated command prompt" the same as a "command prompt?" Probably a stupid question, but I've never heard of that before...

#30 Steven P.

Steven P.

    aka Neobond

  • Tech Issues Solved: 88
  • Joined: 09-July 01
  • Location: Neowin HQ

Posted 25 May 2012 - 06:33

It's looking like you might have to start over :/ Reinstall Windows, install the drivers that came with the card and then update?