Jump to content



Photo

  • Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 cosrocket

cosrocket

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 06-September 05

Posted 27 May 2012 - 16:40

My friend has a PC running Windows XP. He called me and said while he was on the internet, he lost his connection and since then has not been able to access the web. I went over and tried to trouble shoot the problem. After checking his connection and seeing that it was fine, I booted into safe mode, and in safe mode there is no problem connecting to the internet. I booted back into normal mode and cannot connect. I noticed that he was not running an antivirus program so that makes me suspiscious that it could be a virus, although the computer is behaving fine otherwise (no popups or messages or anything like that, and for the computers age it is running at the speed you would expect.

I installed Malwarebytes in safemode and ran it, but it didn’t find anything maliscious. I also wanted to do a system restore to an earlier time, but it was turned off all this time so there is no restore point to roll back to.

So the big question…what do you think the problem is? And short of doing a reformat which would really be a last resort because his PC has files all over the place, what is the next step in trying to rectify this problem. Other than this the PC seems to be running ok, so I would really like to avoid such a drastic measure.


#2 pupdawg21

pupdawg21

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 16-June 09

Posted 27 May 2012 - 16:45

Is the system getting a valid IP address in Normal mode?

#3 vetsanctified

sanctified

    Your order is meaningless. My chaos is significant.

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 29-November 01
  • Location: ø
  • OS: OS X 10.10 and Xubuntu 14.04
  • Phone: iPhone 5s

Posted 27 May 2012 - 16:47

If can access internet in safe mode then It's safe to assume a third party driver loading in normal mode it's the cause.

#4 OP cosrocket

cosrocket

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 06-September 05

Posted 27 May 2012 - 17:03

Is the system getting a valid IP address in Normal mode?

Yes, it did have a valid ip address in normal mode

#5 Dot Matrix

Dot Matrix

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 8
  • Joined: 14-November 11
  • Location: Upstate New York
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 920

Posted 27 May 2012 - 17:06

Boot into normal mode, and see if you can grab a screen of the running processes, and then post it here. It'll help us figure this out, but speaking from experience, it's either going to be a piece of malware hiding in the system or a driver issue.

#6 vetsanctified

sanctified

    Your order is meaningless. My chaos is significant.

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 29-November 01
  • Location: ø
  • OS: OS X 10.10 and Xubuntu 14.04
  • Phone: iPhone 5s

Posted 27 May 2012 - 17:07

Have you looked at your running services on normal mode?

#7 OP cosrocket

cosrocket

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 06-September 05

Posted 27 May 2012 - 17:08

If can access internet in safe mode then It's safe to assume a third party driver loading in normal mode it's the cause.

I checked in device manager and the ethernet card says there is no problem. Do you think it is corrupted?

#8 sava700

sava700

    Super Member

  • Joined: 17-February 08
  • Location: Nowhere Special
  • OS: Win 7 64 bit
  • Phone: nice phone

Posted 27 May 2012 - 17:12

sounds like an infection .... run avast home free boot scan and malwarebytes, should take care of any major issues. A ccleaner run couldn't hurt.

Check IE's network options make sure no proxy setting is done as most infections will change this to gain alternate access for its needs. You won't be able to update avast and malwarebytes without a connection. If you still can't get it working like that then pull the drive..slave it to another computer and scan malwarebytes on it or super antispyware.

#9 vetsanctified

sanctified

    Your order is meaningless. My chaos is significant.

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 29-November 01
  • Location: ø
  • OS: OS X 10.10 and Xubuntu 14.04
  • Phone: iPhone 5s

Posted 27 May 2012 - 17:12

I checked in device manager and the ethernet card says there is no problem. Do you think it is corrupted?


The tricky thing it's that it can be anything from an ethernet driver addon to a bluetooth driver (yes, it can happen that way). Im fairly sure it's a driver or service issue since it works in safemode. Try totally wiping the ethernet driver and reinstalling. If that does not work try disabling one by one every suspect service in service manager,

#10 Gerowen

Gerowen

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 28-August 05
  • Location: Hills of Kentucky
  • OS: Ubuntu Linux

Posted 27 May 2012 - 17:23

Malware that is loading in normal mode? If you have a valid IP, try to ping a few things. Try to ping your router, then try to ping Google (8.8.8.8 is their DNS server, or just google.com). I've seen some nasty malware that did things like this if you started in normal mode.

#11 EyEvil

EyEvil

    I let the dogs out!

  • Joined: 14-September 03
  • Location: Montréal, Québec, Canada

Posted 27 May 2012 - 17:26

Disable all services then reboot. Start each services one by one and reboot until you find which one is doing the issue

#12 OP cosrocket

cosrocket

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 06-September 05

Posted 27 May 2012 - 17:42

I appreciate all of the respones! I'm going to check a few other things tomorrow and get back. I did check if there was a proxy set but there wasn't.

#13 arachnoid

arachnoid

    A day without sunshine is like night.

  • Tech Issues Solved: 5
  • Joined: 03-November 11

Posted 27 May 2012 - 19:03

Turn off the firewall and see if it still occours

#14 KillTheIrishman

KillTheIrishman

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 12-April 12

Posted 27 May 2012 - 19:27

Turn off the firewall and see if it still occours

WTF? Are you serious? If there is an infection, by some chance, that would only worsen things. I would recommend running Comodo Free and see what it comes up with. Also, checking what others have already suggested.

#15 Axel

Axel

    --[Est. 1986]--

  • Joined: 05-August 03
  • Location: Milton Keynes, UK

Posted 27 May 2012 - 19:55

WTF? Are you serious? If there is an infection, by some chance, that would only worsen things. I would recommend running Comodo Free and see what it comes up with. Also, checking what others have already suggested.


It won't worsen anything. What do you expect is going to happen suddenly if the firewall is disabled? There's a high chance he's behind a router anyway, so he'll still be "firewalled" by that.