Photo

• Please log in to reply
26 replies to this topic

#1 henriko

henriko

Neowinian

Posted 31 May 2012 - 15:05

I have been programming C# for the last 6-7 years or so (yes so I’m one of the “coffee based” coders as well), before that mostly C++. At the moment I'm at a crossroad, undecided if I should switch back to C++11. Why you say? At this point mainly because I need performance, but on a grander scale because my gut feeling has started to worry me that there might be some changes coming and that C++ could be the right choice for the future?

Let me pull back a little. At the moment I'm about to start on a pretty large project, and since the project will be ridden with heavy math calculations, and I know performance will be very important, I was a little hesitant just to jump out and start implementing in C# (as I normally do). To be honest I want to choose C#, but I'm afraid it's not the correct choice do to performance issues. C# and the.NET library is beautiful and a joy to work with, and there are countless of projects where customers have been stunned of how fast I was able to produce results. This was on the other hand almost never the case with C++. But this performance thingy is nagging me big time, I’m really afraid to choose the wrong environment and discover down the path that this was a failure. So I first started out on a googling mission to find performance comparisons, tech articles, blog posts about C++ and C# performance.
During this time there was also a lot of developer anxiety due to Microsoft’s poor public relation management prior to Windows 8 pre-release and the Build conference. You have probably read most of it yourselves. In general the feeling is that Microsoft is discontinuing (read: scrapping) Silverlight and XNA, and honestly the future of .NET as a first class citizen on WinRT is also questionable. Here are just two small articles exemplifying what I’m talking about:
http://www.guardian....oft-programming