Jump to content



Photo

Windows 8 Release Preview Discussion

win8 windows 8 release preview release candidate rc beta

  • Please log in to reply
1057 replies to this topic

#331 Sszecret

Sszecret

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 30-April 12
  • Location: Suceava, Romania
  • OS: Win7 SP 1 | Win 10 TP | WP 7.8
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 800

Posted 01 June 2012 - 17:28

Installed it last night.

The good : It feels much faster than the CP, some of the color options for the Start Screen are actually really nice (though some of them are horrible in my view, and I would've wanted a couple more Start Screen backgrounds), there isn't such a big delay when I invoke the charms bar, the Switcher has a text label for each of the running apps, the All Apps section seems (maybe it's just me) a bit less crowded, though I installed the same number of apps as in the CP. Also, I like the tweaks to the Aero theme and I'm really digging the new cursor. The flattened ribbon is nice but I think it'll look its best when all the icons are metrofied. Other than that, it's been pretty stable.

The bad : The store seems to take forever to install an app, whenever I try to add a new account in Mail and I go to Settings > Accounts and I click Add a new account, the pane on the side (or however that's called) disappears. Just like that. I've tried it multiple times, I tried installing / uninstalling , pin / unpin and even "Refresh / Reset your PC" . Nothing works, so I believe it's a problem with the metro apps. Also, in Calendar, if I try to add a new account, the same thing happens, only this time, not only does the pane disappear, it closes the app and takes me back to the Start Screen. In Music, whenever I try to get to the playback controls (via right click), the menu appears on the bottom, stays there for like a second and then disappears. I installed all the updates, all the drivers, and I have the exact same setup I did when I installed the CP. (these apps worked prefectly for me)

Has anybody else experienced something like this? Maybe I'm "holding it wrong"?

Edited by Sszecret, 01 June 2012 - 17:35.



#332 Subhadip

Subhadip

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 18-August 02

Posted 01 June 2012 - 17:36

And back in 1995 everyone was saying what a "dickish" move it was by Microsoft to force Windows Explorer and the Start menu down the throats of those who had been using Program and File Managers for 5+ years.


Yes, it's nothing new. Throughout the history of known human history people have always, always been resistant to change. Eventually we get used to it and move on.

#333 bogas04

bogas04

    This title is bogus

  • Joined: 15-May 09
  • Location: India
  • OS: Windows 8
  • Phone: Lumia 920

Posted 01 June 2012 - 17:52

Don't know if posted before.

You can multiselect to unpin now

Untitled.png

#334 Sszecret

Sszecret

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 30-April 12
  • Location: Suceava, Romania
  • OS: Win7 SP 1 | Win 10 TP | WP 7.8
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 800

Posted 01 June 2012 - 17:55

Don't know if posted before.

You can multiselect to unpin now

Untitled.png


I might be wrong, but I'm pretty sure you were able to do that in the Consumer Preview as well. Selecting and moving multiple items would be nice.

#335 bogas04

bogas04

    This title is bogus

  • Joined: 15-May 09
  • Location: India
  • OS: Windows 8
  • Phone: Lumia 920

Posted 01 June 2012 - 18:00

Noo...
You could multiselect but not multiselect and unpin

#336 BajiRav

BajiRav

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 15-July 04
  • Location: Xbox, where am I?
  • OS: Windows 8.1, Windows 8
  • Phone: Lumia 920

Posted 01 June 2012 - 18:07

I might be wrong, but I'm pretty sure you were able to do that in the Consumer Preview as well. Selecting and moving multiple items would be nice.

Yup

#337 BajiRav

BajiRav

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 15-July 04
  • Location: Xbox, where am I?
  • OS: Windows 8.1, Windows 8
  • Phone: Lumia 920

Posted 01 June 2012 - 18:12

"Use something else" isn't a real answer and the only thing I did was use Neowin as an example of why running Internet Explorer full-screen is pretty much pointless on larger screens. The space being wasted away would should be put to use by allowing multiple apps to be fully visible at the same time; at the very least by splitting the screen fifty-fifty instead of eighty-twenty. No complaints were directed at Neowin's home page, way to twist things around mister…

And what do you mean with "they haven't gone away"? Aren't most build-in apps being replaced by Metro counterparts, including Windows Live Essentials once this thing goes RTM?

I think there was a post on B8 blog where they explained the DPI and resolution supported by Win8. It boilds down to a select resolutions and multiples of it (for high density displays) and if your resolution doesn't qualify, the metro apps won't automatically fit your screen (hence the whitespace). This is basically same thing that Apple has been doing with iOS devices where it supports two basic resolutions (one of which is an exact double of other).
For apps splitting 50-50 - it won't be possible because then developers will have to code apps to handle yet another layout (they are already required to do 2).

#338 KibosJ

KibosJ

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 27-January 09
  • Location: Darlington, United Kingdom
  • OS: OS X 10.10 & Windows 8.1 x64
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S4 (GT-I9505)

Posted 01 June 2012 - 18:24

I have to say, I uninstalled the Consumer Preview after about a day of using it.

The Release preview...... I actually love it! :D

More surprising was the fact it took a total of 7 Minutes and 59 Seconds to install the bloody thing :p

#339 Vice

Vice

    Bye!

  • Joined: 03-September 04

Posted 01 June 2012 - 18:26

I think there was a post on B8 blog where they explained the DPI and resolution supported by Win8. It boilds down to a select resolutions and multiples of it (for high density displays) and if your resolution doesn't qualify, the metro apps won't automatically fit your screen (hence the whitespace). This is basically same thing that Apple has been doing with iOS devices where it supports two basic resolutions (one of which is an exact double of other).
For apps splitting 50-50 - it won't be possible because then developers will have to code apps to handle yet another layout (they are already required to do 2).


If this is true then it guarantees the Metro apps will never be very powerful because the most demanding applications have very complicated user interfaces with lots of buttons and make great use of the available space, every inch of it. An example of that would be Photoshop or Microsoft Excel. If things are designed to scale up and always be large not being able to have tiny tiny buttons designed for a mouse because they have to cater for chubby fingers all the time then it just isn't ever going to get better than what we already see in Metro today.

Meanwhile Apple works to bring Resolution Independence to Mountain Lion and launch displays with a resolution higher than my 30" in a 17" notebook without losing detail. I think Apple gets it, consumers want a higher quality window in to their computing without sacrificing usability. Microsoft seems to take the approach of pulling everyone down to the lowest common dominator or in this case, resolution.

#340 +Audien

Audien

    Software Eng.

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 30-December 03
  • Location: Seattle, WA
  • OS: Windows 8.1/Mac OSX
  • Phone: iPhone 5S

Posted 01 June 2012 - 18:29

Has anyone tried using an Apple trackpad to interact with Metro apps, panoramas and such? Does it let you use swipe gestures and all that easily?

#341 Eric

Eric

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 13
  • Joined: 02-August 06
  • Location: Greenville, SC

Posted 01 June 2012 - 18:32

I can't boot to Windows 8 (unless on Safe Mode) because I tried to install a damn touchpad driver that didn't work (Macbook Pro 2011).

PLEASE, DOES ANYONE KNOW HOW TO SOLVE THIS???

There are no Repair Points, they don't work and I don't want to use the Refresh feature as it deletes all my apps.

PLEASE? :) :cry:


Did you try booting in safe mode and rolling back the drivers?

#342 Subhadip

Subhadip

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 18-August 02

Posted 01 June 2012 - 18:35

Has anyone tried using an Apple trackpad to interact with Metro apps, panoramas and such? Does it let you use swipe gestures and all that easily?


No but it works on Logitech Touchpad! Swiping from the right, left, top/bottom, all work great in Metro. It's a pretty great experience all round.
I am sure next-gen trackpads will smooth out some of the inconsistencies.

#343 Eric

Eric

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 13
  • Joined: 02-August 06
  • Location: Greenville, SC

Posted 01 June 2012 - 18:35

"Use something else" isn't a real answer and the only thing I did was use Neowin as an example of why running Internet Explorer full-screen is pretty much pointless on larger screens. The space being wasted away would should be put to use by allowing multiple apps to be fully visible at the same time; at the very least by splitting the screen fifty-fifty instead of eighty-twenty. No complaints were directed at Neowin's home page, way to twist things around mister…

And what do you mean with "they haven't gone away"? Aren't most build-in apps being replaced by Metro counterparts, including Windows Live Essentials once this thing goes RTM?


Neowin goes wall-to-wall on my 22" monitor when I turn on expanded width. Does yours not?

As to the preview apps: they're still marked as that: preview. If you find their functionality lacking, continue using your old desktop apps until they're satisfactory. If you don't tell them what you don't like they can't implement it.

#344 bogas04

bogas04

    This title is bogus

  • Joined: 15-May 09
  • Location: India
  • OS: Windows 8
  • Phone: Lumia 920

Posted 01 June 2012 - 18:35

The new theme (which is not final) makes other apps look so good.

#345 Vice

Vice

    Bye!

  • Joined: 03-September 04

Posted 01 June 2012 - 18:42

Neowin goes wall-to-wall on my 22" monitor when I turn on expanded width. Does yours not?

As to the preview apps: they're still marked as that: preview. If you find their functionality lacking, continue using your old desktop apps until they're satisfactory. If you don't tell them what you don't like they can't implement it.


His point is, we with large screens don't like full screening anything. That is the whole point we bought such large screens to run multiple apps side by side all the time. I never full screen anything except Photoshop and Games. Really.