Jump to content



Photo

Windows 8 Release Preview Discussion

win8 windows 8 release preview release candidate rc beta

  • Please log in to reply
1057 replies to this topic

#46 BajiRav

BajiRav

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 15-July 04
  • Location: Xbox, where am I?
  • OS: Windows 8.1, Windows 8
  • Phone: Lumia 920

Posted 31 May 2012 - 21:29

I am trying to do the same by Win8 isn't seeing the drives to install. Did you run across that or did the drive show for you?

http://www.embracene...-05-31_1718.png

Nope but I just reused my CP vm and wiped the hdd clean.


#47 Kristian

Kristian

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 19-July 03
  • Location: Norway

Posted 31 May 2012 - 21:30

Decided to go the whole way and install it as my only OS on my main desktop. Liking it much better than the CP so far. Seems incredibly snappy and rock stable so far. Next step is to learn to like Metro I guess. I think for me it's just a matter of getting used to the new stuff, and then I will be fine with the Metro changes in the system. IMHO any comparison with Vista or ME is just silly!

#48 scratch42069

scratch42069

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 23-March 05
  • Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

Posted 31 May 2012 - 21:32

It's running nicely on my machine. I like the new icons and overall polish of it so far.

Attached Images

  • Win8 Screen.png


#49 EmbraceNext

EmbraceNext

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 17-July 09

Posted 31 May 2012 - 21:44

Nope but I just reused my CP vm and wiped the hdd clean.


Just tried that and didn't work. I tried the Consumer Preview install ISO and that works fine. SO yeah, this sucks.

#50 theyarecomingforyou

theyarecomingforyou

    Tiger Trainer

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 07-August 03
  • Location: Terra Prime Profession: Jaded Sceptic
  • OS: Windows 10 Preview
  • Phone: Galaxy Note 3 with Galaxy Gear

Posted 31 May 2012 - 21:44

The new Metro implementation is terrible with multi-monitor systems. Dragging a Metro app off one monitor will immediately maximise it to the next and you can't drag it back without clicking again. Further, whenever you access Metro Start on a different monitor it moves all Metro apps onto that monitor - any hopes of running multiple apps on different screens are gone. And Metro apps don't work with Aero Snap, meaning you can't drag a side-pinned app to the top of the screen to maximise it - you have to drag the separating bar. It's actually worse than before. I have absolutely no idea what Microsoft was thinking but the multi-monitor implementation is a complete joke and clearly wasn't put through any user testing.

#51 McKay

McKay

    Worth the weight

  • Joined: 29-August 10
  • Location: 308 Negra Arroyo Lane
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Nexus 6

Posted 31 May 2012 - 21:51

Damn..... Oh well, here goes nothing!


Posted Image

#52 Dashel

Dashel

    Disgustipator

  • Joined: 03-December 01
  • Location: USA

Posted 31 May 2012 - 21:55

That's unfortunate to hear theyarecoming, I was kinda hoping multi-monitor enhancement was MS's olive branch for working 'around' Metro Start.

#53 OP Roger H.

Roger H.

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 22
  • Joined: 18-August 01
  • Location: Germany
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Nexus 5

Posted 31 May 2012 - 21:55

Running now on IE10 and Win8. Feeling nice so far. Definitely they tweaked up some stuff which was expected still but they did a good job :)

#54 efjay

efjay

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 05-October 10

Posted 31 May 2012 - 21:58

That's unfortunate to hear theyarecoming, I was kinda hoping multi-monitor enhancements was MS's olive branch for working 'around' Metro Start.


Actually that sounds at odds with what MS announced in their blog post about multi monitor support. Maybe the new features arent fully implemented yet.

#55 Ely

Ely

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 28-October 01
  • Location: Miami FL
  • OS: Windows 10
  • Phone: HTC M8 & HTC 8X

Posted 31 May 2012 - 21:59

Is upgrading from Windows 7 Supported? I feel tempted, just to see how it runs on my SSD, downloading it now.

#56 +Audien

Audien

    Software Eng.

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 30-December 03
  • Location: Seattle, WA
  • OS: Windows 8.1/Mac OSX
  • Phone: iPhone 5S

Posted 31 May 2012 - 22:05

Is upgrading from Windows 7 Supported? I feel tempted, just to see how it runs on my SSD, downloading it now.


Yes. Download the installer and it will walk you through everything.

#57 Dot Matrix

Dot Matrix

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 8
  • Joined: 14-November 11
  • Location: Upstate New York
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 920

Posted 31 May 2012 - 22:06

This is cool! Now you can change the DPI settings on a specific part of the GUI:



#58 .Neo

.Neo

    Generic User

  • Joined: 14-September 05
  • OS: OS X Yosemite
  • Phone: iPhone 5s

Posted 31 May 2012 - 22:07

I honestly don't know what to do with Metro in combination with my 27-inch screen @ 2560 x 1440. It's just one big waste of screen estate. The amount of empty space filled by a single solid color everywhere is just staggering and all the white just hurts my eyes. Is there any way to actually make use of screen space my iMac offers? And by that I don't mean increasing everything in size so it fills for the sake of filling.

Attached Images

  • Screen Shot 2012-05-31 at 23.52.29.png
  • Screen Shot 2012-05-31 at 23.59.52.png


#59 umneycreep

umneycreep

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 03-November 03

Posted 31 May 2012 - 22:07

So far chrome not installing on this. This is slick and fast though!

#60 Ice_Blue

Ice_Blue

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 02-February 09
  • Location: The Den Of Zen
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro x64
  • Phone: Nokia N8 Belle

Posted 31 May 2012 - 22:10

So far chrome not installing on this. This is slick and fast though!


Chrome installed just fine here, Seems to run a bit more smoothly also.