Jump to content



Photo

RAM capacity question

ram

  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 BeerFan

BeerFan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 19-July 06

Posted 01 June 2012 - 12:46

Hello folks,

Quick question about maximum memory supported in my MOBO. My MSI P55-GD65 board lists 16 GB maximum memory supported. Does that mean 16 GB is the total that the system will detect? Or does it mean that the max size for a single module is 16GB?

Supports four unbuffered DIMM of 1.5 Volt DDR3 1066/1333/1600*/2000*/2133* (OC) DRAM, 16GB Max



http://www.msi.com/p...tml#?div=Detail

TIA!


#2 Detection

Detection

    Detecting stuff...

  • Joined: 30-October 10
  • Location: UK
  • OS: 7 SP1 x64

Posted 01 June 2012 - 12:53

Means it is the absolute maximum you can install and use with all slots combined

4 x 4GB if you have 4 slots

#3 Packet1009

Packet1009

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 13-February 04
  • Location: Ontario

Posted 01 June 2012 - 12:53

i believe it means that the max ram you can put on the system is 16 GB with a max module size of 4 gb

from the link you posted:

Supports four unbuffered DIMM of 1.5 Volt DDR3 1066/1333/1600*/2000*/2133* (OC) DRAM, 16GB Max
- Supports 1Gb/ 2Gb/ 4Gb DRAM size
- Supports Dual channel mode

#4 +Zag L.

Zag L.

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 21-April 04
  • Location: Dallas, Texas

Posted 01 June 2012 - 12:59

That is the total amount supported so 4 pieces of 4GB ram would be the maximum.

#5 OP BeerFan

BeerFan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 19-July 06

Posted 01 June 2012 - 13:10

That's what I was thinking. Thank you for the confirmation!

#6 tsupersonic

tsupersonic

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 30-September 06
  • Location: USA
  • OS: Win. 8.1 Pro. x64/Mac OS X
  • Phone: iPhone 5S/Nexus 5

Posted 01 June 2012 - 13:32

I have the same motherboard, and have populated it with 4 DIMMS 4GB 1333MHz DDR3 and it works just fine.

#7 OP BeerFan

BeerFan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 19-July 06

Posted 01 June 2012 - 13:50

Do you think 2x8 would also work? I'm looking at using my current RAM in another PC, and just want to know all of my options for upgrading this system.



Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!