Jump to content



Photo

Windows 8 Preview Black Screen overnight


  • Please log in to reply
22 replies to this topic

#16 Harrison H.

Harrison H.

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 21-August 04
  • Location: Florida
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 1520

Posted 04 June 2012 - 13:19

I've had the same issue on multiple computers in the CP and now the RP. One is a MacBook and one is a custom built desktop. I've had to disable sleep on both of them. The laptop works fine with display sleeping though. My desktop however has the exact same issue.


#17 ahhell

ahhell

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 30-June 03
  • Location: Winnipeg - coldest place on Earth - yeah

Posted 04 June 2012 - 13:26

I've had this problem too. I'm chalking it up to buggy drivers. It'll get resolved by RTM.

#18 Cristian Bazzu Bazzucco

Cristian Bazzu Bazzucco

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 12-November 12

Posted 12 November 2012 - 07:54

Same with me, even with windows 8 release and nowwith stable..
Just tried to update graphic card driver, disable hybernate..

someone resolved?

#19 Jozzify

Jozzify

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 19-August 12

Posted 12 November 2012 - 08:12

This will sound stupid, but when you have the issue again, unplug your DVI, HDMI or VGA cable form the graphics card on the back of the computer, wait a few seconds, and plug it in again.
I had that issue at times and doing that helped.. Windows was actually thinking I removed the display, so it wasn't showing anything.. when I plugged the cable back in, it detected it and continued the display.

So try it, who knows.. it might work.

#20 Cristian Bazzu Bazzucco

Cristian Bazzu Bazzucco

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 12-November 12

Posted 12 November 2012 - 08:22

This will sound stupid, but when you have the issue again, unplug your DVI, HDMI or VGA cable form the graphics card on the back of the computer, wait a few seconds, and plug it in again.
I had that issue at times and doing that helped.. Windows was actually thinking I removed the display, so it wasn't showing anything.. when I plugged the cable back in, it detected it and continued the display.

So try it, who knows.. it might work.


I've a laptop..

#21 n_K

n_K

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 19-March 06
  • Location: here.
  • OS: FreeDOS
  • Phone: Nokia 3315

Posted 12 November 2012 - 08:27

Try plugging an external monitor in or hitting the screen switch button (usually used with the Fn key) if your laptop has it?

#22 Cristian Bazzu Bazzucco

Cristian Bazzu Bazzucco

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 12-November 12

Posted 12 November 2012 - 08:53

oK, I'll give a try..

#23 Cristian Bazzu Bazzucco

Cristian Bazzu Bazzucco

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 12-November 12

Posted 24 November 2012 - 21:17

i've tried to plug in a external monitor (tv hdmi) when i've costant black screen but i doesn't work!

i've to hard power off notebook!