Jump to content



Photo

Restart Windows 8 With Right-Click From Desktop

windows 8

  • Please log in to reply
38 replies to this topic

#1 Ice_Blue

Ice_Blue

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 02-February 09
  • Location: The Den Of Zen
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro x64
  • Phone: Nokia N8 Belle

Posted 07 June 2012 - 00:43

Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\DesktopBackground\Shell\Restart Computer]
"icon"="shell32.dll,-290"
"Position"="Bottom"

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\DesktopBackground\Shell\Restart Computer\command]
@="shutdown.exe -r -t 00 -f"

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I'm not sure if this has been posted before, but...

This will add a "Restart Computer" item to the Windows 8 desktop context menu.

Copy and paste into notepad, and save with .reg extension.
Double-click saved file to install.
No need to restart or log off. :D


#2 +Quillz

Quillz

    A Talking Pokemon

  • Joined: 19-July 05
  • Location: Los Angeles, CA
  • OS: iOS, OS X, Windows
  • Phone: iPhone 5

Posted 07 June 2012 - 09:41

Nice, I'll give this a try. Thanks for posting it.

#3 +devHead

devHead

    Get Off The Bandwagon, Put Down The Handbook

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 08-August 01
  • Location: Arizona... Among The Trees
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 521

Posted 07 June 2012 - 09:52

This will work in Windows 7 too?

#4 Redberry

Redberry

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 07-June 12

Posted 07 June 2012 - 14:23

Working great, would be nice to add "Shutdown" and "Sleep" option also :D thanks

Posted Image

#5 OP Ice_Blue

Ice_Blue

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 02-February 09
  • Location: The Den Of Zen
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro x64
  • Phone: Nokia N8 Belle

Posted 07 June 2012 - 16:39

This will work in Windows 7 too?


Works like a charm in Win7

#6 Astrum

Astrum

    Ghost Dog

  • Joined: 01-October 06
  • Location: Russia
  • OS: Win7

Posted 07 June 2012 - 16:54

So to shutdown it would be this?:
shutdown.exe -s -t 00 -f

#7 drazgoosh

drazgoosh

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 04-June 11
  • Location: London
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Nexus 5

Posted 07 June 2012 - 16:56

I know I can use the PC power button to shut down, but what would the code be for a shut down option to be added to the right click menu?

#8 Grinch

Grinch

    Developer

  • Tech Issues Solved: 5
  • Joined: 26-September 09
  • Location: Wisconsin
  • OS: Windows 8.1.1 | WP8.0
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 925

Posted 07 June 2012 - 16:57

So to shutdown it would be this?:
shutdown.exe -s -t 00 -f


Yes.

Anyone have a method to add this to the Win+X context menu? (aka the Power User Menu)

#9 Stokkolm

Stokkolm

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 09-February 03
  • Location: Alaska
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Lumia 1520

Posted 07 June 2012 - 17:02

Alt + F4 on the desktop works also.

#10 Aergan

Aergan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 6
  • Joined: 24-September 05
  • Location: Staffordshire, UK
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro / Server 2012 R2 / Xubuntu 14.04
  • Phone: Sony Xperia Z1

Posted 08 June 2012 - 14:16

Request: Can it be added to the Super User Menu please (and at the bottom)?

#11 Detection

Detection

    Detecting stuff...

  • Joined: 30-October 10
  • Location: UK
  • OS: 7 SP1 x64

Posted 08 June 2012 - 14:18

Works like a charm in Win7


Works like a Charms Bar in Windows 8 :p

#12 OP Ice_Blue

Ice_Blue

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 02-February 09
  • Location: The Den Of Zen
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro x64
  • Phone: Nokia N8 Belle

Posted 08 June 2012 - 14:21

^ :laugh:

#13 Detection

Detection

    Detecting stuff...

  • Joined: 30-October 10
  • Location: UK
  • OS: 7 SP1 x64

Posted 08 June 2012 - 14:22

Posted Image



Haven't pressed the shutdown one yet, but I assume it will work

#14 articuno1au

articuno1au

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 20-March 11
  • Location: Brisbane, Australia

Posted 08 June 2012 - 14:22

For those of you that want to build your own command line calls:

-s = shutdown
-r = restart
-l = logoff
-h = hibernate (May??? be limited to Windows 8, I am unsure)
-f = force (Word/Notepad etc won't be able to stop the shutdown to ask if you want to save)
-t = time in seconds to wait before shutdown (Limited to 600 on Windows Vista only) (If the value in seconds is greater than 0, the -f flag is implied)

I use:

shutdown -f -s -t 0

ALL THE TIME. It's my baby <3

#15 +Quillz

Quillz

    A Talking Pokemon

  • Joined: 19-July 05
  • Location: Los Angeles, CA
  • OS: iOS, OS X, Windows
  • Phone: iPhone 5

Posted 09 June 2012 - 03:32

Posted Image



Haven't pressed the shutdown one yet, but I assume it will work

If I don't want any icons in the context menu, do I just leave the quotation marks blank, or should I omit them entirely?



Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!