Jump to content



Photo

Does the Windows 8 Release Preview supports Ad-Hoc (not thru cmd)?

windows 8 ad-hoc

  • Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1 peter_7069

peter_7069

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 01-January 09

Posted 09 June 2012 - 13:46

Does the Windows 8 Release Preview supports Ad-Hoc?

Back on Windows 8 Consumer Preview, Microsoft did not include the Setup an Ad-hoc on wireless network settings.
Can anyone confirm if this feature is now availble as it was in the Windows 7?

I disliked the Win8 CP because of that reason and reverted back my laptop to Windows 7. I had to share my 3G internet to my room mates, so this is an important feature to me.
I would like to confirm it first before formatting and installing WIndows 8 Release Preview.

Thanks!


#2 Mohitster

Mohitster

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 12-October 05
  • Phone: Lumia 525

Posted 09 June 2012 - 18:47

I would love to get an answer to this question. I am struggling this problem as well. I used to use ad hoc wireless networks a lot on Windows 7 but haven't been able to do that on Windows 8 yet. Even traditional 3rd party tools like Connectify don't work properly.

#3 remixedcat

remixedcat

    meow!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 28-December 10
  • Location: Vmware ESXi and Hyper-V happy clouds
  • OS: Windows Server 2012 R2
  • Phone: I use telepathy and cat meows to communicate

Posted 09 June 2012 - 20:09

I had the issue on my media center PC.... Sucks as that kind of thing is gonna be used a lot for tablets to share things with eachother without an AP...

like if people wanna share some pics,vids,music, whatever with eachother ...


I might reinstall 8 later to check this though. I put 7 back on the HTPC though as I had to switch a HDD out.... hmmm... nah... not worth it.

#4 Anthonyd

Anthonyd

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 07-May 06

Posted 09 June 2012 - 20:18

See this : http://social.techne...96-e224167b6f08

#5 Dot Matrix

Dot Matrix

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 7
  • Joined: 14-November 11
  • Location: Upstate New York
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 920

Posted 09 June 2012 - 20:26

Correct me if I'm wrong, but isn't Ad-Hoc set up through the wireless NICs device properties?

[attachment=312767:Screenshot (1).png]

#6 Anthonyd

Anthonyd

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 07-May 06

Posted 09 June 2012 - 23:03

Correct me if I'm wrong, but isn't Ad-Hoc set up through the wireless NICs device properties?

[attachment=312767:Screenshot (1).png]

On previous version of Windows, it was available through the network center.

#7 OP peter_7069

peter_7069

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 01-January 09

Posted 10 June 2012 - 01:36

Correct me if I'm wrong, but isn't Ad-Hoc set up through the wireless NICs device properties? [attachment=312767:Screenshot (1).png]


Does it work like Ad-Hoc setup on Windows 7? I mean, like sharing the internet connection?
Way back Windows 7, It will prompt you to setup the SSID, Encryption type, and a passkey. Also a button to share your internet connection.

See this : http://social.techne...96-e224167b6f08


oh so this does mean that it's still missing. oh-ohw..

#8 Mohitster

Mohitster

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 12-October 05
  • Phone: Lumia 525

Posted 10 June 2012 - 08:25

This still doesn't work at my end. There is no Virtual Wifi Miniport visible in device manager and "Scan for hardware changes" doesn't detect it either. Also, in the Network Connections window, it say "Local Area Network" instead of Wireless Connection! Any ideas?

Posted Image

Posted Image

Uploaded with ImageShack.us

#9 UXGaurav

UXGaurav

    Tried Classic Shell? It has 15 million+ downloads & growing

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 18-October 05
  • Location: Windows
  • OS: Windows

Posted 10 June 2012 - 09:23

Don't confuse ad hoc wi-fi with virtual wi-fi. Virtual wi-fi creates an infrastructure-mode wireless network. Ad-hoc wireless was probably removed in Windows 8 because Wi-Fi Direct is introduced in Windows 8. Wi-Fi Direct is better than ad doc wireless connection - devices can connect simultaneously.

#10 remixedcat

remixedcat

    meow!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 28-December 10
  • Location: Vmware ESXi and Hyper-V happy clouds
  • OS: Windows Server 2012 R2
  • Phone: I use telepathy and cat meows to communicate

Posted 10 June 2012 - 09:39

Don't confuse ad hoc wi-fi with virtual wi-fi. Virtual wi-fi creates an infrastructure-mode wireless network. Ad-hoc wireless was probably removed in Windows 8 because Wi-Fi Direct is introduced in Windows 8. Wi-Fi Direct is better than ad doc wireless connection - devices can connect simultaneously.


backwards compatibility yo!

#11 Mohitster

Mohitster

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 12-October 05
  • Phone: Lumia 525

Posted 10 June 2012 - 09:58

Don't confuse ad hoc wi-fi with virtual wi-fi. Virtual wi-fi creates an infrastructure-mode wireless network. Ad-hoc wireless was probably removed in Windows 8 because Wi-Fi Direct is introduced in Windows 8. Wi-Fi Direct is better than ad doc wireless connection - devices can connect simultaneously.


Then how is this "Virtual Wifi" works?

#12 UXGaurav

UXGaurav

    Tried Classic Shell? It has 15 million+ downloads & growing

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 18-October 05
  • Location: Windows
  • OS: Windows

Posted 10 June 2012 - 10:14

Virtual Wi-Fi works in infrastructure mode, not ad hoc mode. It is working on my Windows 8 Release Preview. To set up a hosted network, do this:
1. From an elevated cmd prompt: type this:

netsh.exe wlan set hostednetwork mode=allow "ssid=<whatever SSID>" "key=<whatever key you use>" keyUsage=persistent

You can create a shortcut to this cmd line and save it, and set it to run as admin whenever you next want to create a new hosted network or use it every time after a clean install.

2. Then to start the hosted network, type this:

netsh.exe wlan start hostednetwork

3. From the PC you want to connect, enter the SSID and key and you have it working.

When you are done, just stop the network using: netsh.exe wlan stop hostednetwork

Ad hoc connection unfortunately seems to be removed in Windows 8 - dunno why - with Vista and later, it had WPA2 security. And Wi-Fi Direct seems to be exposed only in the Play To GUI and Devices charms, it doesn't seem to support general file sharing yet.

#13 Mohitster

Mohitster

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 12-October 05
  • Phone: Lumia 525

Posted 10 June 2012 - 10:22

Virtual Wi-Fi works in infrastructure mode, not ad hoc mode. It is working on my Windows 8 Release Preview. To set up a hosted network, do this:
1. From an elevated cmd prompt: type this:

netsh.exe wlan set hostednetwork mode=allow "ssid=<whatever SSID>" "key=<whatever key you use>" keyUsage=persistent

You can create a shortcut to this cmd line and save it, and set it to run as admin whenever you next want to create a new hosted network or use it every time after a clean install.

2. Then to start the hosted network, type this:

netsh.exe wlan start hostednetwork

3. From the PC you want to connect, enter the SSID and key and you have it working.

When you are done, just stop the network using: netsh.exe wlan stop hostednetwork

Ad hoc connection unfortunately seems to be removed in Windows 8 - dunno why - with Vista and later, it had WPA2 security. And Wi-Fi Direct seems to be exposed only in the Play To GUI and Devices charms, it doesn't seem to support general file sharing yet.


Ok. Actually I have already tried it. A link posted by Anthonyd above had this solution only. Still the problem remains that my tablet (HTC Flyer) refuses to connect with this network and gets stuck at "Obtaining IP Address...." !!

Any ideas on this one? Thanks for the replies anyhow! :)

#14 OP peter_7069

peter_7069

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 01-January 09

Posted 10 June 2012 - 11:04

Ah, so now I understand. The netsh command in the Windows 8 creates a "Wi-Fi Direct" in which that device will function as an Access Point (infrastructure mode), instead of the mesh-like Ad-Hoc mode.
Maybe Microsoft can add a GUI for that feature. Too bad ordinary people who want's to share his/her 3G connection will find it hard to setup things like this.

But did anyone tried it and successfully connected a device (such as a smartphone) and surf the internet?

#15 Mohitster

Mohitster

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 12-October 05
  • Phone: Lumia 525

Posted 14 June 2012 - 04:54

I would like to bump this thread. The problem remains unsolved at my end. If anyone has found a solution to it, please share. My HTC Flyer tablet refuses to connect with the network created through netsh and shows "Obtaining IP address....." all the time! It would mean a lot. Thanks!