Jump to content



Photo

adding drivers to wim image


  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 AdverseDeviant

AdverseDeviant

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 11-February 06
  • Location: VA, USA

Posted 15 June 2012 - 15:10

im trying to add network drivers to the wim images on our wds server using wintoolkit which is basically a dism gui. ive added the drivers to the boot image as well as the main image but when i boot the computer into pxe and it loads the boot file it still errors out saying a matching network driver cannot be found please add the network driver to windows pe image on the wds server. i know they are the right drivers so i dont know what im doing wrong. any ideas? thanks


#2 stumper66

stumper66

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 08-January 09
  • Location: Dallas, TX, USA

Posted 15 June 2012 - 15:19

What commands are you using?
There are more than one index in the boot.wim. To be safe, be sure to add the driver to all indexes present.

You can see all the indexes present:
imagex.exe /info boot.wim

Then update each one:
imagex.exe /mountrw boot.wim 1 c:\mount
Dism /Image:C:\mount /Add-Driver /Driver:C:\drivers\mydriver.INF
imagex.exe /unmount c:\mount /commit

imagex.exe /mountrw boot.wim 2 c:\mount
Dism /Image:C:\mount /Add-Driver /Driver:C:\drivers\mydriver.INF
imagex.exe /unmount c:\mount /commit

#3 OP AdverseDeviant

AdverseDeviant

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 11-February 06
  • Location: VA, USA

Posted 15 June 2012 - 17:38

am i supposed to add the network drivers to the boot image or the win7 image itself or both?

#4 stumper66

stumper66

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 08-January 09
  • Location: Dallas, TX, USA

Posted 15 June 2012 - 17:44

Add network drivers to the boot image so you can install from the network.
If you don't add them to the win7 image, after it's been installed it won't have the network drivers, and you'll have to load them VIA USB stick or other means.

#5 OP AdverseDeviant

AdverseDeviant

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 11-February 06
  • Location: VA, USA

Posted 15 June 2012 - 18:09

i used this guide and it didnt work
http://technet.micro...9(v=ws.10).aspx

i have waik installed but i cant find imagex

#6 stumper66

stumper66

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 08-January 09
  • Location: Dallas, TX, USA

Posted 15 June 2012 - 18:15

You can use imagex or dism. In this case they accomplish the same thing. I like imagex better because it uses simple syntaxes. imagex is part of the Windows 7 AIK (automated installation kit).

Here's the same as above but using dism:

Dism /Mount-Wim /WimFile:boot.wim /Index:1 /MountDir:c:\mount
Dism /Image:C:\mount /Add-Driver /Driver:C:\drivers\mydriver.INF
Dism /Unmount-Wim /MountDir:c:\mount /Commit

#7 OP AdverseDeviant

AdverseDeviant

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 11-February 06
  • Location: VA, USA

Posted 17 June 2012 - 22:13

okay so i found out my boot image has 2 indexes so i added the drivers to both indexes and it still doesnt work. i really need this working. any other ideas? thanks

#8 OP AdverseDeviant

AdverseDeviant

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 11-February 06
  • Location: VA, USA

Posted 18 June 2012 - 01:35

i started all over and it still didnt work. the computer im trying to get working is an optiplex 980. ive even downloaded driver packs and integrated every driver under the sun and it still didnt work. does anyone have a boot.wim file for windows 7 x86 that works for optiplex 980's?

#9 sathenzar

sathenzar

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 12-June 06

Posted 18 June 2012 - 02:56

I am more used to using the litetouch option. However, I noticed using the WDS panel I had to replace the boot images each time I added drivers which I found odd. Either way after replacing the boot image in the WDS each time it took the driver updates (via right clicking the boot image and selecting replace image in the WDS snap in). Not sure if that helps or not, good luck, wds can be a b****.

#10 Quixote87

Quixote87

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 03-November 09

Posted 18 June 2012 - 03:37

I don't know what the syntax for your tool is, but dism uses a /recurse option that can be used after /add-drivers that searches for and installs anything that is a driver in a specified directory - try installing both 32 and 64 bit if they're individual drivers (ie, put them all under one parent directory called "NIC drivers" and pull a recurse - you should see a heap of drivers show), and again make sure you put them into both indexes. It will be smart enough to know which it needs

#11 OP AdverseDeviant

AdverseDeviant

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 11-February 06
  • Location: VA, USA

Posted 18 June 2012 - 23:43

okay this is exactly what i did.

i copied the boot.wim file to the c drive and downloaded the network drivers from dell for the optiplex 980. its the right drivers cause it installed them manually on another working 980 under the device manager.

then i ran these commands:


DISM /MOUNT-WIM /WIMFILE:C:\BOOT.WIM /INDEX:1 /MOUNTDIR:C:\BOOT86
DISM /IMAGE:C:\BOOT86 /ADD-DRIVER:C:\980 /RECURSE
DISM /UNMOUNT-WIM /MOUNTDIR:C:\BOOT86 /COMMIT

DISM /MOUNT-WIM /WIMFILE:C:\BOOT.WIM /INDEX:2 /MOUNTDIR:C:\BOOT86
DISM /IMAGE:C:\BOOT86 /ADD-DRIVER:C:\980 /RECURSE
DISM /UNMOUNT-WIM /MOUNTDIR:C:\BOOT86 /COMMIT

i uploaded the new boot.wim image to wds and booted a 980 into pxe mode and it got to the starting screen of setup then errored out saying i needed to add the network drivers to the windows pe image.

#12 Brian Jackson

Brian Jackson

    Brian Jackson

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 19-March 08
  • Location: Scottsdale, AZ
  • OS: Windows 8.1 x64
  • Phone: HTC 8x

Posted 19 June 2012 - 00:05

This is assuming your image is mounted here: C:\Mount

DISM /image:C:\Mount /Add-Driver /driver:\\driver_folder_location\ /recurse
Dism /Unmount-Wim /MountDir:C:\Mount\ /Commit


#13 OP AdverseDeviant

AdverseDeviant

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 11-February 06
  • Location: VA, USA

Posted 19 June 2012 - 16:51

i reinstalled wds and i got it to work. thank you all for the help!